Common menu bar links

Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site of Canada

Backgrounder - Government of Canada's Response to the Panel Report on the Future of the Trent-Severn Waterway

Origin of the Trent-Severn Waterway Panel Report

In 2006 MP Bruce Stanton (Simcoe North) presented to Parliament, Private Members Motion M-161. The motion received unanimous consent in the House of Commons resulting in an independent review Panel on the Future of the Trent-Severn Waterway to undertake a comprehensive evaluation of the Waterway's potential reflecting the value of this economic generator in the heartland of Ontario. Public engagement was high with more than 1000 participating in 32 public meetings and more than 150 written briefs.

On April 28, 2008, the Panel on the Future of the Trent-Severn Waterway (TSW) submitted a report to the Minister of the Environment outlining 26 recommendations for the future of the Waterway organized under several themes: Improving the Performance of Governments; Assuring the Future of Our Water; Planning for Future Places to Live and Enjoy; Encouraging the Development of Renewable Energy; Protecting, Presenting, and Enjoying Our Cultural Heritage; and Improving the Condition of Waterway Infrastructure. The Panel report is available at (http://www.tswpanel.ca).

An Overview of the Government of Canada's Response to the TSW Panel Recommendations

The Government of Canada has welcomed the Panel Report and has directed Parks Canada to take a leadership role in working with all stakeholders to bring the substantive recommendations of the panel to fruition. The 26 recommendations in the Panel Report reflect the complexity of the Waterway and Parks Canada has undertaken a thorough analysis of each recommendation.

A number of federal government agencies and departments, Government of Ontario agencies and departments, and municipalities have jurisdiction over aspects of the Waterway - it is indeed a complex web of responsibility. Parks Canada will work collaboratively with jurisdictions and stakeholders, and provide a focal point for the coordination of actions to address improvements in the Waterway corridor and in Trent-Severn Waterway operations.

Where there is shared responsibility, Parks Canada will approach others with an interest in the Waterway. For instance, Parks Canada officials will explore the potential for a Memorandum of Understanding with the Province of Ontario to lay out an approach that specifically addresses areas of common interest, including planning, heritage, tourism, economic development and water management.

Where Parks Canada has direct responsibility the Trent Severn Waterway will undertake specific actions and investments. For example, Parks Canada has upgraded the web site so that the public can have almost real-time access to water level information. Parks Canada is also developing a strategic plan for hydro-electric power generation on the Waterway, and is establishing a dedicated team to manage it.

The Trent-Severn Waterway is a National Historic Site, and part of Canada's historic and cultural fabric. Parks Canada is enhancing its capacity to offer inspiring and educational experiences for Waterway visitors and users, and to work more closely with interested parties to protect, preserve and share the stories and history of the Waterway.

Response to Recommendations in the Panel Report

Improving the Condition of Waterway Infrastructure

The Government of Canada recognizes the need to maintain, repair and replace Waterway infrastructure and has committed $83 million over the next 5 years to invest in infrastructure renewal. This commitment is a first step that assures funding and supports the orderly renewal of infrastructure throughout the Trent-Severn Waterway.

Improving the Performance of Governments

The Government of Canada is supportive of improving communications and coordination among levels of government and Parks Canada will take a leadership role.

Parks Canada will meet with appropriate ministries of the Province of Ontario, municipalities and other stakeholders to explore the development of the recommended collaborative networks, as a means to strengthen communications and coordination. Examples include water management, a heritage network and destination marketing organization (DMO) for the Trent-Severn Watershed.

The Government of Canada understands the need of stakeholders for clarity around jurisdictional issues and is prepared to meet with the Government of Ontario to begin a dialogue. The goal would be to develop a Memorandum of Understanding within six months, setting out areas of collaboration and co-ordination. Specific agreements could set out how jurisdictional responsibilities on a range of matters may be defined and managed into the future. For Waterway residents this would result in more streamlined access to information, approval processes and decision-making.

