Common menu bar links

Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site of Canada

Extended Hours Announced for Trent-Severn Waterway

Enhanced Parks Canada visitor service help Canadians connect with incredible experiences along heritage waterway

June 23, 2014 - Peterborough, Ontario - Parks Canada is enhancing visitor service on the Trent-Severn Waterway with extended operating hours to support tourism, economic development and help Canadians create memories, meaningful experiences and better connect with nature.

Beginning in time for the busy summer visitor season, the 2014 Hours of Operation are as follows:

June 27 to Sept. 1, 2014
Monday to Thursday: 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Friday to Sunday; Canada Day, August Civic Holiday and Labour Day: 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Sept. 2 to Oct. 13, 2014
Monday to Friday: 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday to Sunday; Thanksgiving: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

During the peak visitor season, Parks Canada will end the use of mobile crews and will provide “upon arrival” service at all lock stations and bridges along the Trent-Severn Waterway. This service will be implemented as soon as possible.

Through initiatives like these, Parks Canada is supporting Canada's National Conservation Plan (NCP) by taking practical action to connect Canadians to nature. In addition, the ongoing work of Parks Canada and programs – like the Xplorers program, Learn-to Camp and special events and exciting new activities and programs across the country – are enhancing visitor experience and facilitating personal connections with Parks Canada places.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn

Annonce d’heures d’ouverture prolongées pour la voie navigable Trent-Severn

Le service accru aux visiteurs de Parcs Canada aide les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à vivre des expériences incroyables le long de la voie navigable patrimoniale

Le 23 juin 2014 - Peterborough (Ontario) - Parcs Canada améliore le service offert aux visiteurs de la voie navigable Trent-Severn en prolongeant les heures d’ouverture pour appuyer le tourisme et le développement économique et aider la population canadienne à créer des souvenirs, à vivre des expériences enrichissantes et à se rapprocher davantage de la nature.

Juste à temps pour répondre à l’achalandage accru de visiteurs durant la période estivale, les heures d’ouverture pour 2014 ont été modifiées comme suit :

Du 27 juin au 1er septembre 2014
Du lundi au jeudi : de 9 h à 18 h
Du vendredi au dimanche; fête du Canada, Congé civique du mois d'août et fête du Travail : de 9 h à 19 h

Du 2 septembre au 13 octobre 2014
Du lundi au vendredi : de 10 h à 16 h
Du samedi au dimanche; Action de Grâce : de 9 h à 17 h

Durant la haute saison touristique, Parcs Canada cessera de faire appel à des équipes mobiles et fournira des services « à l’arrivée » à tous les postes d’éclusage et ponts le long de la voie navigable Trent-Severn. Ce service sera mis en œuvre dès que possible.

Grâce à des initiatives comme celles-ci, Parcs Canada apporte son appui au Plan national de conservation national (PNC) du Canada en agissant de manière concrète pour rapprocher la population canadienne de la nature. De plus, les efforts déployés par Parcs Canada et divers programmes (comme le programme des Xplorateurs, Initiation au camping, de même que des événements spéciaux et de nouveaux programmes et activités intéressants à l’échelle du pays) rehaussent l’expérience des visiteurs et favorisent le rapprochement des individus avec les lieux de Parcs Canada.