Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site of Canada

shoreLINES: Stories from our guides and guardians

A large vessel exiting the Canadian lock while others wait to enter
© Parks Canada

ENDURING HERITAGE
By Mark Saari and Jeanette Cowen

This year marks the 100th anniversary of the City of Sault Ste. Marie. The lock, built in 1895, is an enduring part of its heritage. Now, operated by city staff and part of a national historic site managed by Parks Canada, the lock has a fascinating history of which many members of the community are largely unaware.

The early 20th Century was a busy time not only for the City of Sault Ste. Marie, but for the Sault Ste. Marie Canal as well. The Emergency Swing Dam had proven its worth during the accident of 1909, providing the necessary assistance to repair the lock and have it operational again in just 12 days. In addition, a post office had opened in the Administration Building allowing sailors passing through to send and receive mail. By 1912, the Canal had also begun an extensive beautification project, the results of which can still be enjoyed by visitors today.

The role of the Canal in Sault Ste. Marie in the early 1900s had both economic and social dimensions. Superintendent at the time, J.W. LeBreton Ross, promoted community involvement, acting as president of the local historical and horticultural societies. He was a frequent speaker at public occasions, and an established authority on the history of the area. His residence, the beautiful red sandstone house with the decorative veranda, was considered the social hub of Sault Ste. Marie.

Taking a leisurely walk along the Sault Ste. Marie Canal in early 1900s
© Parks Canada

When Sault Ste. Marie officially became a city in 1912, freight traffic through the lock was nearing its peak, and the average size of vessel being locked through the Sault Ste. Marie Canal exceeded 3000 tons. The following year the Sault Ste. Marie Canal became the busiest canal in the world, surpassing the Suez Canal with 42.7 million tons of cargo locking through!

The Sault Ste. Marie Canal was instrumental in establishing the city as a continental corridor for transportation, serving as the final link in an all Canadian waterway—stretching more than 3500 kilometres in length. Many of the labourers who arrived from afar to assist in the construction of the lock remained in the city to form the basis of a growing population. Today, locals and visitors can still view boats passing through the small recreational lock, built within the original lock chamber in 1998. Picnics may be enjoyed surrounded by century-old trees and historic buildings. The Sault Ste. Marie Canal was, and remains, an integral component of our city’s 100-year history.

Back to shoreLINES

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-de-Sault Ste. Marie

Au fil de L'EAU: Récits de nos guides et gardiens

Un gros navire sort de l’écluse canadienne pendant que d’autres bateaux attendent pour entrer
© Parcs Canada

UN PATRIMOINE QUI RÉSISTE À L’ÉPREUVE DU TEMPS
par Mark Saari et Jeanette Cowen

Cette année marque le 100e anniversaire de la ville de Sault Ste. Marie. L’écluse, qui a été construite en 1895, est un élément de son patrimoine qui résiste à l’épreuve du temps. Aujourd’hui, elle fait partie d’un lieu historique national géré par Parcs Canada, et son fonctionnement est assuré par des employés de la ville. Cette écluse a une histoire fascinante qui est, pour l’essentiel, inconnue de beaucoup de membres de la communauté.

Le début du XXe siècle est une époque de grande activité non seulement pour la ville de Sault Ste. Marie, mais aussi pour son canal. Le barrage tournant de secours démontre son utilité durant l’accident de 1909 en permettant la réparation de l’écluse et sa remise en fonction en seulement 12 jours. Un bureau de poste ouvre ses portes dans le bâtiment d’administration, ce qui permet aux marins de passage d’envoyer et de recevoir du courrier. En 1912, le canal fait l’objet d’un vaste projet d’embellissement dont les résultats peuvent encore être appréciés de nos jours par les visiteurs.

Le rôle du canal de Sault Ste. Marie au début des années 1900 comporte des aspects à la fois économiques et sociaux. Le surintendant de l’époque, J.W. LeBreton Ross, qui est aussi président des sociétés historiques et d’horticulture locales, encourage la participation de la communauté. Ce spécialiste reconnu de l’histoire locale prononce souvent des allocutions dans le cadre d’événements publics. Sa résidence, une magnifique maison en grès rouge ornée d’une véranda, est considérée comme un carrefour de la vie sociale à Sault Ste. Marie.

Promedade détendue le long du canal de Sault Ste. Marie Canal, au début des années 1900
© Parcs Canada

Lorsque Sault Ste. Marie devient officiellement une ville en 1912, la circulation des marchandises le long de l’écluse est presque à son comble, et la capacité de chargement moyenne des bateaux qui y transitent dépasse 3 000 tonnes. L’année suivante, le canal devient le plus achalandé du monde, surpassant celui de Suez, avec ses 42,7 millions de tonnes de marchandises transitées!

Le canal de Sault Ste. Marie Canal a été déterminant dans l’établissement de la ville comme corridor de transport transcontinental. S’étendant sur plus de 3 500 km, il sera le dernier tronçon de la voie navigable entièrement canadienne. Parmi les travailleurs venus de loin pour participer à la construction de l’écluse, beaucoup resteront dans la ville pour former la base d’une population en pleine expansion. Aujourd’hui encore, les habitants locaux et les visiteurs peuvent voir les bateaux traverser la petite écluse récréative, qui a été construite dans le premier sas de l’écluse en 1998. Ils peuvent aussi faire des pique-niques dans les environs, entourés d’arbres centenaires et de bâtiments historiques. Le canal de Sault Ste. Marie a été et demeure une partie intégrante de l’histoire de notre ville, qui célèbre cette année son 100e anniversaire.

au fil de L'EAU