The Government of Canada supports measures that are designed to cut red tape and streamline services to Canadians. Parks Canada will work with Transport Canada and other stakeholders to improve the Historic Canal Regulations. The goal is to modernize the application to reflect current day requirements and future needs, protect the public interest and enhance the heritage protection capacity of the regulations. As it updates its Guiding Principles and Operating Policies, Parks Canada will ensure provisions for Historic Canals are modified. These changes would reflect the integrated delivery of Parks Canada mandate with a balanced approach that is focused on all visitors.

Assuring the Future of Our Water

Parks Canada will establish an advisory committee that will engage water users in the review of water management policies and provide advice on the issues and shared vision for a balanced approach for water management in the two watersheds. The advisory committee will include organizations that represent the interests of waterfront property owners.

Under the proposed Canada – Ontario MOU, a specific agreement could consider measures for coordinated service delivery and harmonized permitting for the occupancy and use of the bed of the Waterway. Protocols could also be established to define how jurisdictions will work together with the advisory committee to better manage water storage, flows, allocation and use in the two watersheds.

The Lake Simcoe water quality initiative has been a very useful approach for dealing with issues specific to that lake. Working with stakeholders, Parks Canada will use the best practices and what has been learned from Lake Simcoe in addressing other TSW management issues.

The Government of Canada recognizes the importance of making environmental information accessible and understandable for citizens. Parks Canada will take a leadership role in working with federal and provincial government departments and agencies to ensure relevant environmental information is readily accessible to the public to promote stewardship and sustainable resource management. Parks Canada has upgraded its web site to provide public access to near real-time water level information in March 2009.

Planning for Future Places to Live and Enjoy

The Government of Canada supports mechanisms that involve stakeholders in an effort to protect the environment and promote sustainable development. Parks Canada will take the lead with municipalities and other organizations toward fully developing a Planner's Forum as a means of coordination on key issues such as waterfront development.

The Government Canada recognises the need for communities to invest in the most advantageous projects and supports the development of a Heritage Tourism organization as a destination marketing organization for the Trent-Severn Waterway, which can serve as a vehicle for leveraging funding to support key planning and economic investments in communities in the Trent-Severn watersheds.

Encouraging the Development of Renewable Energy

The Government of Canada supports the development of renewable energy on the TSW and will seek to maximize the waterway's full potential through open and competitive processes.

Parks Canada will take steps to determine the overall potential for hydro development on the TSW, while respecting the needs of property owners, and the natural and cultural heritage of the Waterway. Parks Canada will create a strategic plan for the development of hydroelectric power generation on the Trent-Severn Waterway. Parks Canada will establish a dedicated, professional unit to lead hydroelectric development located in Peterborough.

The Government of Canada expects that all licensing agreements with hydro producers will reflect current requirements and contribute to the maintenance, repair and capital investment of the TSW. Parks Canada will assess the full potential for new hydro development projects, and will review existing agreements to ensure that all hydro projects will provide an appropriate return to the Federal Crown. Revenues earned from these new hydro development projects will be re-invested in the Trent-Severn Waterway system.

Protecting, Presenting, and Enjoying Our Cultural Heritage

The Government of Canada recognizes Trent-Severn Waterway's heritage values and is committed to the protection and presentation of the rich, diverse and unique cultural and natural resources in the Trent-Severn watersheds. Parks Canada will work with interested organizations to strengthen public awareness and access to this rich heritage resource.

Parks Canada will work with heritage organizations in the Trent-Severn watersheds to develop a Heritage Network. Public awareness, education and experiences would be important results.

Parks Canada would be supportive of formal recognition of the Trent-Severn watershed as a cultural landscape with the support of all stakeholders.

As part of an Agency-wide initiative, Parks Canada will realign its resources on the TSW to improve the ability to tell the Waterway story and engage visitors, students and residents, and all Canadians in understanding and appreciating this living history resource. Parks Canada is investing in social science capacity, which will position the Agency to better understand and respond to market demands and visitor expectations.

