Common menu bar links

Province House National Historic Site of Canada

Renovations at Province House

Parks Canada celebrates the 150th anniversary of the Charlottetown Conference at Province House National Historic Site with the recent completion of a $2 million renovation project.

“Our Government is pleased to have invested $2 million in preserving Province House National Historic Site for the enjoyment of Canadians today and into the future,” says the Honourable Gail Shea, Member of Parliament for Egmont, Prince Edward Island and Canada’s Minister of Fisheries and Oceans. “Discussions held at this historic place played a pivotal role in shaping our country. We look forward to supporting local partners as they tell this important story throughout the celebration year.”

Conservation work at Province House National Historic Site began in 2011, focusing on the preservation of the period masonry to prepare it as the backdrop for 2014 celebrations. There were also some structural upgrades to the building, and measures were taken to make the building weather-tight.

“The Legislative Assembly is pleased that Parks Canada has undertaken this phase of renovations to Province House National Historic Site. As the home to the Provincial Legislature since 1847, and as a national historic site, the building continues to be a powerful symbol of Prince Edward Island's provincehood and our democratic system of governance,” says Charles MacKay, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly of P.E.I. “It also continues to serve the important role of welcoming thousands of visitors every year who want to see the very building that provided inspiration to the Fathers of Confederation in 1864.”

“Providing learning opportunities and facilitating experiences for visitors is a priority for Parks Canada,” says Parks Canada P.E.I. Field Unit Superintendent, Karen Jans. “This renovation will help to ensure that all Canadians can continue to enjoy this iconic structure and discover the important role it has played, and continues to play in our shared heritage.”

Celebrations to mark the sesquicentennial of the Charlottetown Conference will be held across the island throughout 2014. Parks Canada is pleased to collaborate with PEI 2014 Inc. and the province of P.E.I. on these celebrations. To find out more about events planned for the celebration year, please visit www.pei2014.ca.

Interior Renovations

Some of the masonry walls were beginning to show signs of deterioration, so steel reinforcements were added for stabilization (left); A plastic seal was erected around the construction areas in the gallery to try to reduce the amount of dust settling below (right).
Steel beams were screwed into the existing structure inside the interior walls. The steel beam and the pins secured the stone in place.

Exterior Renovations

 

Despite extensive scaffolding and construction equipment on the South and East sides of the building, visitors to Province House could take advantage of the West and North sides for photo opportunities and to gain access to the building. Both the first and second floors remained open to visitors throughout the construction period.
Prior to beginning invasive work on the exterior stone, the conservator carefully inspected the facade and labeled problem areas in chalk. In this case, some stones were protruding from the building while another stone had broken off completely. The conservator wrote “OUT” on the stones that were protruding to indicate that the stones may have to come out so workers could investigate what was causing the displacement.
Workers at the site remove a large stone from the building to investigate what is causing the stone to protrude from the facade. A layer of rubble between the interior and exterior stone was beginning to break down in some places. The mix of cement and stone was eroding due to water seepage. The rubble was repaired, and cracks and fissures were filled to avoid future damage caused by water. This will help to prevent stone displacement in the future.
Workers use hand implements such as an air-powered needle gun to remove the scaling surface of the stone, making the facade smoother, more aesthetic and free of debris. Once problem areas were cleared of loose debris, cracks and discoloration, the stone was filled in using a colour-matched mortar.

Lieu historique national du Canada Province House

Les rénovations au lieu historique national Province House

Parcs Canada célébre le 150e anniversaire de la Conférence de Charlottetown en 2014, suite à l’achèvement d’un projet de rénovation d’un coût de deux millions de dollars au lieu historique national Province House.

« Notre gouvernement est heureux d’avoir consacré deux millions de dollars à la préservation du lieu historique national Province House pour le bénéfice des Canadiennes et des Canadiens d’aujourd’hui et de demain, s’est réjouit l’honorable Gail Shea, députée d’Egmont, l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et ministre canadienne des Pêches et des Océans. Les débats tenus à cet endroit historique ont joué un rôle clé dans la formation de notre pays. Nous avons hâte de nous joindre à nos partenaires locaux pour raconter cette histoire importante tout au long de l’année de commémoration. »

Les travaux de conservation au lieu historique national Province House, entamés en 2011, visaient la préservation de la maçonnerie d’époque pour préparer le lieu à servir de toile de fond aux célébrations de 2014. Des améliorations structurales ont été apportées au bâtiment, et diverses mesures ont été prises pour l’imperméabiliser.

