Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site of Canada

Harper Government and Peterborough Green-Up Grow Together

Peterborough, Ontario, September 6, 2011 – On behalf of the Honourable Peter Kent, Canada’s Environment Minister and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, Mr. Dean Del Mastro, Member of Parliament for Peterborough and Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister and to the Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, today celebrated the first harvest of the community garden on the Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site.

“I am pleased that community gardening is bringing us together and showcases the national treasures found across Canada,” said Minister Kent.

Our Government is working with Peterborough Green-Up, a community-based, non-profit environmental organization that provides tools with which local citizens can engage in, and maintain environmentally sustainable lifestyle activities.

Collaboration between Parks Canada, Peterborough Green-Up and many local volunteers made the Peterborough Lift Lock Community Gardens come to life in the spring of 2011. The community garden benefits the communities in Peterbourough and all the passers-by.

“The Peterborough Lift Lock National Historic Site is one of Canada’s special places and one of the jewels of Peterborough,” said Mr. Del Mastro. “Canadians now have another way to enjoy this community gathering space and develop a personal connection to our national heritage.”

Participating gardeners have been enthusiastic from day one and have produced a bountiful and diverse crop of healthy and ecologically grown local food – proving the power of collaboration.

“Peterborough Green-Up sees community gardens as a way to increase food security and build community, said Peterborough Green-Up’s Executive Director, Axel Tscherniak.” “The use of the land at the Peterborough Liftlock has provided a group of wonderfully skilled and dedicated gardeners the space for a flourishing and inspiring garden community. It is a wonderful demonstration of what can be done with our public spaces.”

A world leader in managing protected areas, Parks Canada is committed to ensuring the protection and preservation of Canada’s historic and natural heritage. Through a network of 42 national parks, 167 national historic sites and four national marine conservation areas, Parks Canada sets the stage and invites Canadians and people from around the world to engage in personal moments of inspiring discovery of our treasured natural and historic places.

For additional information, please see the accompanying backgrounder at www.parkscanada.gc.ca under Media Room. 

Media Relations
National Corporate Communications Branch
Parks Canada
819-953-8371
www.twitter.com/parkscanada

Pat Newson
Communications Officer
Central Ontario Field Unit
Parks Canada
(705) 750-4900

Matt Higgs
Communications Coordinator
Peterborough Green-Up
(705) 745-3238

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn

Le gouvernement Harper et Peterborough Green-Up ont le pouce vert

Peterborough (Ontario), 6 septembre 2011 – Au nom de l’honorable Peter Kent, ministre canadien de l’Environnement et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, M. Dean Del Mastro, député de Peterborough et secrétaire parlementaire du premier ministre et du ministre des Affaires intergouvernementales, a célébré aujourd’hui la première récolte au jardin communautaire du lieu historique national du Canada de la Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn.

« Je suis enchanté que le jardinage communautaire nous rassemble et mette en évidence les trésors nationaux du Canada », a déclaré le ministre Kent.

Notre gouvernement travaille avec Peterborough Green-Up, un organisme communautaire sans but lucratif axé sur l’environnement qui fournit des outils avec lesquels les habitants de la localité peuvent entreprendre et maintenir des activités propres à un mode de vie respectueux de l’environnement.

Parcs Canada et Peterborough Green-Up ont collaboré avec de nombreux bénévoles afin que le projet de jardin communautaire de la voie navigable Trent-Severn devienne une réalité au printemps 2011. Le jardin communautaire profite aux collectivités de Peterborough ainsi qu’à tous les promeneurs.

« Le lieu historique national de l’Écluse-Ascenseur de Peterborough est l’un des endroits spéciaux du Canada et un des joyaux de Peterborough, a déclaré M. Del Mastro. Parcs Canada et Peterborough Green-Up ont joint leurs efforts afin de donner aux Canadiens et Canadiennes une façon de plus d’apprécier ce lieu de rassemblement de la communauté et d’établir un lien intime avec notre patrimoine canadien. »

Dès le premier jour, les jardiniers ont participé avec enthousiasme à cette activité et leur récolte de légumes variés, sains et cultivés de façon écologique a été plantureuse, ce qui prouve la puissance de la collaboration.

«Peterborough Green-Up voit dans les jardins communautaires une façon d’accroître la sécurité alimentaire et de bâtir la communauté », a déclaré le directeur exécutif de Peterborough Green-Up, Axel Tscherniak. « L’utilisation des terrains à l’écluse-ascenseur de Peterborough a fourni à un groupe de jardiniers merveilleusement qualifiés et dévoués l’espace nécessaire pour faire un jardin communautaire florissant et inspirant. C’est là une merveilleuse démonstration de ce qui peut être accompli avec les espaces publics. »

En tant que chef de file mondial de la gestion des aires protégées, Parcs Canada est résolu à assurer la protection et la mise en valeur du patrimoine culturel et naturel du Canada. Il invite les visiteurs du Canada et du monde entier à vivre des moments de découverte inspirants en explorant les trésors naturels et historiques de son réseau de 42 parcs nationaux, de 167 lieux historiques nationaux et de quatre aires marines nationales de conservation.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les fiches d’information au www.parcscanada.gc.ca sous la rubrique Salle des médias.

Relations avec les médias
Direction nationale des communications
des Services généraux
Parcs Canada
819-953-8371
www.twitter.com/parcscanada

Pat Newson
Agente des communications
Unité de gestion du Centre de l’Ontario
Parcs Canada
705-750-4900

Matt Higgs
Coordonnateur des communications
Peterborough Green-Up
705-745-3238