Government of Canada recognizes the need for safe navigation on the Trent-Severn Waterway and the appropriate distribution of navigation aids. Parks Canada has already replaced some of the navigation aids and will further consult stakeholders to ensure safe boating practices by means of additional devices.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn

Fiche d'information - réponse du gouvernement du Canada au rapport de la Commission sur l'avenir de la voie navigable Trent–Severn

Point de départ du rapport de la Commission sur l'avenir de la voie navigable Trent–Severn

En 2006, Bruce Stanton, député de Simcoe-Nord, a présenté au Parlement la motion d'initiative parlementaire M-161, dont l'adoption à l'unanimité par la Chambre des communes a fait en sorte qu'une commission d'examen indépendante sur l'avenir de la voie navigable Trent–Severn s'est vue confier l'évaluation exhaustive du potentiel de la voie navigable, compte tenu de la valeur de ce moteur économique dans le centre de l'Ontario. Le processus a suscité un vif intérêt dans la population : plus de 1000 personnes ont assisté aux 32 assemblées publiques et plus de 150 documents écrits ont été présentés.

Le 28 avril 2008, la Commission sur l'avenir de la voie navigable Trent–Severn a remis au ministre de l'Environnement un rapport contenant 26 recommandations réparties selon les thèmes suivants : Améliorer l'efficacité gouvernementale; Garantir l'avenir de notre eau; Planifier l'aménagement de lieux où il ferait bon vivre; Encourager le développement d'énergies renouvelables; Protéger, mettre en valeur et apprécier notre patrimoine culturel; et Améliorer l'état de l'infrastructure de la voie navigable. Il est possible de consulter le rapport à http://www.tswpanel.ca

Aperçu de la réponse du gouvernement du Canada aux recommandations de la Commission sur l'avenir de la voie navigable Trent–Severn

Le gouvernement du Canada a accueilli favorablement le rapport de la Commission et a demandé à Parcs Canada de coordonner les efforts des divers intervenants aux fins de la mise en œuvre des grandes recommandations. Les 26 recommandations contenues dans le rapport tiennent compte de la complexité de la voie navigable, et Parcs Canada a d'ailleurs entrepris de les analyser en profondeur.

Plusieurs organismes et ministères des gouvernements du Canada et de l'Ontario ainsi que plusieurs municipalités ont compétence sur divers aspects de la voie navigable – la répartition des responsabilités est véritablement complexe. Parcs Canada travaillera en collaboration avec les instances et les intervenants concernés et tiendra lieu de plaque tournante pour la coordination des mesures qui seront prises en vue d'améliorer le corridor et les opérations de la voie navigable Trent–Severn.

Dans les cas où nous partageons des responsabilités, Parcs Canada approchera les autres intervenants ayant des intérêts dans la voie navigable. Par exemple, les représentants de Parcs Canada se pencheront sur la possibilité de conclure un protocole d'entente avec la province de l'Ontario afin de convenir d'une stratégie applicable aux secteurs d'intérêt commun, notamment en matière de planification, de patrimoine, de tourisme, de développement économique et de gestion de l'eau.

Dans les secteurs de responsabilités relevant directement de Parcs Canada, la Voie-Navigable-Trent–Severn prendra l'initiative de mesures et d'investissements concrets. Par exemple, Parcs Canada a modifié le site de sorte que des renseignements sur les niveaux d'eau y sont maintenant mis à jour pratiquement en temps réel, pour le bénéfice du public. De plus, Parcs Canada travaille actuellement à l'élaboration d'un plan stratégique sur la production d'hydroélectricité le long de la voie navigable et à la constitution d'une équipe spéciale pour la gestion de ce plan.

La voie navigable Trent–Severn est un lieu historique national et un élément important du tissu historique et culturel de notre pays. Parcs Canada accroîtra sa capacité d'offrir des expériences inspirantes et éducatives aux visiteurs et aux utilisateurs de la voie navigable, et sa capacité de collaborer avec les parties intéressées dans le but de protéger, de préserver et de partager l'histoire de la voie navigable et les récits qui s'y rapportent.

Réponse aux recommandations formulées dans le rapport de la Commission

Améliorer l'état de l'infrastructure de la voie navigable

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît la nécessité d'entretenir, de réparer et de remplacer l'infrastructure de la voie navigable et s'engage à investir 83 millions de dollars pour le renouvellement de cette infrastructure au cours des cinq prochaines années. Cet engagement constitue un premier pas dans la bonne direction, une première mesure qui concrétise l'affectation de fonds et le soutien nécessaire pour le renouvellement méthodique de l'infrastructure dans l'ensemble de la voie navigable Trent–Severn.

