Common menu bar links

Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site

What's New

Operations

In 1833 visionaries built a small wooden lock in Bobcaygeon to help the lumber industry. Over the next 87 years the Waterway grew to encompass 44 locks including 37 conventional locks, 2 flight locks, 2 hydraulic locks and a marine railway along the 386 km ribbon of waterway connecting Trenton on Lake Ontario to Georgian Bay. Ever since the waterway opened it has been a recreational and commercial route, provided for conservation, water quality and navigation through the region. The Waterway attracts about 1.4 million visitors each year coming to experience the historic system, watch the boats and enjoy the peaceful environment. Travelling the 386 km by boat takes about a week one way, along the journey you will find The Trent-Severn Waterway is an engineering marvel that has stood the test of time and is National Historic Site of Canada.

November 17, 2016
Temporary Road Closure - Trent-Severn Waterway Bridge at Lock 42 on Canal Road in Severn Township
The Trent-Severn Waterway bridge on Canal Road at Lock 42, near the community of Severn Bridge, will be temporarily closed on Thursday, November 24th, 2016 from 9:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. with an inclement weather date in effect for Friday, November 25th, 2016 from 9:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

This closure is required to complete a comprehensive inspection of the bridge at the Lock 42 – Couchiching location.

The alternate route across the Trent-Severn Waterway is via Highway 11 and detour signage will be in place.

Parks Canada would like to thank area residents and visitors for their patience during this closure.

March 24, 2016
Installation of Backup Power at Dam Site
Parks Canada has begun the installation of back-up generators on a number of dams in the southern area of the Trent-Severn Waterway. This work should have little impact on the public and is scheduled to be completed by May 2016.

October 13, 2015
End of Season Operations on Trent-Severn Waterway 
Parks Canada is advising the public that the Trent-Severn Waterway’s 44 lockstations between Trenton and Port Severn closed for the season on October 12, 2015, following the Thanksgiving long weekend.


May 15, 2015
Celebrate the Long Weekend on Ontario's Historic Canals!
Ontario's Historic Canals officially open on Friday, May 15, 2015. The historic canals, an important part of Canada's built and natural heritage, and are steeped in both beauty and excitement. Parks Canada remains committed to providing activity opportunities and services for visitors from all walks of life to experience canals.


June 23, 2014
Extended Hours Announced for Trent-Severn Waterway
Parks Canada is enhancing visitor service on the Trent-Severn Waterway with extended operating hours to support tourism, economic development and help Canadians create memories, meaningful experiences and better connect with nature.

Lieu historique national de la Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn

Quoi de neuf

Opérations

En 1833, des visionnaires ont construit une petite écluse de bois à Bobcaygeon afin d’aider l’industrie du bois à se développer. Au cours des 87 ans qui ont suivi, la voie navigable est devenue un grand réseau comprenant 44 écluses, y compris 37 écluses conventionnelles, 2 échelles d’écluses, 2 écluses hydrauliques, ainsi qu’un ber roulant, dispersés sur les 386 km de la voie navigable qui relie Trenton, sur le lac Ontario, à la baie Georgienne. Depuis son ouverture, la voie navigable a servi à des fins récréatives et commerciales, et a permis l’organisation d’activités de conservation, de contrôle de la qualité de l’eau et de navigation dans la région. La voie navigable attire chaque année environ 1,4 million de visiteurs, venus pour découvrir ce système historique, admirer les bateaux et apprécier l’environnement paisible. Le voyage en bateau d’un bout à l’autre des 386 km prend environ une semaine. Pendant votre parcours, vous constaterez que la voie navigable Trent-Severn constitue véritablement une merveille d’ingénierie qui a résisté à l’épreuve du temps et qu’elle mérite pleinement son statut de lieu historique national du Canada.

17 novembre 2016
Fermeture temporaire du pont sur la voie navigable Trent-Severn à l’écluse 42 sur Canal Road, canton de Severn
Le pont sur la voie navigable Trent Severn situé sur Canal Road, à l’écluse 42, près de la localité de Severn Bridge, sera fermé temporairement le jeudi 24 novembre 2016, de 9 h 30 à 14 h ou, en cas de mauvais temps, le vendredi 25 novembre, de 9 h 30 à 14 h.

Cette fermeture est nécessaire pour permettre une inspection détaillée du pont à l’écluse 42 – emplacement Couchiching.

Une déviation par la route 11 permettra de franchir la voie navigable Trent Severn. Elle sera signalée par des panneaux.

Parcs Canada remercie les résidents de la région et les visiteurs de leur patience pendant la fermeture.

24 mars 2016
Installation d’une alimentation électrique de secours à des sites de barrages
Parcs Canada a commencé l’installation de génératrices de secours sur certains barrages dans le secteur sud de la voie navigable Trent-Severn. Ces travaux devraient avoir peu de répercussions sur le public et il est prévu qu’ils soient terminés d’ici mai 2016.

13 octobre 2015
Fin des activités saisonnières sur la voie navigable Trent-Severn
Parcs Canada informe le public que les 42 postes d’éclusage de la voie navigable Trent-Severn situés entre Trenton et Port Severn ont fermés pour une autre année le 12 octobre, 2015, suite au lundi de l’Action de grâce.


15 mai 2015
Profitez de la longue fin de semaine sur les canaux historiques de l’Ontario!
Les canaux historiques de l’Ontario seront officiellement ouverts dès le vendredi 15 mai 2015. Les canaux historiques constituent une partie importante du patrimoine naturel et bâti du Canada et sont imprégnés à la fois de beauté et de plaisir. Parcs Canada poursuit son engagement à offrir des activités et des services aux visiteurs de tous les horizons afin qu’ils fassent l’expérience des canaux.


23 juin 2014
Annonce d’heures d’ouverture prolongées pour la voie navigable Trent-Severn
Parcs Canada améliore le service offert aux visiteurs de la voie navigable Trent-Severn en prolongeant les heures d’ouverture pour appuyer le tourisme et le développement économique et aider la population canadienne à créer des souvenirs, à vivre des expériences enrichissantes et à se rapprocher davantage de la nature.