Common menu bar links

Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site of Canada

Site Guidelines for Rental of Superintendent’s Residence Grounds

Forms:

General:

Applicants are solely responsible to ensure that these guidelines are followed by themselves and all of the participants at their event.

Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site of Canada will remain open to the Public during your event and you should therefore be aware that there is no guarantee of privacy for your event/ceremony.

It is strongly recommended that you book an appointment to tour the grounds you’ll be renting with a Parks Canada staff the day prior to your event. This will give you the opportunity to identify any areas of concern prior to your event. This will also allow time for Parks Canada to rectify any issues and record the condition of the grounds prior to your event.

Site condition:

The site must be left in the same condition that it was in prior to your event. Please ensure all litter is disposed of in appropriate receptacles and remove all event related items.

Visitors must respect the historic and natural integrity of the site and refrain from picking flowers, or causing any damage to the grounds and buildings.

Absolutely no confetti, rice or other such decorative items are permitted on site.

Special Occasion Permit (if serving alcohol):

You will be required to apply for a special occasion permit a minimum of 30 days prior to your event. Applications can be submitted to any area L.C.B.O. location. Please refer to the Special Occasion Permit application for requirements or visit the Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario website at: www.agco.on.ca . It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure all applicable laws and regulations are followed. We will provide you with a detailed sketch you will need to meet some of the requirements. A copy of the appropriate Special Occasion Permit must be provided to the Administration Office a minimum of two weeks prior to the event. Absolutely no alcohol is to be brought into the Superintendent’s Residence.

Food:

All food at the event must be prepared off site. Electrical power will be available near the greenhouse to plug in buffet tables, coolers etc… Absolutely no food is to be brought into the Superintendent’s Residence.

A temporary food premises permit is required if food is being served to members of the public. These permits are available free of charge through the Algoma Public Health office, 6th Floor Civic Centre, 99 Foster Drive, Sault Ste. Marie. General Inquiries: 705-759-5287 – www.algomapublichealth.com

Equipment:

Applicant must supply all necessary equipment such as tables, chairs, etc. from individual companies. The Sault Ste. Marie Canal regrets that we are unable to store equipment on site before or after the event. All set up must occur on the day of the event and all equipment brought on site must be removed no later than 11 am the following day. Parks Canada will not be responsible for theft and/or damage to any of the applicant’s equipment left on site overnight.

Tents:

We have a designated area on the west side of the greenhouse for tents requiring tent pegs to be inserted into the ground. Please refer to Schedule 2 for exact location. The maximum size of tent that can be erected is 12.2m (40’) X 18.3 m (60’).

Tents not requiring pegs to go into the ground may be used in other areas but must be discussed with Parks Canada staff and pre-approved.

Deliveries:

It is mandatory for the applicant or their representative be present to accept any and all deliveries associated with event. Parks Canada will not accept responsibility for any deliveries.

Delivery vehicles are not to drive onto grass – they must remain in the driveway of the Superintendent’s Residence.

All materials, and equipment must be removed from the site by 11 am the day following the event.

Parking:

It is recommended that the driveway of the Superintendent’s Residence be reserved for photographers, bride and groom and bridal party and that all other guests use designated public parking areas. Please refer to Schedule A for parking areas.

In order that the event have as little effect as possible on regular site traffic, the applicant shall ensure that all participants in the event are aware that they are to not obstruct the roadways. If there is a lack of parking for your event in the areas indicated, additional parking lots are available east of the Superintendent’s Residence.

Inclement weather:

We recommend that you have an alternate plan in the event of inclement weather. We regret that we do not have a facility large enough available for such instances.

Liability Insurance:

Special Event Liability Insurance in the amount of two million dollars is required. A copy of this certificate must be submitted to the Administration Office a minimum of two weeks prior to the event.

Wildlife:

Applicants are responsible to ensure that none of their guests feed the wildlife on site.

Garbage:

All garbage must be disposed of in receptacles provided. Any garbage in excess of capacity of receptacles must be removed from the site following your event.

Fees:

Administration fee is non-refundable and must be paid to secure your date. The remaining balance, including damage deposit, must be paid in full a minimum of two weeks prior to event.