Améliorer l'efficacité gouvernementale

Le gouvernement du Canada désire encourager l'amélioration des communications et de la coordination entre les gouvernements, et Parcs Canada assumera un rôle de leadership à ce chapitre.

Parcs Canada prendra l'initiative de rencontrer les représentants du gouvernement de l'Ontario et des municipalités et les autres intervenants afin d'examiner la possibilité d'établir les réseaux de collaboration qui nous ont été recommandés, et de renforcer ainsi la communication et la coordination. Une option pourrait être de créer un réseau pour la gestion des eaux, un réseau du patrimoine et un organisme de promotion du tourisme pour les bassins hydrographiques des rivières Trent et Severn.

Le gouvernement du Canada comprend que les intervenants souhaitent plus de précision en ce qui a trait aux questions de compétence, et il est disposé à rencontrer le gouvernement de l'Ontario pour amorcer un dialogue. L'objectif serait d'élaborer, dans un horizon de six mois, un protocole d'entente qui préciserait les secteurs de collaboration et de coordination. Par la suite, des ententes particulières pourraient décrire la façon dont les responsabilités juridictionnelles seront définies et gérées dans l'avenir. Pour les personnes habitant à proximité de la voie navigable, cette mesure faciliterait l'accès aux renseignements et aux processus d'approbation et de prise de décision.
Le gouvernement du Canada appuie par ailleurs les mesures visant à réduire le poids des formalités administratives et à améliorer les services offerts aux Canadiens. Parcs Canada travaillera avec Transports Canada et d'autres intervenants afin d'améliorer le Règlement sur les canaux historiques, c'est-à-dire afin d'en moderniser l'application pour tenir compte des besoins actuels et futurs et mieux protéger notre patrimoine et l'intérêt public. Lorsque Parcs Canada mettra à jour ses Principes directeurs et politiques de gestion, il en modifiera les dispositions relatives aux canaux historiques pour témoigner de la réalisation intégrée de son mandat, dans une perspective équilibrée axée sur l'ensemble des visiteurs.

Garantir l'avenir de notre eau

Parcs Canada créera un comité consultatif qui mobilisera les utilisateurs de l'eau aux fins de l'examen des politiques sur la gestion de l'eau et qui formulera des conseils au sujet des problèmes soulevés et d'une vision commune à l'égard d'une stratégie équilibrée pour la gestion de l'eau des deux bassins hydrographiques. Seront représentées au sein de ce comité consultatif les organisations qui défendent les intérêts des propriétaires riverains.

Dans le cadre du protocole d'entente Canada-Ontario, une entente particulière pourrait faire état des mesures à prendre pour la prestation coordonnée des services et l'harmonisation du processus de délivrance de permis aux fins de l'occupation et de l'utilisation du lit de la voie navigable. Des protocoles pourraient également être établis afin de définir la façon dont les diverses instances collaboreront avec le comité consultatif pour améliorer la gestion du stockage, de l'écoulement, de la distribution et de l'utilisation de l'eau des deux bassins hydrographiques.

L'initiative liée à la qualité de l'eau du lac Simcoe s'est révélée fort utile pour la résolution des problèmes propres à ce lac. Parcs Canada approchera les intervenants afin de s'informer des leçons tirées de l'expérience du lac Simcoe, dans le but d'appliquer les meilleures pratiques possibles pour régler les questions liées à la gestion de la voie navigable Trent–Severn.

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît qu'il importe que l'information sur les enjeux environnementaux soit facile à consulter et à comprendre pour le public. Parcs Canada prendra l'initiative de collaborer avec les ministères et les organismes des gouvernements du Canada et de l'Ontario pour que le public puisse accéder rapidement à l'information pertinente sur les enjeux environnementaux, le but étant de favoriser l'intendance et la gestion durable des ressources. Parcs Canada a d'ailleurs modifié son site Web en mars 2009, de sorte que des renseignements sur les niveaux d'eau y sont maintenant mis à jour pratiquement en temps réel, pour le bénéfice du public.

