Common menu bar links

Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada

A Guide to Fort Wellington

Built in 1838-39, Fort Wellington today depicts its appearance and life in 1846 when the Royal Canadian Rifle Regiment (RCRR) was stationed here. The RCRR had been established a few years earlier for service in Canada and had been granted special privileges to discourage desertion. Its members enjoyed a better life style than the average British soldier and a greater percentage than usual in the British army were allowed to marry. Along with a higher rate of pay than most regiments, riflemen in the RCRR, were allowed to find work in the community in which they were stationed. Wives of soldiers could make money washing clothes or working as domestic servants in the town of Prescott. Children were allowed to live with their parents until the age of 14 when they were required to leave the barracks to make their own way in the world.

Fort Wellington has survived virtually intact from the days when the RCRR was stationed there. Two buildings that once stood within the ramparts of Fort Wellington are, however, now missing: the guardhouse, to the east of the main gates, and the cookhouse, between the officer's quarters and the latrine. Sentries rested in the guardhouse between shifts and the cookhouse was used for preparing the soldiers' meals.

Please click on a number to learn more about that feature of Fort Wellington.
Please click on a number to learn more about that feature of Fort Wellington.
© Parks Canada
  1. Palisade
  2. Ramparts
  3. The Caponnière
  4. Main Gates
  5. Officer's Quarters
  6. The Latrine
  7. The Blockhouse
  8. Ground Floor: Storage Rooms and Powder Magazine
  9. Second and Third Floors: Barracks

1. Palisade

Palisade
Palisade
© Parks Canada

The first line of defence for Fort Wellington is a 2.8 metre [9.2'] high wooden palisade intended to slow an enemy advance on the main fortification. On the north side of the fort, within the palisade, there are additional stretches of wooden fencing, intended to provide protection for defenders firing on enemy troops who had broken through the palisade. An enemy's attempt to approach the fort on the south, east and west sides was made more difficult by dry ditches dug along the edge of the palisade.

2. Ramparts

Ramparts
Ramparts
© Parks Canada

The ramparts were the principal line of defence for the fort. Made of earth and rubble piled on a 45 degree angle and covered with sod to prevent erosion, they are 18.3 metres {60'] thick at the base. Just below the crest of the ramparts there is a series of posts set horizontally into the earth, projecting out from the ramparts to discourage an enemy's effort to scale the walls. This defensive work is known as fraising.

The ramparts were not just a barrier to enemy attack, they were also an elevated platform for cannons. Two 24-pounder cannons are set on the southern ramparts overlooking the river and the American town of Ogdensburg on the far shore. A pair of 12-pounder cannons are set on the northern ramparts to fire upon troops advancing on the fort from that direction.

3. The Caponnière

The Caponnière. Please click to see a view from a loophole.
The Caponnière. Please click to see a view from a loophole.
© Parks Canada

An enemy who managed to reach the southern dry ditch would have met a volley of fire from the caponnière, joined to the fort by a passage under the ramparts. The caponnière is made of stone thick enough to stop small-calibre cannon balls, with a ceiling of heavy timbers covered with earth to make it bomb proof.

Main Gates
Main Gates
© Parks Canada

4. Main Gates

Consisting of two pairs of large wooden doors mounted in a stone archway, the main gates are the only entrance to the fort. Being the most vulnerable part of the fortifications they were situated in the north wall because an attack was likely to come from the direction of the river. The carronade, a small piece of artillery mounted over the gates, provided extra protection from an enemy attack.

5. Officer's Quarters

Officer's Quarters. Please click on the doors and windows above to see the interior of the officer's quarters.
Officer's Quarters. Please click on the doors and windows above to see the interior of the officer's quarters.
© Parks Canada

An officer named Lieutenant William Henry Sharpe of the Royal Canadian Rifle Regiment occupied this building in 1846, and it is furnished to represent his living quarters It contains three rooms, the northernmost being the bedroom; the centre room, the kitchen; and the southern room, the dining room and office. A soldier called a batman acted as the officer's servant, cleaning his quarters, caring for his uniforms and cooking some of his meals. Sharpe's quarters were well furnished and comfortable. Because an officer moved often from post to post, much of his furniture was designed to be easily transportable. The dresser in the bedroom is an example of this type of furniture known as "campaign furniture'. Made in two sections, it is equipped with handles at each end to make it easier to carry.

