Common menu bar links

Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site of Canada

Residents Bring Lots of Ideas to Lakefield Waterfront Meeting Hosted by Parks Canada

It was standing room only for latecomers, a scene of energetic creativity at Marshland Centre in Lakefield. On February 22, 2012 some 60 people met with Trent-Severn Waterway (TSW) officials to talk about future uses for river front property owned by Parks Canada in the village of Lakefield.


One of several potential FIT scenarios and photos of the property
© Parks Canada

Ideas flowed with six distinct themes surfacing:
  • Culinary Tourism (ie: eco-friendly marina, unique brew pub/cafe/artisan/museum blend)
  • Heritage (ie: mixed use, year round historical centre w retail/bistro)
  • Artisan Space (ie: year round workshops and gallery for various guilds)
  • Visitor Resources (ie: family oriented community/info center)
  • Residential (ie: seniors’ residence; luxury condos)
  • Green Space (children/community gardens; parkland; labyrinth)
Suggestions falling outside of these categories included a canoe-shaped casino, heliport pad and recreational water park.

The lively two-hour session started with a presentation from TSW's Hydro & Business Development Manager, Bill Fox, who showcased a successful waterfront redevelopment project in Fenelon Falls as an example of the kind of project that could be possible.


Fenelon Falls became a hub of activity following redevelopment.
© Parks Canada

Fox also referenced the Government's response to recommendations contained in the 2008 Panel report concerning the future of the TSW. "Parks Canada began to explore opportunities for establishing long-term revenue streams, based on commercial leases, in support of canal operations. Those of you who have read the 2008 Panel report It's All About the Water will know the financial challenges related to recapitalization and ongoing maintenance of canal infrastructure," said Fox. "We're looking for an approach that benefits the village of Lakefield and generates revenue for TSW."

A spirited exchange of questions and comments followed Fox’s presentation and peppered conversations throughout the rest of the evening. These Q&As and others, can be found by checking out Lakefield Property Development Questions & Answers.

NEXT STEPS
Parks Canada is just beginning to explore all options and plans to return to the community in spring. At that time the public can view artist drawings of potential scenarios and look at architectural "FIT" plans that work with bylaws and property limitations. Council can expect a presentation shortly thereafter. Following that, individuals, groups and businesses will be invited to share their partnering ideas through a call for "Expressions of Interest."

LISTENING TO YOUR CONCERNS
As a side issue, during summary discussions a resident whose home backs onto the site under discussion, mentioned how the Parks Canada property was in a state of neglect and reminisced that her grandchildren, when they were youngsters, had earned money collecting bottles left by boaters visiting the area. Fox offered to speak with the area manager about ground maintenance. Since the meeting, a TSW crew has visited the compound to clean up trees and brush.

Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn

Les résidents apportent une foule d’idées à la réunion sur la propriété riveraine de Lakefield organisée par Parcs Canada

Les retardataires furent accueillis par une salle comble débordant d’énergie créative au Centre Marshland à Lakefield. Le 22 février 2012, quelque 60 personnes se sont réunies avec les représentants de la Voie-Navigable-Trent–Severn (VNTS) pour discuter des utilisations futures de la propriété riveraine dont Parcs Canada est propriétaire dans le village de Lakefield.


Un des scénarios FIT possibles et photos de la propriété.
© Parcs Canada

Six thèmes distincts sont ressortis des idées proposées :
  • Tourisme culinaire (marina écologique, agencement unique bistrot/café/artisans/musée)
  • Patrimoine (utilisation mixte, centre historique ouvert à l’année avec petit magasin/restaurant)
  • Artisanat (ateliers et galerie ouverts à l’année – divers guildes)
  • Ressources pour visiteurs (centre d’info ou communautaire axé sur les familles)
  • Zone résidentielle (résidence pour personnes âgées; condos de luxe)
  • Espace vert (jardins pour enfants/communautaires; forêt-parc; labyrinthe)
Parmi les autres idées n’appartenant pas à ces catégories citons un casino en forme de canot, une aire de manœuvre d’hélicoptères et un parc aquatique récréatif.

La séance animée de deux heures a débuté par un exposé de Bill Fox, gestionnaire, Développement hydroélectrique et commercial de la VNTS, qui a présenté comme exemple d’option éventuelle le projet de réaménagement du secteur riverain de Fenelon Falls, qui a connu beaucoup de succès.


Fenelon Falls bourdonne d'activité depuis l'aménagement de la propriété.
© Parcs Canada

M. Fox a également fait référence à la réponse du gouvernement aux recommandations du rapport de 2008 de la Commission sur l’avenir de la VNTS. « Parcs Canada a commencé à explorer les possibilités d’établir des sources de revenu à long terme, fondées sur des baux commerciaux, pour appuyer les activités du canal. Ceux et celles d’entre vous qui avez lu le rapport de la Commission intitulé L’essentiel, c’est l’eau connaissent les défis financiers associés à la réfection et à l’entretien continu de l’infrastructure du canal, a indiqué M. Fox. Nous cherchons une approche qui sera bénéfique pour le village de Lakefield et qui générera des revenus pour la VNTS. »

Une période animée de questions et de commentaires a suivi la présentation de M. Fox et a donné lieu à des conversations fort intéressantes pendant le reste de la soirée. Pour en savoir plus, consulter les questions et réponses sur l’aménagement de la propriété de Lakefield.

PROCHAINES ÉTAPES
Parcs Canada commence à peine à explorer toutes les options et prévoit consulter la communauté à nouveau au printemps. À ce moment-là, le public pourra voir les dessins d’artiste représentant des scénarios possibles et examiner les projets architecturaux qui tiennent compte des règlements administratifs et des restrictions rattachées à la propriété. Le Conseil pourra assister à une présentation peu de temps après. Par la suite, les particuliers, les groupes et les propriétaires d’entreprises seront invités à partager leurs idées de partenariats par l’entremise d’un appel public de manifestation d’intérêt.

NOUS SOMMES À L’ÉCOUTE
Pendant la plénière, une résidente dont le domicile est adjacent au site en question, a mentionné que la propriété de Parcs Canada était mal tenue, racontant que, lorsqu’ils étaient jeunes, ses petits-enfants avaient amassé de l’argent de poche en vendant les bouteilles laissées par les plaisanciers qui visitaient l’endroit. M. Fox s’est engagé à discuter de la situation avec le gestionnaire responsable de l’entretien paysager. Depuis la réunion, une équipe de la VNTS a visité l’endroit pour y ramasser les déchets et enlever les broussailles et les arbres morts.