Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site of Canada

Hastings Swing Bridge Update

PETERBOROUGH, ONTARIO, August 23, 2011 – The Superintendent of the Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site of Canada along with the Mayor of the Municipality of Trent Hills would like to update the public on plans for the Hastings swing bridge project.

Parks Canada staff has been working with a consultant to determine the scope of work required for the Hastings swing bridge. The bridge was originally slated for reconstruction at the close of the 2011 navigation season. However; after evaluating the consultant’s report Parks Canada has rescheduled the project for the close of navigation 2012.

This extension gives Parks Canada and the Municipality of Trent Hills additional time to investigate all available options to mitigate the impact of the bridge’s closure on the community. Both parties are working together to ensure that the best possible plan is in place when major work begins.

While mindful of local business, resident and visitor concerns, public safety remains the top priority for Parks Canada and the Municipality of Trent Hills. Recently completed work has helped to sustain the bridge until the major project is completed. In the meantime, motorists are reminded of the weight restriction, introduced in June.

Single vehicle - not to exceed 21 Tonnes

Two-unit vehicle – not to exceed 38 Tonnes (i.e tractor trailer)

Three -unit vehicle – not to exceed 52 Tonnes (i.e.tractor train)

Parks Canada thanks the community for their cooperation and understanding throughout the Hastings swing bridge project and will communicate updates as they become available.

For more information please visit www.parkscanada.gc.ca/trent.

Information :
Lauren Dean
Communications Officer
Central Ontario Field Unit
(705) 750-4407

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn

Nouvelles sur le projet du pont tournant de Hastings

PETERBOROUGH (ONTARIO), 23 août 2011 – La directrice du lieu historique national du Canada de la Voie-Navigable-Trent–Severn et le maire de la Municipalité de Trent Hills désirent mettre le public au courant des prochaines étapes du projet de réfection du pont tournant de Hastings.

Le personnel de Parcs Canada a travaillé avec un expert-conseil afin de déterminer l’étendue des travaux nécessaires à la réfection du pont tournant de Hastings. Au départ, le pont devait être reconstruit à la fin de la saison de navigation 2011. Toutefois, après examen du rapport de l’expert-conseil, Parcs Canada a décidé de reporter le projet jusqu’à la fin de la saison de navigation 2012.

Ce report laissera au personnel de Parcs Canada et de la Municipalité de Trent Hills davantage de temps pour examiner toutes les mesures qui pourraient être prises pour réduire au minimum l’impact de la fermeture du pont sur la communauté. Les deux parties travaillent ensemble afin que le meilleur plan possible soit en place au début des travaux importants.

Tout en étant attentifs aux préoccupations des gens d’affaires locaux, des résidents et des visiteurs, Parcs Canada et la Municipalité de Trent Hills continuent d’accorder la priorité à la sécurité publique. Des travaux réalisés récemment feront en sorte que le pont demeurera fonctionnel jusqu’à la réalisation du projet. D’ici là, on rappelle aux automobilistes de tenir compte des restrictions en matière de poids en vigueur depuis juin dernier.

Un seul véhicule – le poids ne doit pas excéder 21 tonnes

Un véhicule double – le poids ne doit pas excéder 38 tonnes (camion gros porteur)

Un véhicule triple – le poids ne doit pas excéder 52 tonnes (train de remorque)

Parcs Canada tient à remercier la communauté de sa collaboration et de sa compréhension pendant le projet du pont tournant de Hastings et s’engage à lui communiquer toute nouvelle information dès qu’elle en disposera.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, visitez le www.parcscanada.gc.ca/trent.

Renseignements :
Lauren Dean
Agente des communications
Unité de gestion du Centre de l’Ontario
705-750-4407