Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site of Canada

The Water Management Program

Program Operations

Parks Canada’s role in the management of these watersheds is primarily to ensure water quantity, not water quality. Since the Waterway’s completion in 1920, the overall goal has been to provide for safe navigation along the waterway during the navigation season, while accommodating other uses. Under the British North America Act of 1867, the ownership of canals (along with their associated lands and water power rights) with lands and water power became the responsibility of the federal Crown. Similarly, under the Navigable Waters Protection Act, the federal government maintains responsibility for safe navigation. However, after 175 years of settlement and development along the canal corridor, other water control priorities such as public safety, flood mitigation, community water supplies, water quality, the protection of natural resources, green power generation, and providing water for recreational activities have emerged and are factored into water management decision making.

Water management along the Trent-Severn Waterway is made possible through significant investment in infrastructure. In order to manage water levels through the canal, the TSW maintains:
  • dams that are opened and closed mechanically with either vertical or radial gates
  • dams that are adjusted by adding or removing a stoplog
  • dozens of smaller structures that cannot be adjusted like core walls and earthen dams
  • many kilometers of constructed canals
Glen Ross Dam (vertical lift mechanized gates) wide open
Figure 2. Glen Ross Dam (vertical lift mechanized gates) wide open
© Parks Canada

Fenelon Falls Dam (stoplogs with hydraulic log lifter) wide open
Figure 3. Fenelon Falls Dam (stoplogs with hydraulic log lifter) wide open
© Parks Canada

The Superintendent of the Trent-Severn Waterway is ultimately responsible for the water management program. However, the day-to-day operation is led by the Director of Canal Operations and coordinated by the Water Control Engineer from TSW headquarters in Peterborough. The Water Control Engineer communicates daily with Sector Managers and Supervisors working out of Waterway offices located in Campbellford, Peterborough, Kirkfield, and Haliburton. He is also in contact with other water control agencies such as the Ministry of Natural Resources, Conservation Authorities, Ontario Power Generation, and other public and privately owned hydroelectric generating stations.

Lake St. John Dam (stoplogs with winches) overtopping
Figure 4. Lake St. John Dam (stoplogs with winches) overtopping
© Parks Canada

Structure
An extensive hydrometric monitoring network ensures that Waterway staff have current data at all times (60 automated water level and flow stations, 11 rainfall stations and 100 manual sites). Near real-time data for 54 monitoring stations is now accessible to the public on the Parks Canada website by visiting our Water Levels page.

The Water Control Engineer makes decisions with respect to water levels and flows using a variety of data, in consultation with TSW Managers and Supervisors. Directions are then communicated to operations and maintenance staff, who make the necessary adjustments at more than 100 dams. The Sector Managers and Supervisors have the experience and authority to suggest modifications to the water management directions, which are then considered by the Water Control Engineer.

During the navigation season (mid-May to mid-October), lock staff perform water control operations as part of their daily routine. In the non-navigation season, operations staff and maintenance staff are both utilized for water management. Many staff are involved in water control operations during the high flow periods of the spring freshet.

Stoplog dam operation using manual winches and hydraulic log lifter
Figure 5. Stoplog dam operation using manual winches and hydraulic log lifter
© Parks Canada

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn

Programme de gestion des eaux

Opérations du programme

Le rôle de Parcs Canada en ce qui concerne la gestion de ces bassins hydrographiques consiste principalement à surveiller la quantité d’eau, et non la qualité de l’eau. Depuis l’achèvement de la voie navigable, en 1920, l’objectif général est d’assurer la navigation sécuritaire le long de la voie pendant la saison de la navigation, tout en accommodant les autres utilisateurs. En vertu de l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique de 1867, la propriété des canaux (et les pouvoirs relatifs aux terres et aux étendues d’eau qui y sont associés) ainsi que des terres et de l’énergie hydraulique a été confiée à la Couronne fédérale. En vertu de la Loi sur la protection des eaux navigables, le gouvernement fédéral assume également la responsabilité de la navigation sécuritaire. Évidemment, après 175 ans d’établissement et de développement le long du corridor du canal, de nouvelles priorités en matière de contrôle des eaux, comme la sécurité publique, l’atténuation des débordements, l’approvisionnement en eau, la qualité de l’eau, la protection des ressources naturelles, la production d’énergie verte et les activités récréatives, ont fait leur apparition et sont prises en compte dans les décisions concernant la gestion de l’eau.