Damage deposit will be refunded if the site is left in the same condition as upon arrival. Site will be inspected following your event. Any required clean-up done by Parks Canada staff or by third party will be charged to the applicant.

Cancellations - A minimum 10 day written notice is required for cancellations. Upon receipt of written notice, all monies paid, minus the administration fee, will be refunded to applicant. Refunds will be issued according to method of payment. Depending on method of payment used, the applicant may be required to provide their social insurance number in order for a cheque to be issued. If payment was received by credit card, the credit card will be needed to issue a refund.

Refunds – When situations arise that are beyond anyone’s control, all monies paid will be refunded minus the administration fee. These situations will be handled on a case by case basis. The Site Manager reserves the right to approve or deny refunds.

Security Fees Per hour grounds rental fee applies to hours of event only, not set up and tear down time. It is mandatory to have security present during set up and tear down the day of your event. This is at a cost of $30 per hour. You also have the option to pay for security to remain present overnight if you are leaving items on site to be picked up the following morning.

Rehearsals:

The grounds may be booked for one hour for the purpose of a rehearsal if the grounds are not otherwise rented. If the applicants would like access to the Superintendent’s Residence for the use of washrooms, a minimum $60 security fee will apply. Every additional hour will be $30/hour.

Payments can be made by cash, Debit, Visa, Mastercard, and American Express. Cheques will be accepted with appropriate government approved photo identification. All cheques should be made payable to: Receiver General for Canada


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal de Sault Ste. Marie

Lignes directrices du lieu pour la location des terrains de la résidence du directeur

Forms:

Général

L’auteur de la demande est responsable de s’assurer qu’il respecte les présentes lignes directrices et que toutes les personnes participant à son événement font de même.

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Canal de Sault Ste. Marie demeurera ouvert au public pendant votre événement. En conséquence, rien ne garantit que votre événement ou votre cérémonie puisse se dérouler en privé.

Nous vous recommandons fortement de prendre un rendez vous pour visiter les lieux que vous louerez avec un employé de Parcs Canada la veille de votre événement. Ainsi, vous pourrez repérer les endroits qui pourraient poser problème avant le grand jour. Cela permettra aussi à Parcs Canada de rectifier tout problème relevé et de noter l’état des lieux avant l’événement.

État des lieux

Vous devez laisser les lieux dans le même état qu’ils se trouvaient avant votre événement. Assurez vous de disposer des déchets dans les contenants appropriés et de retirer tous les objets ayant trait à votre événement.

Les visiteurs doivent respecter l’intégrité historique et naturelle du lieu et éviter de cueillir des fleurs ou de causer des dommages aux terrains et aux bâtiments.

Les confettis, le riz et les autres objets décoratifs similaires sont interdits.

Permis de circonstance (si vous servez de l’alcool)

Vous devez présenter une demande de permis de circonstance au moins 30 jours avant votre événement. Les demandes peuvent être présentées à n’importe quelle succursale de la L.C.B.O. de la région. Consultez le formulaire de demande de permis de circonstance pour connaître les exigences ou visitez le site Web de la Commission des alcools et des jeux de l’Ontario : www.agco.on.ca. Il incombe à l’auteur de la demande de s’assurer qu’il respecte toutes les lois et tous les règlements applicables. Nous vous fournirons le croquis détaillé dont vous aurez besoin pour satisfaire à certaines exigences. Vous devez fournir une copie du permis de circonstance approprié à l’édifice administratif au moins deux semaines avant votre événement. La consommation d’alcool est strictement interdite dans la résidence du directeur.

Nourriture

La nourriture servie lors de l’événement doit être préparée à l’extérieur du lieu. Des prises électriques seront mises à votre disposition près de la serre et vous pourrez y brancher des tables à buffet, des glacières, etc. La nourriture est strictement interdite dans la résidence du directeur.

Il vous faut obtenir un permis de service temporaire d’alimentation si vous désirez servir de la nourriture à des membres du public. Vous pouvez obtenir gratuitement ce permis auprès de Santé publique Algoma, au 6e étage du Civic Centre, 99, promenade Foster, à Sault Ste. Marie. Renseignements généraux : 705 759 5287; www.algomapublichealth.com.

