Common menu bar links

Province House National Historic Site of Canada

Province House Restored

Restoration (1979-1983)  |  Renovation (2011-2013)


Restoration (1979-1983)

As Canada's Centennial (1967) approached, many events were planned in celebration. The country re-discovered its origins, especially the meetings of 1864 in Charlottetown and Quebec. An agreement was signed in 1973 between Parks Canada and the Province of Prince Edward Island. Under the terms of the agreement, Parks Canada and the Province agreed to operate the site cooperatively for a period of 99 years. Parks Canada's primary role is to protect and interpret this important site to Canadians for all time. Also as part of the agreement a major restoration project was undertaken by Parks Canada to restore a portion of the building to the 1864 period.

The restoration took place between 1979 and 1983 at a cost of $3.5million. The work was painstaking in its detail and involved extensive research and many talented craftspeople working thousands of hours to complete this major project. Province House was officially proclaimed a National Historic Site on July 1, 1983.

© Parks Canada

Determining the original nature of the building was not always easy. Numerous and varied alterations confused or obliterated much of the original structure and appearance. Historical and archaeological research was helpful, while investigations of the building confirmed some changes and revealed others. For example, the original floor boards gave evidence of curved railings at both ends of the Confederation Chamber and of a semi-circular dias against the west wall. These features had not appeared in early photographs, although the dias was mentioned in original construction records.

Beginning with the exterior, the sandstone was patched and cleaned and some stones replaced. A roof of slate and copper was installed according to original specifications. Chimneys and skylights were reconstructed.

The interior had seen much painting and plastering. Careful research resulted in the accurate reproduction of original paint types and styles. Some restoration, as in the Confederation Chamber, was formal and refined, even ornate. Other areas received more simple treatment in keeping with the original.


Renovation (2011-2013)

Province House National Historic Site underwent a renovation in advance of the 2014 celebrations marking the 150th anniversary of the Charlottetown Conference. These renovations will ensure that Province House National Historic Site continues to be maintained, appreciated and enjoyed by present and future generations of Canadians.

Conservation work at Province House National Historic Site began in 2011, focusing on the preservation of the period masonry to prepare it as the backdrop for 2014 celebrations. There were also some structural upgrades to the building, and measures were taken to make the building weather-tight.

Interior Renovations

Some of the masonry walls were beginning to show signs of deterioration, so steel reinforcements were added for stabilization (left); A plastic seal was erected around the construction areas in the gallery to try to reduce the amount of dust settling below (right).
Steel beams were screwed into the existing structure inside the interior walls. The steel beam and the pins secured the stone in place.

Exterior Renovations

Despite extensive scaffolding and construction equipment on the South and East sides of the building, visitors to Province House could take advantage of the West and North sides for photo opportunities and to gain access to the building. Both the first and second floors remained open to visitors throughout the construction period.
Prior to beginning invasive work on the exterior stone, the conservator carefully inspected the facade and labeled problem areas in chalk. In this case, some stones were protruding from the building while another stone had broken off completely. The conservator wrote “OUT” on the stones that were protruding to indicate that the stones may have to come out so workers could investigate what was causing the displacement.
Workers at the site remove a large stone from the building to investigate what is causing the stone to protrude from the facade. A layer of rubble between the interior and exterior stone was beginning to break down in some places. The mix of cement and stone was eroding due to water seepage. The rubble was repaired, and cracks and fissures were filled to avoid future damage caused by water. This will help to prevent stone displacement in the future.
Workers use hand implements such as an air-powered needle gun to remove the scaling surface of the stone, making the facade smoother, more aesthetic and free of debris. Once problem areas were cleared of loose debris, cracks and discoloration, the stone was filled in using a colour-matched mortar.

Province House continues to make history as it still houses the Legislative Assembly for the Province of Prince Edward Island and is the focal point for political decisions and debates. Cooperatively within the site, staff from Parks Canada and the Province of PEI work together in welcoming thousands of visitors annually.

Lieu historique national du Canada Province House

La restauration

Restauration (1979-1983)  |  Rénovation (2011-2013)

Restauration (1979-1983)

Toutes sortes d’événements furent planifiés à l’approche du Centenaire du Canada (1867). Le pays redécouvrait ses origines, en particulier le rôle des rencontres de 1864 à Charlottetown et à Québec. Aux termes d’une entente conclue entre Parcs Canada et la province de l’Île du Prince Édouard en 1973, les deux entités exploitent Province House en coopération pour une durée de 99 ans. Le rôle primordial de Parcs Canada consiste à protéger et à interpréter à tout jamais ce lieu important pour les Canadiens. L’entente prévoyait aussi que Parcs Canada entreprendrait un important projet de restauration d’une partie de l’édifice pour qu’elle reflète son apparence de la période de 1864.