6. The Latrine

The Latrine. Please click on the photo to see reproductions of artifacts found during an excavation.
The Latrine. Please click on the photo to see reproductions of artifacts found during an excavation.
©Parks Canada

This clapboard building was constructed in 1838-39. The latrine illustrates the strict division between officers and the other occupants of the fort for it is divided into three separate compartments, each with its own entrance. The officers' privy was situated at the northernmost section of the building, the centre room was for the women and children living at the fort and the southern room was the enlisted men's privy. In contrast to the other two rooms, the enlisted men's privy offered no privacy to its users.

In 1990, an archaeological excavation of the latrine uncovered several thousand artifacts belonging to the members of the Royal Canadian Rifle Regiment and their families. Although the latrine was not intended as a place to throw garbage, it appears to have been used for this purpose by the inhabitants of the fort. Many of the objects found in the latrine were regular issue items distributed by the British Army such as leather boots, but many more were items of personal use, medicine, toiletries, ceramics, and children's toys that might have been bought from merchants in Prescott.

7. The Blockhouse

The Blockhouse
The Blockhouse
© Parks Canada

A massive stone structure, the three storey blockhouse was a fort within the fort. Its walls are almost a metre thick (3'). The roof structure is filled with layers of cedar logs and dirt to protect against mortar shells. Loop-holes cut into the walls allowed defenders to fire on enemy soldiers who had managed to breach the ramparts. To deal with troops who had reached the walls of the blockhouse itself, there was a gallery on the third floor, projecting out from the building, with trap doors set in the floor to enable defenders to fire directly down on the enemy. In the event of an attack, a well-supplied garrison would have been secure within the blockhouse until the arrival of reinforcements from nearby Fort Henry in Kingston.

8. Ground Floor: Storage Rooms and Powder Magazine

Armory
Armory
© Parks Canada

The ground floor was the location for a number of storage rooms, containing the equipment and food supplies needed in case of an attack on the fort. The most interesting room on the ground floor is the powder magazine. Because it held some hundreds of barrels of gunpowder, enough to destroy the blockhouse in the event of an explosion, many precautions were taken in its construction. The use of iron, from which a spark might have been struck, was avoided. Door fittings were of brass. The ventilation shafts and the doors were sheathed in copper. Iron nails were used to lay the floor boards but were elaborately concealed. Another precaution that was taken was the zig-zag construction of the ventilation shafts to avoid the danger of an enemy bullet entering the powder magazine through that route.

Powder Magazine
Powder Magazine
© Parks Canada

Because the making of cartridges was a hazardous activity it was done, one barrel of gunpowder at a time, in an adjoining room, called the shifting room. As an additional safety measure, the shifting room was separated from the powder magazine by two heavy wooden doors sheathed in copper.

9. Second and Third Floors: Barracks

Second Floor Barracks
Second Floor Barracks
© Parks Canada

The barracks housed the men of the garrison and their wives and children. In contrast to officers, they lived under conditions which were crowded and unsanitary. In 1846, at least 65 men, 26 women and 36 children lived on the second and third floors of the blockhouse. The space on the second floor is divided with curtains, providing privacy for married couples. The third floor was for unmarried men or men who had not brought their families with them.

From the third floor, a number of low doorways provide access to the overhanging gallery, mentioned earlier as part of the defences of the blockhouse. This floor currently houses an extensive exhibit that traces the history of the fort.

Lieu historique national du Canada Fort-Wellington

Une visite guidée du fort Wellington

Construit en 1838-1839, le fort Wellington d'aujourd'hui a l'apparence qu'il avait et reflète la vie qui y régnait en 1846, alors que le Royal Canadian Rifle Regiment (RCRR) s'y trouvait en garnison. Le RCRR avait été formé quelques années plus tôt pour servir au Canada et avait reçu des privilèges spéciaux afin de décourager la désertion. Ses membres jouissaient d'un meilleur style de vie que le soldat britannique moyen, et un plus grand pourcentage d'entre eux recevait la permission de se marier. En plus de retirer une solde plus élevée que dans la plupart des autres régiments, les fusiliers du RCRR avaient la permission de se trouver du travail dans la communauté où ils se trouvaient en garnison. Les femmes des soldats pouvaient gagner de l'argent en faisant la lessive ou en travaillant comme domestiques dans la ville de Prescott. Les enfants pouvaient vivre avec leurs parents jusqu'à 14 ans; ils étaient alors obligés de quitter les casernes et devaient se tailler une place dans le monde.

Le fort Wellington est demeuré presque intact depuis les jours où le RCRR s'y trouvait en garnison. Cependant, deux bâtiments qui se dressaient autrefois à l'intérieur des remparts du fort Wellington n'existent plus aujourd'hui : le corps de garde, à l'est de la porte principale, et les cuisines, entre le logement de l'officier et les latrines. Les sentinelles se reposaient au poste de garde entre leurs tours de garde, et les cuisines servaient à préparer les repas des soldats.

