Common menu bar links

Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site of Canada

Government of Canada provides action plan for Trent-Severn Waterway Renewal

PETERBOROUGH, ONTARIO, September 25, 2009--The Honourable Jim Prentice, Canada's Environment Minister and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, today announced the Government of Canada's action plan in response to the Trent-Severn Waterway Panel Report: The Future of the Trent Severn Waterway.

“Our government is fully committed to the renewal of the Trent Severn Waterway, an important National Historic Site and Canada's longest historic canal,” said Minister Prentice. “The Government of Canada's recent $83 million investment demonstrates our ongoing commitment to protect this significant heritage resource and ensure that Canadians have the opportunity to experience and enjoy it.”

The Trent-Severn Waterway is an extraordinary historical icon and the largest watershed in central Ontario. Over its 175-year history, the Trent-Severn Waterway has evolved with technological advancements and increasingly diverse uses. The changing regional context and the interests of Waterway users led to the Government of Canada decision to initiate a review of Waterway operations and its connections to the surrounding corridor.

“As one of Canada's largest National Historic Sites, the Trent-Severn Waterway is one of the defining characteristics of central Ontario. I am very pleased to see the Federal Government's response to the recommendations of the Panel charts a course that enhances collaboration on tourism, heritage and planning for renewal of this national treasure", said Mr. Dean Del Mastro, Member of Parliament for Peterborough.

The measures the Government of Canada will bring forward are as follow:

  • Bring clarity around jurisdictional issues. The goal is to develop a Memorandum of Understanding with the Government of Ontario within six month, detailing areas of collaboration and coordination.
  • Assure the future of our water by establishing an advisory committee to engage users in the review of water management policies.
  • Work with municipalities and other organizations towards fully developing a Planner's Forum as a means of coordination on key issues such as waterfront development.
  • As a means of encouraging the development of renewable energy, establish a dedicated professional unit in Peterborough to lead hydroelectric development on the waterway.
  • Work with heritage organizations to develop a Heritage Network that will encourage public awareness, education and visitor experiences.

The Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site of Canada is part of Parks Canada's nation-wide network of national parks, national marine conservation areas and national historic sites, a network that is recognized as one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected areas in the world. This initiative will help Parks Canada ensure Canada's cultural and natural heritage are presented and protected for the enjoyment, education, and appreciation of all Canadians, today and in the future.

Information:

Frédéric Baril
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of the Environment
819-997-1441
Media Relations
National Corporate Communications Branch
Parks Canada
819-994-3023

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn

Le gouvernement du Canada fournit le plan d'action pour le renouvellement de la voie navigable Trent-Severn

PETERBOROUGH, ONTARIO, le 25 septembre 2009 - L'honorable Jim Prentice, ministre de l'Environnement et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, a présenté aujourd'hui le plan d'action du gouvernement du Canada en réponse au rapport de la Commission sur la voie navigable Trent-Severn : L'avenir de la voie navigable Trent-Severn.

« Notre gouvernement est très favorable au renouvellement de la voie navigable Trent-Severn, un important lieu historique national et le plus long canal historique du Canada, a déclaré le ministre Prentice. Le récent investissement de 83 millions de dollars du gouvernement du Canada démontre notre engagement permanent envers la protection de cette importante ressource patrimoniale et s'assure que les Canadiennes et les Canadiens pourront à leur tour en faire l'expérience et en profiter pleinement. »

La voie navigable Trent-Severn est un extraordinaire symbole historique et le plus grand bassin hydrographique du centre de l'Ontario. Au cours de ses 175 ans d'existence, la voie navigable Trent-Severn a évolué au rythme des progrès technologiques et des utilisations de plus en plus diversifiées. L'évolution du contexte régional et des intérêts des utilisateurs de la voie navigable a conduit à la décision du gouvernement du Canada d'entreprendre un examen des opérations de la voie navigable et de ses connexions au corridor attenant.

« La voie navigable Trent-Severn, l'un des plus grands lieux historiques nationaux du Canada, est l'une des caractéristiques qui définit le centre de l'Ontario. Je suis très heureux de constater que la réponse du gouvernement fédéral aux recommandations de la Commission ouvre la voie à une collaboration en matière de tourisme, de patrimoine et de planification pour le renouvellement de ce trésor national », a déclaré M. Dean Del Mastro, député de Peterborough.

Les mesures que le gouvernement du Canada mettra de l'avant sont les suivantes :

  • Clarifier les questions touchant les domaines de compétence. L'objectif visé est d'élaborer un protocole d'entente avec le gouvernement de l'Ontario au cours des six prochains mois qui présentera en détail les domaines de collaboration et de coordination.
  • Garantir l'avenir de notre eau en établissant un comité consultatif en vue de faire participer les utilisateurs à la révision des politiques de gestion de l'eau.
  • Travailler en collaboration avec les municipalités et les autres organismes afin de développer le plein potentiel d'un forum des aménageurs comme moyen de coordination des volets clés, comme l'aménagement des terrains riverains.
  • Dans le but d'encourager le développement d'énergies renouvelables, établir une unité professionnelle dévouée à Peterborough pour diriger l'aménagement de nouvelles installations hydroélectriques sur la voie navigable.
  • Travailler en collaboration avec les organismes patrimoniaux afin de mettre en place un réseau patrimonial qui favorise la sensibilisation et l'éducation du public et rehausse les expériences offertes aux visiteurs.

Le lieu historique national du Canada de la Voie-navigable-Trent-Severn fait partie d'un réseau pancanadien de parcs nationaux, d'aires marines nationales de conservation et de lieux historiques nationaux, un réseau reconnu comme l'un des plus beaux et des plus vastes au monde. Cette initiative aidera Parcs Canada à assurer la mise en valeur et la protection du patrimoine culturel et naturel du Canada dans l'intérêt de toute la population canadienne d'aujourd'hui et de demain, tant pour son agrément que pour l'enrichissement de ses connaissances.

Renseignements :

Frédéric Baril
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre de l'Environment
819-997-1441
Relations avec les médias
Direction des communications de l'Agence
Parcs Canada
819-994-3023