Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site of Canada

shoreLINES: Stories from our guides and guardians

Sudbury’s Big Nickel is part of the GeoTour
© Parks Canada

Heritage Hide’n’Seek
By Nicole Cooper & Svenja Hansen

Do you love adventure and the outdoors? Ever heard of geocaching? Parks Canada has just launched its Heritage Hide’n’Seek GeoTour. We’ll have you and your family searching for heritage treasures across Northern Ontario.

Best described as a high-tech treasure hunt, geocaching participants use GPS-enabled devices, such as smartphones, to navigate to a set of coordinates to locate a hidden container, known as a cache. Geocaching is practiced worldwide by over 5 million people, everyone from young families to retired couples. There are more than 2 million geocaches registered online.

Not your typical history lesson, the Heritage Hide’n’Seek GeoTour guides adventurers to locations throughout Northern Ontario to learn about fascinating people, places and events that helped shape our beautiful nation.

The Heritage Hide’n’Seek GeoTour is set up as a game where each cache is assigned a point value depending on the amount of effort required to find it. Locations range from urban, in downtown Thunder Bay and Sault Ste. Marie, to remote, requiring a train journey and boat trip to reach scenic Moose Factory Island. Anyone who collects 100+ points, as a result of finding several of the caches, is eligible to receive a collectible coin from Parks Canada.

Back to shoreLINES

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-de-Sault Ste. Marie

Au fil de L'EAU: Récits de nos guides et gardiens

Le « Big Nickel » de Sudbury fait partie du jeu de cache-cache Patrimoine
© Parcs Canada

Cache-cache Patrimoine
par Nicole Cooper & Svenja Hansen

Aimez-vous l’aventure et le plein air? Avez-vous déjà entendu parler de la géocachette? Parcs Canada est fier d’annoncer le « cache-cache Patrimoine GéoTour »! Nous aiderons vous et votre famille à la recherche de trésors du patrimoine dans le nord de l’Ontario.

La géocachette est mieux décrite comme étant une chasse au trésor à la haute technologie. Les participants se servent d’appareils de localisation GPS, tels que les téléphones intelligents, pour naviguer des coordonnées afin de localiser un conteneur caché, appelé une cache. La géocachette est une activité pratiquée dans le monde entier par plus de 5 millions de personnes, allant de jeunes familles à des couples retraités. Il y a plus de 2 millions géocaches enregistrées en ligne.

Le cache-cache Patrimoine GéoTour … Ce n’est pas une leçon d’histoire typique! L’activité guide les aventuriers partout dans le nord de l’Ontario à mieux connaître les personnes, les lieux et les événements fascinants qui ont façonné notre belle nation.

Le cache-cache Patrimoine GéoTour est configuré comme un jeu, dont chaque cache se voit attribuer une valeur ponctuelle en vertu de l’effort requis pour la trouver. Leur emplacement peut être dans des régions urbaines, soit au centre-ville de Thunder Bay ou de Sault Ste. Marie, tant dans des régions éloignées, nécessitant un voyage en train ou en bateau pour se rendre à l’île de Moose Factory pittoresque. Toute personne qui collecte 100 + points, en retrouvant plusieurs caches, est admissible à recevoir une géopièce du cache-cache patrimoine à collectionner.

au fil de L'EAU