Cliquez sur un numéro pour une visite du fort Wellington.
Cliquez sur un numéro pour une visite du fort Wellington.
© Parcs Canada
  1. La palissade
  2. Les remparts
  3. La caponnière
  4. La porte principale
  5. Le logement de l'officier
  6. Les latrines
  7. Le Blockhaus
  8. Rez-de-chausée :magasins et poudrière
  9. Deuxième et troisième étages : chambrées
La palissade
La palissade
© Parcs Canada

1. La palissade

La première ligne de défense du fort Wellington est une palissade en bois d'une hauteur de 2,8 mètres (9 pieds 2 pouces) dont le but était de ralentir la progression de l'ennemi vers la fortification principale. Du côté nord du fort, à l'intérieur de la palissade, se trouvent des rangées additionnelles de clôtures en bois, destinées à assurer la protection des défenseurs faisant feu sur les troupes ennemies qui auraient réussi à faire une brèche dans la palissade. Toute tentative de l'ennemi de s'approcher du fort des côtés sud, est et ouest, était compliquée par des fossés asséchés creusés le long de la palissade.

Les remparts
Les remparts
© Parcs Canada

2. Les remparts

Les remparts constituaient la principale ligne de défense du fort. Faits de terre et de moellons empilés sur un angle de 45 degrés et recouverts de gazon afin de prévenir l'érosion, ils ont une épaisseur de 18,3 mètres (60 pieds) à la base. Juste sous la crête des remparts se trouve une série de pieux enfoncés horizontalement dans la terre ayant pour but d'empêcher les soldats ennemis d'escalader les remparts. Cet ouvrage défensif s'appelle une fraise.

Les remparts ne constituaient pas uniquement une barrière contre l'attaque ennemie, mais servaient aussi de plate-forme élevée pour les canons. Deux canons de 24 livres sont montés sur les remparts sud surplombant le fleuve et la ville américaine d'Ogdensburg sur l'autre rive. Une paire de canons de 12 livres est montée sur les remparts nord pour tirer sur les troupes avançant vers le fort.

La caponnière. Cliquez pour regarder à travers une meurtrière.
La caponnière. Cliquez pour regarder à travers une meurtrière.
© Parcs Canada

3. La caponnière

L'ennemi qui aurait réussi à atteindre le fossé asséché sud aurait été exposé aux salves de coups de feu venant de la caponnière, qui est reliée au fort par un passage sous les remparts. La caponnière est construite en pierres, et les murs sont suffisamment épais pour arrêter des boulets de canon de petit calibre. Le toit est en grosses poutres recouvertes de terre pour le rendre à l'épreuve des bombes.

La porte principale
La porte principale
© Parcs Canada

4. La porte principale

La porte principale, faite de deux grands battants en bois montés sous une arche de pierre, constitue la seule entrée au fort. Comme la porte représente le point le plus vulnérable des fortifications, elles est placée dans le mur nord, puisqu'une attaque était plutôt attendue du côté du fleuve. La caronade, une petite pièce d'artillerie surmontant la porte, assurait une protection supplémentaire en cas d'attaque ennemie.

5. Le logement de l'officier

Cliquez sur les portes et les fenêtres ci-dessus pour voir à l'intérieur du logement de l'officier.
Cliquez sur les portes et les fenêtres ci-dessus pour voir à l'intérieur du logement de l'officier.
© Parcs Canada

En 1846, c'est le lieutenant William Henry Sharpe, du Royal Canadian Rifle Regiment, qui occupait ce bâtiment, meublé de façon à représenter ses quartiers. Le logement trois pièces : la plus au nord servait de chambre à coucher; celle du centre, de cuisine, et celle du sud, de salle à manger et de bureau. Un soldat qu'on appelait une ordonnance était attaché à l'officier comme domestique, chargé de l'entretien de son logement, du soin de ses uniformes et de la préparation de certains de ses repas. Les quartiers de Sharpe étaient confortables et bien meublés. Comme un officier devait déménager souvent de garnison en garnison, une grande partie de son mobilier était conçue de façon à être facilement transportable. La commode qui se trouve dans la chambre à coucher est un exemple de ce type de « mobilier de campagne ». Composée de deux sections, elle est munie d'une poignée à chaque extrémité pour en faciliter le transport.

