Common menu bar links

Dalvay-by-the-Sea National Historic Site

About

Dalvay-by-the-Sea National Historic Site is a historic building located within spectacular Prince Edward Island National Park.  Built in the late 1800s as the summer home of a wealthy oil tycoon, Dalvay-by-the-Sea has been protected by Parks Canada since 1937.

Dalvay-by-the-Sea is a fine example of a summer house in the Queen Anne Revival style. Its picturesque form is animated by a profusion of bays, gables and dormers, by contrasting colours and textures, and by the use of local materials. Typical also of the style is the welcoming central hall with its large fireplace, wood paneling and second-floor gallery. Dalvay highlights the stylishness of the Queen Anne Revival, which was favoured for Canadian domestic architecture in the late-19th and early-20th centuries.

This picturesque resort is located within Prince Edward Island National Park and is surrounded by sand dunes, Dalvay Lake and the Gulf of St. Lawrence.

Things To Do

Admire the magnificent architecture, rent bicycles, stroll the grounds, explore the surrounding park trails and beaches, have lunch or dinner in the dining room or simply relax in an Adirondack chair on the front lawn taking in the warm summer sun.

Stay at The Resort

During the warmer months, Dalvay-by-the-Sea is also run as a seasonal resort under a lease agreement with Parks Canada.

To make a reservation, please contact the resort directly.

Lieu historique national Dalvay-by-the-Sea

À notre sujet

Le lieu historique national Dalvay-by-the-Sea est un bâtiment historique situé dans le magnifique parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Construit à la fin du 19e siècle pour servir de résidence d’été à un riche magnat de l’industrie du pétrole, Dalvay-by-the-Sea a été placé sous la protection de Parcs Canada en 1937.

Dalvay-by-the-Sea est un exemple type des résidences de style néo Queen Anne. Sa silhouette pittoresque est mise en relief par ses nombreux pignons, lucarnes et fenêtres en saillie, par ses couleurs et textures contrastées, et par les matériaux d’origine locale qui ont été utilisés pour sa construction. Le très accueillant hall central, avec son grand foyer et ses murs lambrissés, et la galerie du deuxième étage sont aussi des éléments caractéristiques du style. Dalvay illustre le chic du style néo Queen Anne, très prisé dans l’architecture domestique canadienne à la fin du 19e siècle et au début du 20e siècle.

Situé dans le parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, ce centre de villégiature pittoresque est bordé par des dunes de sable, le lac Dalvay et le golfe du Saint Laurent.

Activités :

Admirez l’architecture magnifique, louez des vélos, commandez un repas, promenez vous, explorez les sentiers du parc et les plages tout proches, entrez dans la boutique de souvenirs, prenez le thé d’honneur dans la salle à manger, ou détendez vous tout simplement dans un fauteuil Adirondack devant la maison, sous les chauds rayons du soleil d’été.

Séjour au centre de villégiature :

À la belle saison, Dalvay-by-the-Sea est un lieu de villégiature exploité en vertu d’un contrat de location à bail passé avec Parcs Canada.

Pour faire une réservation, veuillez vous adresser directement au centre de villégiature.