Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site

Partnering with the Sault Ste. Marie Canal

The Corporation of the City of Sault Ste. Marie

Corporation of the City of Sault Ste. Marie

The City of Sault Ste. Marie, population 75,000, is located along the St. Mary's River through which Lake Superior flows into Lake Huron. Due to its strategic location Sault Ste. Marie has historically been and continues to be a gathering place. A modern lock, installed inside the historic canal, was opened to recreational and tour boat traffic in 1998 close to the City's downtown core. Parks Canada and the City of Sault Ste. Marie are proud to collaborate on the operation and maintenance of the recreational lock at the Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site. Training on the site's history, recording of visitation statistics and knowledge sharing regarding maintenance and mechanical operations are conducted jointly by the City and Parks Canada. As a result of this collaborative arrangement, residents and visitors benefit from the opportunity to see history in action.



Sault Ste. Marie Horticultural Society

The Sault Ste. Marie Horticultural & Garden Society first began in 1908. It was incorporated in 1926 under the Agricultural and Horticultural Organizations Act and society members are committed to sharing their resources and expertise to promote horticultural practices in all forms. J.W. LeBreton-Ross, Superintendent of the Sault Canal from 1907 to 1936, was president of the Sault Ste. Marie Horticultural Society and instrumental in transforming the Canal property into the park-like setting it is today – with mature trees and flowerbeds throughout. The Horticultural Society and Parks Canada are pleased to be working together to beautify the Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site, offer opportunities to learn about gardening and become inspired to reconnect with the nature and history of the site through gardening.


Friends of the Fort and Canal

The Friends of the Fort and Canal is a not-for-profit incorporated Cooperating Association. In June 2011, the Friends of the Sault Ste. Marie Canal was revived, the original cooperating association had been active for a number of years and dormant for nine years. The new Friends of the Fort and Canal are committed to enhancing and complementing Parks Canada’s interpretive, educational and research programs at Fort St. Joseph National Historic Site and Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site. The Friends and Parks Canada look forward to developing and implementing programs which encourage community involvement and public awareness, understanding and appreciation of both sites’ historical importance to the Algoma region.


Contact Us!

Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Sault Ste. Marie

Partenariat avec le Canal-de-Sault Ste. Marie


La Corporation de la ville de Sault Ste. Marie (anglais seulement)

La ville de Sault Ste. Marie, avec une population de 75 000 habitants, est située le long de la rivière St. Mary's, point de rencontre des lacs Supérieur et Huron. Grâce à son emplacement stratégique, Sault Ste. Marie a historiquement été, et continue à être, un lieu de rassemblement. En 1998, une écluse moderne a été installée à l'intérieur de l'écluse historique. Elle accueille depuis plaisanciers récréatifs et bateaux d'excursions près du coeur du centre-ville. L'Agence Parcs Canada et la ville de Sault Ste. Marie sont fières de collaborer à l'exploitation et à l'entretien de l'écluse récréative du lieu historique national du Canal-de-Sault Ste. Marie. Elles travaillent de concert afin d'offrir des renseignements sur l'histoire du lieu, de compiler des statistiques sur sa fréquentation et de partager des renseignements sur les travaux mécaniques et d'entretien nécessaires. De par cette collaboration, les résidents et les visiteurs ont la chance de voir l'histoire en action.



Sault Ste. Marie Horticultural Society (en anglais seulement)

La Sault Ste. Marie Horticultural Society a été fondée en 1908 et constituée en société en 1926 en vertu de la Loi sur les organisations agricoles et horticoles. Ses membres s’engagent à partager leurs ressources et leur expertise en vue de promouvoir une variété de pratiques horticoles. J.W Lebreton-Ross, directeur du canal de Sault Ste. Marie de 1907 à 1936, a été président de la Sault Ste. Marie Horticultural Society et a joué un rôle décisif dans la transformation de la propriété du canal en ce parc d’arbres matures et de fleurs que l’on connaît aujourd’hui. La Horticultural Society et Parcs Canada sont fiers d’unir leurs efforts afin d’embellir le lieu historique national du Canal-de-Sault Ste. Marie et d’offrir aux visiteurs l’occasion d’en apprendre davantage sur le jardinage tout en renouant avec la nature et l’histoire du site en pratiquant l’horticulture.


Les Amis du fort et du canal

Les Amis du fort et du canal est une association coopérante à but non lucratif constituée en société. En juin 2011, les Amis du Canal-de-Sault Ste. Marie a été remis sur pied; l’association coopérante d’origine avait fonctionné pendant cinq ans puis avait cessé ses activités pendant neuf ans. La nouvelle association, les Amis du fort et du canal, s’engage à améliorer et à enrichir les programmes d’interprétation, d’éducation et de recherche de Parcs Canada au lieu historique national du Fort-St. Joseph et au lieu historique national du Canal-de-Sault Ste. Marie. L’association et Parcs Canada espèrent pouvoir créer et mettre en œuvre des programmes qui favoriseront la participation de la collectivité ainsi que la sensibilisation, la compréhension et l’appréciation du public à l’égard de l’importance historique des deux lieux pour la région d’Algoma.

Contactez-nous