La gestion de l’eau de long de la voie navigable Trent–Severn est rendue possible grâce à un investissement important dans les infrastructures. Afin de gérer les niveaux d’eau du canal, la VNTS exploite et entretien :
  • des barrages ouverts et fermés mécaniquement à l’aide de vannes ou de vannes à segment;
  • des barrages ajustés grâce à l’ajout ou à l’enlèvement de poutrelles d’arrêt;
  • des douzaines de structures plus petites qui ne peuvent être ajustées, comme des murs écrans et des barrages en terre;
  • de nombreux kilomètres de canaux construits.
Barrage de Glen Ross (vannes mécanisées) ouvert
Figure 2. Barrage de Glen Ross (vannes mécanisées) ouvert
© Parcs Canada

Barrage de Fenelon Falls (poutrelles d’arrêt avec dispositif de relevage hydraulique) ouvert
Figure 3. Barrage de Fenelon Falls (poutrelles d’arrêt avec dispositif de relevage hydraulique) ouvert
© Parcs Canada

La responsabilité ultime du programme de gestion des eaux incombe au directeur de la voie navigable Trent–Severn. Cependant, les opérations quotidiennes sont dirigées par le directeur des opérations du canal et coordonnées par un ingénieur en gestion des eaux de l’administration centrale de la VNTS, à Peterborough. Cet ingénieur communique chaque jour avec les gestionnaires de secteur et les superviseurs qui travaillent dans les bureaux de la voie navigable situés à Campbellford, à Peterborough, à Kirkfield et à Haliburton. Il communique également avec d’autres organismes de gestion des eaux, comme le ministère des Richesses naturelles, les offices de protection de la nature, Ontario Power Generation et d’autres centrales hydroélectriques de propriété publique ou privée.

Déversement intempestif au barrage du lac St. John (poutrelles d’arrêt avec treuil)
Figure 4. Déversement intempestif au barrage du lac St. John (poutrelles d’arrêt avec treuil)
© Parcs Canada

Grâce à un important réseau hydrométrique de contrôle, le personnel de la voie navigable a accès à des données à jour en tout temps (60 stations automatisées de gestion du niveau et du débit d’eau, 11 stations pluviométriques et 100 sites manuels). Le public peut quant à lui accéder aux données de 54 stations de contrôle presque en temps réel à partir du site Web de Parcs Canada, à www.parcscanada.ca/trentsevern, en sélectionnant « Niveaux d’eau » dans la section « En vedette ».

L’ingénieur en gestion des eaux prend des décisions relatives au niveau et au débit d’eau à l’aide de diverses données, en consultation avec les gestionnaires et superviseurs de la VNTS. Les directives sont ensuite communiquées au personnel responsable du fonctionnement et de l’entretien, qui procède aux ajustements nécessaires sur plus de 100 barrages. Les gestionnaires de secteurs et superviseurs ont l’expérience et l’autorité nécessaires pour suggérer des modifications aux directives de gestion des eaux. Ces modifications sont prises en compte par l’ingénieur en gestion des eaux.

Pendant la saison de la navigation (de la mi mai à la mi octobre), les opérations de gestion des eaux font partie de la routine quotidienne du personnel des écluses. En d’autres temps, c’est le personnel des opérations et le personnel de l’entretien qui s’occupent de la gestion des eaux. De nombreux employés participent aux opérations de gestion pendant les périodes de haut débit de la crue printanière.

Opération sur un barrage à poutrelles à l’aide de treuils manuels et d’un dispositif de levage hydraulique
Figure 5. Opération sur un barrage à poutrelles à l’aide de treuils manuels et d’un dispositif de levage hydraulique
© Parcs Canada