« L’Assemblée législative est heureuse que Parcs Canada ait entrepris cette série de rénovations au lieu historique national Province House. Siège de l’Assemblée législative provinciale depuis 1847, et lieu historique national, cet édifice reste un puissant symbole de la province de l’Île du Prince Édouard et de son système démocratique, a déclaré Charles MacKay, greffier de l’Assemblée législative de l’Î. P. É. Il continue aussi de jouer un rôle important en accueillant chaque année les milliers de visiteurs qui viennent découvrir l’édifice qui a inspiré les Pères de la Confédération en 1864. »

« L’offre d’occasions d’apprentissage et d’expériences enrichissantes pour les visiteurs sont au nombre des priorités de Parcs Canada, a ajouté Karen Jans, directrice de l’Unité de gestion de l’Î. P. É. de Parcs Canada. Cette rénovation contribuera à faire en sorte que l’ensemble de la population canadienne pourra continuer de profiter de cette structure unique et de découvrir le rôle important qu’elle a joué, et qu’elle continue de jouer dans notre patrimoine commun. »

Diverses célébrations soulignant le 150e anniversaire de la Conférence de Charlottetown seront organisées un peu partout dans l’île tout au long de 2014. Parcs Canada est enchanté de collaborer avec PEI 2014 Inc. et avec la province de l’Î. P. É. à l’organisation des festivités. Pour en savoir plus sur les activités prévues pour l’année de commémoration, visitez le site www.pei2014.ca.

Travaux à l'intérieur

Comme certains murs de maçonnerie commençaient à montrer des signes de détérioration, des renforcements en acier ont été ajoutés à des fins de stabilisation. Dans la galerie, les zones de construction ont été isolées avec du plastique pour tenter de réduire la quantité de poussière qui se dépose à l’étage inférieur.
Des poutres d’acier ont été vissées dans la structure existante, à l’intérieur des murs. Les poutres d’acier et les tiges maintiennent les pierres en place.

Travaux à l'extérieur

Malgré un échafaudage complexe et le matériel de construction qui se trouvent du côté sud et est de l’édifice, les visiteurs de Province House peuvent se rendre du côté ouest et nord pour prendre des photos et pour accéder à l’édifice. Le premier et le deuxième étages demeureront accessibles aux visiteurs pendant la période de construction.
Avant d’entreprendre les travaux de rénovation de la pierre extérieure, le conservateur a soigneusement inspecté la façade et a marqué à la craie les endroits qui posent problème. Dans le cas présent, certaines pierres étaient en saillie alors que d’autres étaient complètement brisées. Le conservateur a écrit « OUT » sur les pierres en saillie afin d’indiquer que ces pierres pourraient devoir être enlevées pour permettre aux travailleurs de déterminer ce qui cause le déplacement de la pierre.
Les travailleurs qui œuvrent sur le chantier enlèvent une grosse pierre du bâtiment afin d’examiner ce qui cause le dépassement de la pierre de la façace. Une couche de blocaille entre la pierre intérieure et la pierre extérieure commençait à se détériorer à certains endroits. Le mélange de ciment et de pierre commençait à s’éroder parce que de l’eau s’était infiltrée. La blocaille a été réparée et les fentes et fissures ont été remplies pour empêcher tout dommage ultérieur causé par l’eau, ce qui aidera à prévenir le déplacement des pierres dans l’avenir.
Les travailleurs utilisent des outils manuels, comme un pistolet à aiguilles à air comprimé, pour enlever l’écaillement de la surface de la pierre, ce qui rend la façade plus lisse, plus esthétique et exempte de débris. Lorsqu’il n’y avait plus de débris meubles, de fentes et de décoloration sur la surface qui posait problème, les vides étaient remplis avec du mortier de couleur assortie à celle de la pierre.