Common menu bar links

Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada

Learning Experiences

Education Programmes

The education programmes at Fort Wellington National Historic Site are a relevant resource in the achievement of the learning expectations of the Ontario Curriculum for a variety of grade levels. Professional staff will deliver high quality programming and guide students through their study of the life of the people at Fort Wellington and "help them develop an understanding of connections between the present and the past." Through the delivery of messages of national significance about the War of 1812 and the Upper Canadian Rebellions of 1837-38, students will use primary and secondary sources to learn about these two events that shaped the future of Canada.

Programmes

Xplorers Program

Educational programming at Fort Wellington
Educational programming at Fort Wellington
©Parks Canada

A Soldier's Life

The War of 1812 and Upper Canadian Rebellion of 1837-38

Fort Wellington Guided Tour

Information

Fees

Reservations

Location

A Soldier's Life

This programme supports the Ontario Curriculum learning expectations of Grade 1- Heritage and Citizenship: Relationships, Rules, and Responsibilities, as well as Canada and World Connections: The Local Community.
Built around the rules and regulations of life within the fort community, this session traces the daily routine of 19th century soldiers and their families. Aspects of military dress and drill are explored through role playing and hands-on activities.

Offered..........................................mid-May through September
Group size limit..............................one class
Time..............................................1 to 1 ½ hours

The War of 1812 and Upper Canadian Rebellion of 1837-38

This programme supports the Ontario Curriculum learning expectations of Grade 7 -History: British North America, and Conflict and Change.
Beginning with the Loyalist migration that followed the American Revolution, students will learn about the War of 1812 and the Upper Canadian Rebellion of 1837-38. The causes, main events, prominent figures and consequences of both conflicts will be studies using a variety of source materials, taking special note of point of view. Students will also have the opportunity to try on a uniform, learn military drill and explore exhibits to further their understanding of what life was like at Fort Wellington.

Offered ......................................... mid-May through September
Group size limit ............................. Please contact the fort for details. Time ............................................. 2 to 3 hours

Fort Wellington Guided Tour

Students will explore the grounds and buildings of Fort Wellington with a knowledgeable interpreter. Students will learn about the military history of the site and the lives of the people who lived there.

Offered ......................................... mid-May through September
Group size limit ............................. Please contact the fort for details.
Time ............................................. 1 to 1 ½ hours

Fees

Please contact the staff at Fort Wellington National Historic Site for current fee information.

Reservations

To make a reservation or for more information, please contact Leslie MacPherson by phone at (613) 925-4746 extension 104, by fax at (613) 925-1536 or by email at Leslie.macpherson@pc.gc.ca.

Location

Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada is located at the corner of King Street East (Highway #2) and VanKoughnet Street in Prescott, Ontario.

Lieu historique national du Canada Fort-Wellington

Activités éducatives

Programmes éducatifs

Les programmes éducatifs offerts au lieu historique national du Fort-Wellington sont une ressource pertinente permettant d'atteindre les résultats d'apprentissage énoncés dans le curriculum de l'Ontario pour différentes années d'études. Le personnel professionnel anime des programmes de haute qualité conçus pour guider les élèves dans l'étude de la vie des gens qui ont vécu au fort Wellington et les amener à établir et comprendre les liens qui existent entre le présent et le passé. Par le biais de messages d'importance nationale portant sur la guerre de 1812 et de la rébellion de 1837-1838 dans le Haut-Canada, les élèves feront appel à des sources primaires et secondaires pour en apprendre davantage sur ces deux événements qui ont façonné l'avenir du Canada.

Programmes

Programme Xplorateurs

Programmes éducatifs offerts au Fort-Wellington
Programmes éducatifs offerts au Fort-Wellington
©Parcs Canada

La vie du soldat

La guerre de 1812 et la rébellion de 1837-1838 dans le Haut-Canada

Visite guidée du fort Wellington

Renseignements

Droits

Réservations

Emplacement

La vie du soldat

Ce programme appuie les attentes du curriculum de l'Ontario de la 1re année - Le patrimoine et la citoyenneté canadienne : Les rôles et les règlements, de même que Le Canada et le monde : Le milieu familial, scolaire et communautaire.
Portant sur les règles et les règlements de la vie au fort, cette séance présente la routine quotidienne du soldat du XIXe siècle et de sa famille. Les élèves se familiariseront avec certains aspects de la tenue et des exercices militaires en participant à des jeux de rôles et des activités pratiques.

Offert......................................... du mois de mai à septembre
Nombre limite........................... une classe
Durée......................................... de 1 à 1 ½ heure

La guerre de 1812 et la rébellion de 1837-1838 dans le Haut-Canada

Ce programme appuie les attentes du curriculum de l'Ontario de la 7e année - Le développement du Haut-Canada, et l'Avènement d'un gouvernement responsable.
En se familiarisant d'abord avec la migration des Loyalistes qui a suivi la Révolution américaine, les élèves en apprendront davantage sur la guerre de 1812 et la rébellion de 1837-1838. Les causes, les principaux épisodes, les personnages importants et les conséquences de ces deux conflits seront présentés à l'aide de ressources différentes, l'accent étant mis sur le point de vue. Les élèves pourront également essayer un uniforme, participer à un exercice militaire et profiter des expositions pour découvrir à quoi pouvait ressembler la vie au fort Wellington.

Offert ......................................... du mois de mai à septembre
Nombre limite .........Pour obtenir des détails, communiquer avec le Fort-Wellington.
Durée ........................................... de 2 à 3 heures

Visites guidées du fort Wellington

Accompagnés d'un guide-interprète bien renseigné, les élèves pourront explorer les terrains et bâtiments du fort Wellington. Ils en apprendront davantage sur l'histoire militaire du lieu et la vie des personnes qui y ont vécu.

Offert ......................................... du mois de mai à septembre
Nombre limite .........Pour obtenir des détails, communiquer avec le Fort-Wellington.
Durée ......................................... de 1 à 1 ½ heure

Droits

Veuillez communiquer avec le personnel du lieu historique national du Fort-Wellington pour obtenir des renseignements sur les droits actuellement en vigueur.

Réservations

Pour faire une réservation ou pour obtenir d'autres renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec Leslie MacPherson, par téléphone au numéro (613) 925-4746, poste 104, par télécopieur au numéro (613) 925-1536, ou par courrier électronique à l'adresse : Leslie.macpherson@pc.gc.ca.

Emplacement

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Wellington est situé à l'intersection des rues King Est (autoroute 2) et VanKoughnet, à Prescott, en Ontario.