Fort St. Joseph National Historic Site of Canada

History

Why Fort St. Joseph?

Historic Image
Historic Image
© Parks Canada

When the Treaty of Paris was signed in 1783, effectively putting an end to the American Revolution, the Michilimackinac trading post at the entrance to Lake Michigan was awarded to the United States. However, the British kept control of the site until 1796, when it was finally ceded to the Americans.

The British then had to build a new fort. St. Joseph Island was chosen as the site because of its proximity to Fort Mackinac and to the busiest navigation routes.

From a military standpoint, Fort St. Joseph played a defensive role - its primary purpose being to protect the fur trade from the Americans.

Blockhouse
Blockhouse
© Parks Canada
Staff from the British Indian Department were present at the fort to maintain good relations with the Aboriginals.

Construction began on the blockhouse in 1797 and on the other important elements of the fort (palisade, guardhouse, kitchen and storehouse) in the following year. The powder magazine, bakehouse and chimney and blacksmith shop were built later.


War of 1812

As early as 1807, relations between the Americans and the British were growing strained. There were a number of reasons for this, mostly related to the foreign and trade policies of these two countries. Regional issues were also involved, notably control over the Great Lakes and the fur trade routes.

Fort St. Joseph became a rallying point as soon as the United States declared war on Great Britain in June 1812. The garrison commander, Captain Charles Roberts, knew that his fort was vulnerable and decided that his best defence was a good offence. On July 17, leading a force of about 40 regular soldiers, 150 Canadians and 300 Native people, Roberts captured the American fort on Mackinac Island, thereby serving notice to the American garrison that war had been officially declared.

The British garrison and traders abandoned Fort St. Joseph and moved into the American fort.

Later, in 1814, an American expedition burned the abandoned Fort St. Joseph to the ground.

Another historic image
Another historic image
© Parks Canada

After the War

Under the peace treaty signed in December 1814, all territories conquered by the two participants in the war were returned to their previous owners. The British army returned Fort Mackinac to the Americans, but decided not to rebuild Fort St. Joseph. They subsequently established a post on Drummond Island. Buildings that were not burned were moved across the ice to the new site.

Aerial view
Aerial view
© Parks Canada

In the 1920s, the Sault Ste. Marie Historical Society became interested in the ruins of the fort and some work was carried out to stabilize the ruins. After the Second World War, a road was opened to the site, which was developed into a picnic ground.

Because written documents are sometimes insufficient (or can even be misleading), archaeologists play a significant role in piecing together the story of sites such as Fort St. Joseph. Their research requires patience and care because clues are destroyed as work progresses; once a layer of soil has been removed, it cannot be put back.

Archaeologists
Archaeologists
© Parks Canada

During the summers of 1963 and 1964, teams from the University of Toronto conducted systematic preliminary research. No further work was carried out until 1974, when Parks Canada launched a three-year archaeological program.

From this research work (on-site excavations and the study of archives), 21 buildings with excavated cellars and 21 above ground buildings were identified.

Lieu historique national du Canada Fort-St. Joseph

Histoire

Quelle était la raison d'être du fort St. Joseph ?

Image historique
Image historique
© Parcs Canada

En 1783, la signature du traité de Paris mit fin à la révolution américaine et le poste de traite de Michillimakinac, à l'entrée du lac Michigan, fut cédé aux États-Unis. Cependant, les Britanniques restèrent sur les lieux jusqu'en 1796, date à laquelle le poste fut remis aux Américains.

Les Britanniques furent alors forcés de construire un nouveau fort. Ils choisirent l'île St. Joseph parce qu'elle était située à proximité du fort Makinac et des voies navigables les plus achalandées.

Du point de vue militaire, le fort St. Joseph jouait un rôle défensif : sa fonction première était de

Blockhaus
Blockhaus
© Parcs Canada
protéger le commerce des fourrures contre les Américains. La présence du British Indian Department au fort servait en outre à maintenir de bonnes relations avec les Autochtones.

La construction du blockhaus débuta en 1797, celle des autres composantes majeures du fort (palissade, poste de garde, cuisine et entrepôt), l'année suivante. La poudrière, la boulangerie et la cheminée et l'atelier du forgeron seront construits plus tard.


Guerre de 1812

Dès 1807, les relations entre les Américains et les Britanniques devinrent plus tendues. Cette situation était attribuable à plusieurs facteurs et plus particulièrement aux politiques étrangères et commerciales des deux pays. Des enjeux régionaux étaient aussi en cause, notamment le contrôle des Grands Lacs et des voies empruntées pour le commerce des fourrures.

Le fort St. Joseph devint un point de ralliement dès que les États-Unis eurent déclaré la guerre à la Grande-Bretagne, en juin 1812. Conscient de la vulnérabilité du fort, le commandant de la garnison, le capitaine Charles Roberts, jugea que l'offensive était sa meilleure défense. Le 17 juillet, à la tête d'une force regroupant quelque 40 soldats réguliers, 150 Canadiens et 300 Autochtones, Roberts captura le fort américain bâti sur l'île de Makinac, annonçant par le fait même à la garnison américaine que la guerre était officiellement déclarée.

La garnison et les commerçants quittèrent le fort St. Joseph pour s'installer dans le fort américain.

Plus tard, en 1814, une expédition américaine mit le feu au fort abandonné qui fut complètement rasé.

Une autre image historique
Une autre image historique
© Parcs Canada

Après la guerre

En vertu du traité de paix signé en décembre 1814, tous les territoires conquis par les deux belligérants devaient être rendus à leur possesseur. L'armée britannique rendit donc le fort Makinac aux Américains, mais au lieu de reconstruire le fort St. Joseph, elle choisit plutôt d'établir un poste sur l'île Drummond. Les bâtiments qui n'avaient pas été incendiés furent transportés sur la glace jusqu'au nouvel emplacement.

Vue aérienne
Vue aérienne
© Parcs Canada

Dans les années 1920, la Sault Ste. Marie Historical Society se mit à s'intéresser aux ruines du fort. Des travaux furent effectués dans le but de les stabiliser et, après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, une route d'accès fut construite jusqu'au site, aménagé en terrain de pique-nique.

Comme les documents écrits sont parfois incomplets, voire trompeurs, les archéologues jouent un rôle important pour reconstituer l'histoire d'endroits comme le fort St. Joseph. Leur travail exige patience et minutie, car des indices sont détruits à mesure que les fouilles progressent; lorsqu'une couche de sol a été enlevée, elle ne peut plus être remise en place.

Des archéologues
Des archéologues
© Parcs Canada

À l'été de 1963 et 1964, des équipes de l'université de Toronto ont effectué des fouilles préliminaires systématiques sur place. Les travaux ont ensuite été interrompus et ce n'est qu'en 1974 que Parcs Canada a lancé un programme archéologique de trois ans.

Grâce à ces travaux (fouilles et étude d'archives), 21 bâtiments avec cave et 21 structures hors terre ont été identifiés.