Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site of Canada

Government of Canada and Province of Ontario work together for the Future of the Trent-Severn Waterway

Peterborough, Ontario, July 14, 2011 – On behalf of the Honourable Peter Kent, Canada’s Environment Minister and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, Mr. Dean Del Mastro, Member of Parliament for Peterborough and Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister and to the Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, today signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Government of Ontario to ensure long-term cooperative management of the Trent-Severn Waterway and its watersheds.

“This agreement is an important milestone for the region,” said Mr. Del Mastro. "It’s the culmination of negotiations between two governments and will preserve the heritage and bolster economic growth for the Trent-Severn Waterway region today and in the future.”

The Government’s Action Plan in response to the Panel on the Future of the Trent-Severn Waterway indicated a need for cooperation and collaboration between federal and provincial governments over management of the Trent-Severn Waterway, a precious resource, a key tourist attraction, and national historic site. In response, the two governments have come to an agreement to work together to find better ways to manage the natural and cultural resources of the waterway.

“The document we’re signing today will help to protect and strengthen the long term ecological, social and economic sustainability of the Trent-Severn Waterway and its watershed for today’s citizens and generations yet to come,” said Minister Kent.

Parks Canada works to ensure Canada’s historic and natural heritage is protected and, through a network of 42 national parks, 167 national historic sites, and four national marine conservation areas, invites Canadians and people around the world to engage in personal moments of inspiring discovery at our treasured natural and historic places.

For additional information, please see the accompanying backgrounder at www.parkscanada.gc.ca under Media Room.

Information:
Sara Atkins
External Relations Manager
Central Ontario Field Unit
Parks Canada
705-750-4883
www.twitter.com/TrentSevernNHS

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn

Les gouvernements du Canada et de l’Ontario unissent leurs efforts pour l’avenir de la voie navigable Trent-Severn

Peterborough (Ontario), le 14 juillet 2011 – Au nom de l’honorable Peter Kent, ministre canadien de l’Environnement et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, M. Dean Del Mastro, secrétaire parlementaire du premier ministre et du ministre des Affaires intergouvernementales et député de Peterborough, a signé aujourd’hui un protocole d’entente avec le gouvernement de l’Ontario pour assurer la gestion concertée et à long terme de la voie navigable Trent-Severn et de ses bassins hydrographiques.

« Cette entente marque une étape importante pour la région, a souligné M. Del Mastro. Ceci est l’aboutissement de négociations entre les deux ordres de gouvernement et assurera la protection du patrimoine et la croissance économique immédiate et future de la voie navigable Trent-Severn. »

Le plan d’action du gouvernement en réponse à la Commission sur l’avenir de la voie navigable Trent-Severn a souligné l’importance de la coopération et de la collaboration entre les gouvernements fédéral et provincial dans la gestion de la voie navigable Trent-Severn, une ressource précieuse, un attrait touristique majeur et un lieu historique national. En réponse au rapport de la Commission, les deux gouvernements ont conclu une entente afin de travailler ensemble à trouver des façons plus efficaces de gérer les ressources naturelles et culturelles de la voie navigable.

« Le document que nous signons aujourd’hui aidera à protéger et à améliorer la durabilité écologique, sociale et économique à long terme de la voie navigable Trent-Severn et de ses bassins hydrographiques pour les citoyens d’aujourd’hui tout comme pour les générations à venir », a indiqué le ministre Kent.

Parcs Canada veille à ce que le patrimoine historique et naturel du Canada soit protégé et invite la population canadienne ainsi que les visiteurs du monde entier à profiter de son réseau de 42 parcs nationaux, de 167 lieux historiques nationaux et de quatre aires marines nationales de conservation, pour découvrir les sites naturels et historiques exceptionnels du pays et vivre des moments inoubliables.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le document d’information disponible au www.parcscanada.gc.ca, sous la rubrique Salle des médias.

Renseignements :
Sara Atkins
Gestionnaire des relations externes
Unité de gestion du Centre de l’Ontario
Parcs Canada
705-750-4883
www.twitter.com/LHNTrentSevern