Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site of Canada

Dam at Lock 23 Trail Closure Trent-Severn Waterway

PETERBOROUGH, ONTARIO, November 17, 2011 - The Superintendent of the Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site of Canada advises that the Trent Rapids trail loop crossing the dams at Locks 22 and 23 will be closed due to public safety concerns.

The trail runs north from the Trent University parking lot P on the west side or from Dam 22 or Dam 23 on the east side of the Otonabee River between the University and Lakefield. Parks Canada is assessing the situation and implementing repairs as quickly as possible. The trail will be re-opened as quickly as possible and regrets any inconvenience to the public.

Parks Canada is working on behalf of the people of Canada to maintain the heritage assets of the Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site, to ensure the canal system and surrounding watershed is safe and will endure for future generations.

For more information please visit www.parkscanada.gc.ca/trent, as well follow us on twitter @TrentSevernNHS and on Facebook www.facebook.com/TrentSevernNHS.

Information:

Lauren Dean
Communications Officer
Trent-Severn Waterway
National Historic Site of Canada
(705) 750-4900
Pat Newson
Communications Officer
Trent-Severn Waterway
National Historic Site of Canada
(705) 750-4900

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn

Fermeture du sentier au barrage de l’écluse 23 de la Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn

PETERBOROUGH (ONTARIO), 17 novembre 2011 – La directrice du lieu historique national du Canada de la Voie-Navigable-Trent–Severn désire aviser le public que la boucle de sentier traversant les barrages de la Trent Rapids Power Corporation aux écluses 22 et 23 sera fermée à titre préventif pour la sécurité du public.

Le sentier se dirige vers le nord depuis le parc de stationnement P de la Trent University, du côté ouest, et depuis les barrages des écluses 22 et 23 à l’est de la rivière Otonabee, pour la portion entre l’université et la ville de Lakefield. Parcs Canada évalue présentement la situation et effectuera les travaux de réparation nécessaires dans les plus brefs délais. Il réouvrira le sentier aussi rapidement que possible. Parcs Canada s’excuse auprès du public pour les dérangements occasionnés par ces travaux.

Parcs Canada travaille fièrement, au nom de la population canadienne, au maintien des biens patrimoniaux du lieu historique de la Voie-Navigable-Trent–Severn en s’assurant que le canal et les bassins hydrographiques avoisinants sont protégés afin que les générations futures puissent en profiter.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le www.parcscanada.gc.ca/trent. Vous pouvez aussi nous suivre sur Twitter à @LHNTrentSevern et sur notre page Facebook.

Renseignements :

Lauren Dean
Agente des communications
Lieu historique national du Canada
de la Voie-Navigable-Trent–Severn
705-750-4900
Pat Newson
Agente des communications
Lieu historique national du Canada
de la Voie-Navigable-Trent–Severn
705-750-4900