Common menu bar links

Port-la-Joye—Fort Amherst National Historic Site

Activities

Offering a fascinating glimpse into the early European history of Prince Edward Island, Port-la-Joye—Fort Amherst is a spectacular place to spend the day. Enjoy the walking trails, open spaces, picnic areas and stunning views.

Special events include the Acadian National Feast Day in mid-August and the Acadian Remembrance Day in mid-December, which commemorates the 1758 Acadian Deportation from the Île Saint-Jean.


Featured Activities

Trails at Port-la-Joye—Fort Amherst National Historic Site
Explore the newly-opened areas of an 18th century Acadian settlement and 19th century British farmlands, follow the Old Harbour interpretive trail to the remains of Fort Amherst and Michel Haché-Gallant’s homestead or take in the stunning views of Charlottetown from our coastal paths.

Special Events at Port-la-Joye—Fort Amherst National Historic Site

Celebrate Acadian National Feast Day!

Date: August 14, 2016, 11am-4pm
Location: Port-la-Joye—Fort Amherst National Historic Site

Join the festivities including the celebration of Mi’kmaq and Acadian culture as well as historical vignettes. Enjoy Acadian stories with Noella Richard or spend time in our children’s activity tent! There will be free and fun activities for the whole family, including a yoga session, a tintamarre parade, and traditional Acadian music! Don’t forget to pack a picnic, chairs and sunscreen! For more details and a full schedule click here.


Reserve your campsite!
1-877-RESERVE (737- 3783)

Related Links

Lieu historique national de Port-la-Joye—Fort Amherst

Activités

Découvrez les éléments fascinants de l’histoire des premiers Européens à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Port-la-Joye – Fort Amherst se révèle un lieu spectaculaire à visiter en une journée. Parcourez les sentiers pédestres et profitez des grands espaces, des aires de pique-nique et des points de vue époustouflants.

Participez aux événements spéciaux suivants : la fête nationale de l’Acadie à la mi-août, ainsi que le Jour du Souvenir acadien à la mi-décembre, qui commémore la Déportation des Acadiens de l’île Saint-Jean en 1758.


Activités en vedette

Sentiers
Visitez les parties désormais accessibles d'un établissement de colons acadiens du 18e siècle et de terres agricoles exploitées par des Anglais au 19e siècle. Suivez le sentier Old Harbour jusqu'aux vestiges du fort Amherst et à la propriété Michel Haché Gallant, ou admirez la vue imprenable sur Charlottetown depuis nos sentiers côtiers.

Activités spéciales au lieu historique national de Port-la-Joye—Fort Amherst

Célébrez la Fête nationale de l’acadie!

Quand : le 14 août 2016, 11h - 16h
Où : Lieu historique national de Port-la-Joye—Fort Amherst

Soyez de la fête! Venez célébrer les cultures mi’kmaq et acadienne et assister à des capsules d’animation historiques. Écoutez des histoires acadiennes racontées par Noella Richard ou prenez part à des activités pour enfants sous la tente. Il y aura des activités amusantes et gratuities pour toute la famille, y compris une session de yoga, une parade du grand tintamarre et de la musique acadienne traditionnelle! N’oubliez pas votre pique-nique, vos chaises et votre écran solaire. Pour plus de détails et un calendrier complet, cliquez ici.