Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site of Canada

shoreLINES: Stories from our guides and guardians

Zach, Joël, Evan and Mark stand outside the Administration Building
© Parks Canada

Student Testimonials
By Evan Currier, Zachary Frair, Joël Muto, and Mark Saari

During the summer of 2012, four talented, creative, and professional young men joined the Parks Canada family at the Sault Ste. Marie Canal. Each brought their own experiences and skill sets to the team, and together they helped make it another successful summer. These are their stories.

Parks Canada provides summer work experience to hundreds of students at national parks, historic sites and marine conservation areas across Canada. To learn more about summer jobs with Parks Canada follow the link.

Evan Currie - I have been fortunate to have worked at the Sault Canal for two summers. During my time here I have learned new things about the history of the canal and the city of Sault Ste. Marie. This job allows me to grow my knowledge and interact with the community. The staff here has taught me the importance of good work ethic and the importance of small tasks. The skills I have gained through my employment with Parks Canada will transfer to any future job. I have thoroughly enjoyed my time here.

Zachary Frair - This was my first summer at the Sault Ste. Marie Canal and it was an extremely positive memorable experience. I am a graphic design student. Parks Canada hired me to work on digital media, assisting with various events at Fort St. Joseph and the Sault. I had the opportunity to work with amazing people and learned a great deal about the history of my home city and the surrounding area. There was always something new going on and never a shortage of tasks. I deeply appreciate the opportunity.

Looking sharp for a heritage tea
© Parks Canada

Joël Muto - Working as a summer student for Parks Canada can only be described as an amazing experience. Throughout my two summers with Parks Canada I developed skills and knowledge essential in any workplace. Alongside friendly and courteous staff, I met and interacted with people of different nationalities and cultures, which really symbolizes the welcoming character of this country. One of the greatest experiences working for Parks Canada was having the opportunity to provide visitors with the history and culture of the canal. Thank you for this great experience!

Mark Saari - 2012 marked my third summer working for Parks Canada at the Sault Ste. Marie Canal. I primarily worked in the Visitor Centre, orienting visitors to the site, handling transactions in the Gift Shop, and provide overall administrative support. My position was also dynamic, allowing me to work on special projects, help colleagues with their assignments, or deliver heritage presentations. I worked with such positive, helpful, and hard working people, and was fortunate to be given many opportunities to use and expand my skills. These valuable experiences will certainly prove useful for my future career. Thank you for all the amazing summers!

Back to shoreLINES

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-de-Sault Ste. Marie

Au fil de L'EAU: Récits de nos guides et gardiens

Zach, Joël, Evan et Mark devant le bâtiment d’administration
© Parcs Canada

Témoignages d'étudiants
par Evan Currier, Zachary Frair, Joël Muto, and Mark Saari

À l’été 2012, quatre jeunes hommes talentueux, créatifs et professionnels se sont joints à l’équipe de Parcs Canada du canal de Sault Ste. Marie. Chacun a apporté sa contribution à l’équipe par ses propres expériences et ses habiletés et, ensemble, ils ont participé à la réussite d’une autre saison estivale. Voici leurs reportages.

Parcs Canada offre des expériences de travail à des centaines d’étudiants dans ses parcs nationaux, ses lieux historiques nationaux et ses aires marines de conservation partout au Canada. Pour vous renseigner sur les emplois d’été à Parcs Canada, cliquez sur le lien.

Evan Currie – J’ai eu la chance de travailler au canal de Sault Ste. Marie pendant deux étés. J’y ai appris plein de choses sur l’histoire du canal et de la ville. Ce travail m’a permis de parfaire mes connaissances et d’interagir avec la collectivité. Les employés m’ont enseigné l’importance de l’éthique au travail et de chacune des petites tâches à faire. Les habiletés que j’ai acquises au sein de l’équipe de Parcs Canada me serviront dans mes emplois futurs. J’ai vraiment adoré mon travail ici.

Zachary Frair – Je viens de passer mon premier été au canal de Sault Ste. Marie, et mon expérience s’est révélée très positive et inoubliable. J’étudie en graphisme. Parcs Canada m’a engagé pour travailler avec les médias numériques et participer à l’organisation de différents événements à Fort-St. Joseph et au canal de Sault Ste. Marie. J’ai eu l’occasion de travailler avec des gens extraordinaires et d’en apprendre beaucoup sur l’histoire de ma ville et de ma région. Il y avait toujours de nouvelles activités, et nous ne manquions jamais de travail. J’ai grandement apprécié cette expérience.

Une belle tenue pour le thé du patrimoine
© Parcs Canada

Joël Muto – Mon emploi d’été à Parcs Canada en tant qu’étudiant peut être résumé ainsi : une incroyable expérience. Au cours de mes deux étés à Parcs Canada, j’ai acquis des compétences et des connaissances essentielles à tout milieu de travail. Parmi le personnel amical et courtois, j’ai rencontré des gens de différentes nationalités et cultures et interagi avec eux, ce qui illustre vraiment la réputation accueillante de ce pays. Une de mes plus belles expériences de travail à Parcs Canada a été d’avoir la possibilité de raconter aux visiteurs l’histoire et la culture du canal. Merci pour cette belle expérience!

Mark Saari – L’été 2012 était mon troisième passé à travailler pour Parcs Canada au canal de Sault Ste. Marie. J’ai principalement travaillé au centre d’accueil où j’orientais les visiteurs, j’effectuais les transactions à la boutique et j’offrais des services généraux de soutien administratif. Mon poste me permettait aussi de travailler à des projets spéciaux, d’aider des collègues à effectuer leurs tâches ou de donner des présentations sur le patrimoine. Les gens avec qui j’ai travaillé étaient positifs, serviables et travaillants, et je me sens privilégié d’avoir eu la possibilité d’utiliser mes habiletés et d’en avoir acquis de nouvelles. Ces expériences inestimables me seront certainement utiles dans ma carrière. Merci pour tous ces étés extraordinaires!

au fil de L'EAU