Planifier l'aménagement de lieux où il ferait bon vivre

Le gouvernement du Canada appuie les mécanismes dans lesquels les intervenants sont appelés à participer à la protection de l'environnement et à la promotion du développement durable. Parcs Canada prendra l'initiative, auprès des municipalités et des autres organisations, pour la mise en place, de bout en bout, d'un forum à l'intention des planificateurs qui se voudra un moyen de coordonner les efforts dans des secteurs clés comme l'aménagement des berges.

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît qu'il importe, pour les communautés, d'investir dans les projets les plus avantageux, et il appuie la création d'un organisme de promotion du tourisme patrimonial qui vanterait les attraits de la voie navigable Trent–Severn et qui optimiserait le financement à l'appui des investissements clés visant la planification et le développement économique dans les collectivités situées à l'intérieur des bassins hydrographiques des rivières Trent et Severn.

Encourager le développement d'énergies renouvelables

Le gouvernement du Canada appuie le développement d'énergies renouvelables le long de la voie navigable Trent–Severn et entend utiliser cette voie navigable à son plein potentiel en lançant des processus concurrentiels publics.

Parcs Canada prendra des mesures pour déterminer le potentiel hydroélectrique global de la voie navigable Trent–Severn, sans en négliger le patrimoine naturel et culturel, ni les besoins des propriétaires riverains. Parcs Canada élaborera un plan stratégique sur la production d'électricité le long de la voie navigable Trent–Severn. Parcs Canada formera à Peterborough une unité spéciale de professionnels qui aura pour mandat de diriger la réalisation ordonnée de ces projets hydroélectriques.

Le gouvernement du Canada s'attend à ce que toutes les ententes d'exploitation qui seront conclues avec les producteurs d'hydroélectricité tiendront compte des exigences actuelles et contribueront à l'entretien et à la réparation de la voie navigable Trent–Severn et à l'injection de capitaux à son égard. Parcs Canada évaluera de façon exhaustive nouveaux projets hydroélectriques et passera en revue les ententes d'exploitation en vigueur afin de s'assurer que chacun procure des bénéfices acceptables à la Couronne fédérale. Les revenus tirés de ces nouveaux projets hydroélectriques seront réinvestis dans le réseau de la voie navigable Trent–Severn.

Protéger, mettre en valeur et apprécier notre patrimoine culturel

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît la valeur patrimoniale de la voie navigable Trent–Severn et s'engage à protéger et à faire connaître la richesse, la diversité et la singularité des ressources culturelles et naturelles dans les bassins hydrographiques des rivières Trent et Severn. Parcs Canada travaillera avec les organismes intéressés dans le but de mieux faire connaître cette ressource patrimoniale importante et d'en faciliter l'accès.

Parcs Canada unira ses efforts à ceux des organismes de promotion du patrimoine des bassins hydrographiques des rivières Trent et Severn afin de créer un réseau du patrimoine dont le mandat consistera, entre autres, à favoriser la sensibilisation, l'éducation et la participation accrues du public.

Parcs Canada verrait d'un bon œil la reconnaissance officielle des bassins hydrographiques des rivières Trent et Severn à titre de paysage culturel, dans la mesure où tous les intervenants sont d'accord.

Dans le cadre d'une initiative touchant l'ensemble de l'Agence, Parcs Canada réexaminera les ressources qu'il consacre à la voie navigable Trent–Severn afin d'accroître sa capacité de raconter l'histoire de la voie navigable et de sensibiliser les visiteurs, les étudiants, les résidents et tous les Canadiens pour leur faire comprendre et apprécier cette ressource historique encore bien vivante. Parcs Canada investit actuellement dans ses capacités en sciences sociales, ce qui va lui permettre de mieux comprendre les exigences du marché et les attentes des visiteurs et de mieux y répondre par la suite.

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît la nécessité d'assurer la sécurité de la navigation sur la voie navigable Trent–Severn et la distribution adéquate des aides à la navigation. Parcs Canada a déjà remplacé quelques-unes des aides à la navigation et consultera à nouveau les intervenants afin que soient appliquées des pratiques exemplaires en matière de sécurité nautique, grâce à l'installation de nouveaux dispositifs.