Common menu bar links

Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site of Canada

Temporary Closures for Spring Maintenance

Peterborough, Ontario, April 17, 2014 – The Government of Canada has made record investments toward heritage canals. In the coming weeks, Parks Canada will be conducting spring maintenance at some of our swing bridges and sites, in preparation for the 2014 navigation season. This includes preventative maintenance tasks like washing and greasing swing bridges and conducting visual inspections to ensure their safe operability.

Temporary Bridge Closures
The Director of Ontario Waterways for Parks Canada advises of the following temporary bridge closures for this regular spring maintenance, weather permitting:

May 4 Maria Street Swing Bridge (Peterborough) 6:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
May 4 McFarlane Street Bridge (Peterborough) 6:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
May 11 Warsaw Road Swing Bridge (Peterborough) 6:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Traffic Delays
Seasonal maintenance on certain bridges that cross the Trent-Severn Waterway will not result in closures, but vehicles may experience short delays of about 10 minutes. Parks Canada maintenance staff will complete this work between May 5-9 on the following bridges:

Brighton Road Swing Bridge
Carrying Place Swing Bridge
Glen Ross Swing Bridge
Ranney Falls Swing Bridge (Campbellford)
Hastings Swing Bridge
Bobcaygeon Swing Bridge
Bolsover Swing Bridge
Boundary Road Swing Bridge
Lakeshore Road Swing Bridge
Couchiching Bridge
Hamlet Swing Bridge (on Canning Road near Washago)
Port Severn Swing Bridge

Motorists are invited to plan their routes accordingly in order to avoid delays. To accommodate school bus traffic, efforts will be made to keep bridge delays between 9:30 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. Parks Canada wishes to thank bridge users for their patience during the maintenance period.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn

Fermetures temporaires dans la voie navigable Trent-Severn pour l’exécution de travaux d’entretien printaniers

Peterborough (Ontario) 11 avril 2014 – Le gouvernement du Canada a investi des sommes records dans les canaux patrimoniaux. Au cours des prochaines semaines, Parcs Canada entreprendra des travaux d’entretien printaniers de certains des ponts tournants et lieux gérés par l’Agence, en vue de la saison de navigation 2014. Il s’agit notamment de travaux d’entretien préventif, comme le nettoyage et le graissage des ponts tournants, ainsi que d’inspections visuelles pour s’assurer de leur fonctionnement sécuritaire.

Fermeture temporaire de ponts
La directrice des voies navigables de l’Ontario, à Parcs Canada, tient à aviser la population de la fermeture temporaire de ponts aux fins de leur entretien printanier régulier selon le calendrier suivant, si les conditions météorologiques le permettent :

4 mai Pont tournant de la rue Maria (Peterborough) 6 h à 14 h
4 mai Pont de la rue McFarlane (Peterborough) 6 h à 14 h
11 mai Pont tournant du chemin Warsaw (Peterborough) 6 h à 12 h

Retards sur le réseau routier
L’entretien saisonnier de certains ponts tournants qui traversent la voie navigable Trent-Severn n’entraînera pas de fermetures, mais pourrait occasionner de légers retards (d’une dizaine de minutes) pour les automobilistes. Le personnel d’entretien de Parcs Canada complètera ce travail du 5 au 9 mai sur les ponts suivants :

Pont tournant du chemin Brighton
Pont tournant de Carrying Place
Pont tournant Glen Ross
Pont tournant de Ranney Falls (Campbellford)
Pont tournant de Hastings
Pont tournant de Bobcaygeon
Pont tournant de Bolsover
Pont tournant du chemin Boundary
Pont tournant du chemin Lakeshore
Pont de Couchiching
Pont tournant Hamlet, sur le chemin Canning, près de Washago
Pont tournant de Port Severn


Les automobilistes sont invités à planifier leurs déplacements en conséquence afin d’éviter les retards. Afin de faciliter la circulation des autobus scolaires, des efforts seront déployés pour que les fermetures de ponts soient limitées à une certaine plage horaire, soit entre 9 h 30 et 14 h 30. Parcs Canada tient à remercier les utilisateurs des ponts pour leur patience durant cette période d’entretien.