Common menu bar links

Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site of Canada

Parks Canada and Ontario Waterpower Industry Collaborate on a Strategic Framework

New framework supports clean energy, safe infrastructure and sustainable canal operations

March 21, 2014 - Peterborough, ON - Parks Canada and Ontario Waterpower Association (OWA) are collaborating to manage and develop the hydroelectric potential of national historic canal systems in Ontario. The new framework is expected to foster new infrastructure investment, encourage clean hydroelectric energy and support the long-term sustainability of the Trent-Severn Waterway and Rideau Canal.

Today, the two organisations announced the release of a report on waterpower management in national historic canal systems in Ontario. The report and its recommendations are a collaborative effort that addresses the shared desire of the waterpower industry and federal government for clear, consistent policy and procedures that encourage investment in waterpower infrastructure and help Parks Canada to realise the revenue potential of hydro generation.

All revenues generated by Parks Canada canal operations are reinvested back into the canals. The financial sustainability of canals and communities requires a combined effort with Parks Canada, provincial and local governments and the many business interests along the canal. Parks Canada remains committed to the recapitalisation and maintenance of very complex historical and contemporary canals infrastructure, including dams, locks and bridges, many of which are integral to the ongoing operation of generating stations along the waterway. These investments connect communities and ensure this infrastructure is available to those who need it.

The full report, Towards a New Business Relationship: Waterpower on Parks Canada Agency Waterways, is available on the OWA website at www.owa.ca.

Quick Facts

  • The Parks Canada Agency is responsible for the administration of the Trent-Severn Waterway and Rideau Canal national historic sites of Canada. It supports the sustainability of historic canals and quality tourism opportunities with responsible fiscal management and wise investment of taxpayer dollars.
  • More than two-dozen waterpower facilities on the Trent-Severn Waterway and the Rideau Canal systems represent nearly 100 MW of installed capacity and produce, on average, approximately 500 GWh of clean, renewable energy.
  • On average, waterpower facilities provide $1.3 million in annual revenue to Parks Canada's historic canals in Ontario. All revenues generated by Parks Canada canal operations are reinvested back into the canals.
  • The Government of Canada invests in repairs or replacements of essential infrastructure like dams, bridges, and locks so that visitors can continue to enjoy sites safely.
  • Parks Canada continues to work with partners and communities to ensure the historic canals are premier tourism destinations, generate revenue, foster recreation and economic development, build strong communities and support Canadian families.

Quotes

"Our Government is committed to the financial sustainability of Canada's historic canals and the communities along them. This framework shows how governments and private industry can work together to streamline processes and support the national historic canals' infrastructure for the benefit of all Canadians."

Rick Norlock, Member of Parliament for Northumberland-Quinte West

"This report will serve as the foundation for a new business relationship. Our participation in this joint effort has itself provided for improved communication and cooperation."

Paul Norris, President, Ontario Waterpower Association

Lieu historique national de la Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn

Collaboration entre Parcs Canada et l'industrie hydroélectrique de l'Ontario pour la mise en place d'un cadre stratégique

Ce nouveau cadre vise à soutenir l'énergie propre, la sécurité des infrastructures et la viabilité des canaux

Le 21 mars 2014 - Peterborough (Ontario) - Parcs Canada et l'Ontario Waterpower Association (OWA) travaillent en collaboration en vue de gérer et de développer le potentiel hydroélectrique du réseau national des canaux historiques en Ontario. Le nouveau cadre stratégique doit encourager l'investissement dans de nouvelles infrastructures, favoriser l'énergie hydroélectrique propre et soutenir la viabilité à long terme de la voie navigable Trent-Severn et du canal Rideau.

Les deux organismes ont annoncé aujourd'hui la publication d'un rapport sur la gestion de l'énergie hydroélectrique du réseau national des canaux historiques en Ontario. Ce rapport, ainsi que les recommandations qui y sont formulées, est le fruit d'un effort commun pour satisfaire au désir unanime de l'industrie hydroélectrique et du gouvernement fédéral d'adopter des politiques et des procédures claires et cohérentes. Celles-ci sont censées favoriser l'investissement dans les infrastructures hydroélectriques et permettre à Parcs Canada de générer des recettes grâce à la production hydroélectrique.

L'intégralité des recettes générées par l'exploitation des canaux de Parcs Canada est réinvestie dans ces mêmes canaux. Cette collaboration entre Parcs Canada, les gouvernements provinciaux et locaux et les nombreuses entreprises concernées situées le long des canaux est garante de la viabilité financière des canaux et des collectivités. Parcs Canada maintient sa résolution de contribuer à la réfection et à l'entretien de l'infrastructure très complexe des canaux historiques et modernes, notamment les barrages, les écluses et les ponts, dont beaucoup constituent des parties intégrantes du fonctionnement des centrales électriques le long de la voie navigable. Ces investissements relient les collectivités entre elles et permettent à ceux qui en ont besoin de bénéficier de cette infrastructure.

La version intégrale du rapport intitulé Towards a New Business Relationship: Waterpower on Parks Canada Agency Waterways (Vers une nouvelle relation d'affaires : l'énergie hydroélectrique des voies navigables de l'Agence Parcs Canada) se trouve sur le site Web de l'OWA : www.owa.ca (en anglais seulement).

Faits en bref

  • L'Agence Parcs Canada est responsable de l'administration des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada de la voie navigable Trent-Severn et du canal Rideau. Grâce à une gestion budgétaire responsable et à un investissement judicieux de l'argent des contribuables, Parcs Canada soutient la viabilité des canaux historiques ainsi qu'une offre touristique de qualité.
  • Avec plus d'une vingtaine d'installations hydroélectriques sur le réseau de la voie navigable Trent-Severn et du canal Rideau, la puissance installée s'élève à près de 100 MW, pour une production moyenne en énergie renouvelable propre d'environ 500 GW.
  • Ces infrastructures assurent aux canaux historiques de Parcs Canada en Ontario des recettes annuelles moyennes de 1,3 million de dollars. L'intégralité des recettes générées par l'exploitation des canaux de Parcs Canada est réinvestie dans ces mêmes canaux.
  • Afin de permettre aux visiteurs de profiter de ces lieux en toute sécurité, le gouvernement du Canada investit dans les réparations et le remplacement d'infrastructures essentielles comme les barrages, les ponts et les écluses.
  • Parcs Canada poursuit sa collaboration avec ses partenaires et les collectivités pour faire des canaux historiques une destination touristique de choix, générer des recettes, encourager le développement touristique et économique, créer des collectivités fortes et soutenir les familles canadiennes.

Citations

« Notre gouvernement tient à la viabilité financière des canaux historiques du Canada et des collectivités qui les entourent. Ce cadre stratégique montre à quel point les gouvernements et les entreprises privées sont prêts à œuvrer de concert pour rationaliser les processus et soutenir l'infrastructure des canaux historiques nationaux, et ce, au profit de toute la population canadienne.»

Rick Norlock, député de Northumberland-Quinte Ouest

« Ce rapport sera à la base d'une nouvelle relation d'affaires. Notre participation à cet effort commun a contribué à une communication et à une collaboration des plus productives.»

Paul Norris, Président de l'Ontario Waterpower Association