Effectuée entre 1979 et 1983 au coût de 3,5 millions de dollars, cette restauration a nécessité de vastes recherches et les talents de nombreux artisans, qui ont su la mener à bien après des milliers d’heures de travail d’une extrême minutie. Le 1er juillet 1983, Province House était officiellement proclamé lieu historique national.

© Parcs Canada

Il n’aura pas toujours été facile de déterminer le visage original de l’édifice. Des altérations de toutes sortes avaient dissimulé ou éliminé une bonne part de sa structure et de son apparence originales. Des recherches historiques et archéologiques firent leur part, tandis que des recherches sur l’édifice permirent de confirmer certains changements et d’en révéler d’autres. Ainsi, les planches originales du parquet portent encore la marque de balustrades incurvées aux deux extrémités de la Salle de la Confédération et d’un dais semi-circulaire contre le mur ouest; ces caractéristiques n’apparaissaient pas sur les anciennes photographies, bien que les plans de construction originaux aient fait mention du dais.

Entamés à l’extérieur, les travaux de restauration consistèrent d’abord à colmater et nettoyer le grès des pierres, dont certaines durent être remplacées. Un toit d’ardoise et de cuivre fut installé en conformité avec les spécifications originales. Les cheminées et les puits de lumière furent reconstruits.

L’intérieur de l’édifice fut considérablement repeint et replâtré. Des recherches minutieuses permirent de reproduire avec précision les types et les styles de peinture originaux. Certaines restaurations, notamment dans la Salle de la Confédération, se révélèrent formelles et raffinées, voire très ornées. D’autres salles reçurent un traitement plus simple, en harmonie avec les plans originaux.


Rénovation (2011-2013)

Le lieu historique national Province House a eu un rajeunissement en vue des célébrations qui soulignent le 150e anniversaire de la Conférence de Charlottetown, en 2014. Ces rénovations permettront au lieu historique de continuer d’être entretenu, apprécié et aimé par les générations présentes et futures de Canadiennes et de Canadiens.

Les travaux de conservation au lieu historique national Province House, entamés en 2011, visaient la préservation de la maçonnerie d’époque pour préparer le lieu à servir de toile de fond aux célébrations de 2014. Des améliorations structurales ont été apportées au bâtiment, et diverses mesures ont été prises pour l’imperméabiliser.

Travaux à l'intérieur

Comme certains murs de maçonnerie commençaient à montrer des signes de détérioration, des renforcements en acier ont été ajoutés à des fins de stabilisation. Dans la galerie, les zones de construction ont été isolées avec du plastique pour tenter de réduire la quantité de poussière qui se dépose à l’étage inférieur.
Des poutres d’acier ont été vissées dans la structure existante, à l’intérieur des murs. Les poutres d’acier et les tiges maintiennent les pierres en place.

Travaux à l'extérieur

Malgré un échafaudage complexe et le matériel de construction qui se trouvent du côté sud et est de l’édifice, les visiteurs de Province House peuvent se rendre du côté ouest et nord pour prendre des photos et pour accéder à l’édifice. Le premier et le deuxième étages demeureront accessibles aux visiteurs pendant la période de construction.
Avant d’entreprendre les travaux de rénovation de la pierre extérieure, le conservateur a soigneusement inspecté la façade et a marqué à la craie les endroits qui posent problème. Dans le cas présent, certaines pierres étaient en saillie alors que d’autres étaient complètement brisées. Le conservateur a écrit « OUT » sur les pierres en saillie afin d’indiquer que ces pierres pourraient devoir être enlevées pour permettre aux travailleurs de déterminer ce qui cause le déplacement de la pierre.
Les travailleurs qui œuvrent sur le chantier enlèvent une grosse pierre du bâtiment afin d’examiner ce qui cause le dépassement de la pierre de la façace. Une couche de blocaille entre la pierre intérieure et la pierre extérieure commençait à se détériorer à certains endroits. Le mélange de ciment et de pierre commençait à s’éroder parce que de l’eau s’était infiltrée. La blocaille a été réparée et les fentes et fissures ont été remplies pour empêcher tout dommage ultérieur causé par l’eau, ce qui aidera à prévenir le déplacement des pierres dans l’avenir.
Les travailleurs utilisent des outils manuels, comme un pistolet à aiguilles à air comprimé, pour enlever l’écaillement de la surface de la pierre, ce qui rend la façade plus lisse, plus esthétique et exempte de débris. Lorsqu’il n’y avait plus de débris meubles, de fentes et de décoloration sur la surface qui posait problème, les vides étaient remplis avec du mortier de couleur assortie à celle de la pierre.

Province House continue de faire l’histoire. Il demeure le siège de l’Assemblée législative de la province de l’Île du Prince Édouard et est au cœur des décisions et des débats politiques de l’heure. Tous les ans, des employés de Parcs Canada et de la Province y accueillent ensemble des milliers de visiteurs.