Les latrines. Cliquez sur la photo pour voir des reproductions d'artefacts découverts au cours des fouilles.
Les latrines. Cliquez sur la photo pour voir des reproductions d'artefacts découverts au cours des fouilles.
© Parcs Canada

6. Les latrines

Ce bâtiment au recouvrement à clin fut construit en 1838-1839. Les latrines illustrent la division stricte entre les officiers et les autres occupants du fort, car elles sont divisées en trois compartiments séparés, chacun avec sa propre entrée. Les toilettes des officiers se trouvaient à l'extrémité nord du bâtiment, la section du milieu était réservée aux femmes et aux enfants qui vivaient dans le fort, et la pièce sud servait de toilettes pour les simples soldats. À la différence des deux autres pièces, les toilettes des soldats n'assuraient aucune intimité aux utilisateurs.

En 1990, des fouilles archéologiques menées dans les latrines ont mis au jour plusieurs milliers d'artefacts appartenant aux membres du Royal Canadian Rifle Regiment et à leurs familles. En principe, les latrines ne devaient pas servir de dépotoir, mais les habitants du fort semblent les avoir utilisées à cette fin. De nombreux objets trouvés dans les latrines étaient des articles réglementaires distribués dans l'Armée britannique comme des bottes en cuir, mais bien d'autres étaient des articles à usage personnel, des médicaments, des articles de toilette, des objets en céramique et des jouets d'enfants, des objets qui ont pu avoir été achetés chez les marchands de Prescott.

7. Le Blockhaus

Le blockhaus
Le blockhaus
© Parcs Canada

Une structure massive en pierre, le blockhaus à trois étages était un fort dans le fort. Les murs ont une épaisseur de près de un mètre (3 pieds). La structure du toit est faite de poutres de cèdre et de terre comme protection contre les obus de mortiers. Des meurtrières dans les murs permettaient aux défenseurs de tirer sur les soldats ennemis qui avaient réussi à franchir les remparts. Pour repousser les troupes ayant réussi à atteindre les murs mêmes du blockhaus, le troisième étage était doté d'une galerie en surplomb avec des trappes dans le plancher, permettant aux défenseurs de tirer sur les ennemis au pied du mur. Dans le cas d'une attaque, une garnison bien approvisionnée aurait pu tenir le blockhaus jusqu'à l'arrivée de renforts provenant du fort Henry situé tout près à Kingston.

L'armurerie
L'armurerie
©Parcs Canada

8. Rez-de-chaussée : magasins et poudrière

Au rez-de-chaussée se trouvait un certain nombre de magasins, où étaient entreposés l'équipement et les provisions nécessaires en cas d'une attaque du fort. La pièce la plus intéressante du rez-de-chaussée est la poudrière. Comme elle contenait quelques centaines de barils de poudre, en quantité suffisante pour détruire le blockhaus en cas d'explosion, bien des précautions furent prises lors de sa construction. L'utilisation d'objets en fer, dont le heurt aurait pu donner lieu à une étincelle, fut évitée. Les garnitures de porte étaient en laiton. Les conduits de ventilation et les portes étaient revêtus de cuivre. Des clous en fer fixaient les lames du plancher, mais ils étaient soigneusement recouverts. Une autre précaution était la construction en zigzag des conduits de ventilation, pour contrer le risque qu'une balle tirée par l'ennemi puisse y pénétrer.

La poudrière
La poudrière
© Parcs Canada

Comme la fabrication de cartouches était une activité dangereuse, elle se faisait dans une pièce adjacente, un baril de poudre à la fois. Comme mesure de sécurité supplémentaire, cette cartoucherie était séparée de la poudrière par deux portes massives en bois revêtues de cuivre.

9. Deuxième et troisième étages : chambrées

Les chambrées - deuxième étages
Les chambrées - deuxième étages
© Parcs Canada

Les chambrées logeaient les hommes de la garnison, ainsi que leurs femmes et enfants. À la différence des officiers, ils vivaient dans des conditions de promiscuité plutôt insalubres. En 1846, au moins 65 hommes, 26 femmes et 36 enfants vivaient au deuxième et au troisième étages du blockhaus. L'espace disponible au deuxième étage était divisé par des rideaux, donnant aux couples mariés une certaine intimité.

Le troisième étage était réservé aux célibataires ou aux hommes qui n'étaient pas accompagnés de leur famille.

Du troisième étage, un certain nombre de portes basses donnaient accès à la galerie en surplomb mentionnée plus haut comme faisant partie des défenses du blockhaus. Actuellement, on trouve à cet étage une exposition détaillée qui retrace l'histoire du fort.