Équipement

Vous devez trouver tout l’équipement dont vous aurez besoin, tel que les tables et les chaises, auprès d’entreprises individuelles. Nous ne pouvons malheureusement pas entreposer de matériel sur les lieux avant ou après l’événement. Toute l’installation nécessaire doit se faire le jour de l’événement et aucun équipement ne doit demeurer sur les lieux après 11 h le lendemain. Parcs Canada ne peut être tenu responsable en cas de vol ou de dommage si l’équipement demeure sur place pendant la nuit.

Tentes

Une zone est désignée sur le côté ouest de la serre pour les tentes dont les poteaux doivent être insérés dans le sol. Consultez l’annexe 2 pour en connaître l’emplacement exact. La taille des tentes érigées ne doit pas dépasser 12,2 m (40’) sur 18,3 m (60’).

Les autres types de tentes peuvent être installés ailleurs sur le terrain, mais doivent faire l’objet de discussions avec le personnel de Parcs Canada et être approuvés par celui ci.

Livraison

L’auteur de la demande ou son représentant doit obligatoirement être présent pour accepter les livraisons associées à l’événement. Parcs Canada n’acceptera pas la responsabilité de ces livraisons.

Les véhicules de livraison ne doivent pas circuler sur la pelouse. Ils doivent demeurer dans l’entrée de la résidence du directeur.

Tout le matériel et l’équipement doivent être enlevés des lieux avant 11 h le lendemain de l’événement.

Stationnement

Nous vous recommandons de réserver l’entrée de la résidence du directeur pour les véhicules des photographes, des mariés ainsi que des demoiselles et garçons d’honneur. Tous les autres invités pourront stationner dans les aires publiques désignées à cet effet. Consultez l’annexe 2 pour connaître les aires de stationnement.

Afin que l’événement ait le moins d’incidence possible sur la circulation normale du lieu, vous devez vous assurer que les participants n’obstruent pas les routes. Si les espaces de stationnement indiqués sont insuffisants, vous pouvez utiliser ceux qui se trouvent à l’est de la résidence du directeur.

Météo défavorable

Nous vous recommandons de prévoir un plan de rechange en cas de météo défavorable. Nous ne disposons pas d’installations suffisamment grandes pour accueillir des groupes.

Assurance de la responsabilité civile

Vous devez vous doter d’une assurance de la responsabilité civile pour événement spécial d’une valeur de deux millions de dollars. Une copie du certificat d’assurance doit être remise à l’édifice administratif au moins deux semaines avant l’événement.

Animaux sauvages

Il incombe à l’auteur de la demande de s’assurer qu’aucun de ses invités ne nourrit les animaux sauvages présents sur les lieux.

Déchets

Tous les déchets doivent être jetés dans les contenants fournis. Si les contenants ne suffisent pas, vous devez ramasser les déchets restants après votre événement.

Frais

Les frais d’administration ne sont pas remboursables et doivent être payés pour réserver votre date. Le montant restant, y compris le dépôt en cas de dommages, doit être déboursé en entier au moins deux semaines avant l’événement.

Le dépôt en cas de dommages vous sera remboursé si vous laissez les lieux dans le même état qu’ils étaient à votre arrivée. Les lieux seront inspectés après votre événement. Si le personnel de Parcs Canada ou une tierce partie doit effectuer des activités de nettoyage, celles ci vous seront facturées.

Annulations – Vous devez fournir un avis écrit au moins 10 jours à l’avance pour annuler votre réservation. Lorsque nous recevrons votre avis écrit, toutes les sommes déboursées, sauf les frais d’administration, vous seront remboursées selon la méthode de paiement originale. Il se pourrait que vous deviez nous fournir votre numéro d’assurance sociale pour qu’un chèque soit émis à votre nom. Si le paiement s’est fait par carte de crédit, vous devrez nous présenter cette dernière pour que nous procédions au remboursement.

Remboursements – Lorsque des situations échappant à tout contrôle se produisent, toutes les sommes déboursées sont remboursées à l’exception des frais d’administration. Ces situations sont gérées au cas par cas. Le gestionnaire du lieu se réserve le droit d’approuver ou de refuser le remboursement.

Frais de sécurité – Les frais de location horaires s’appliquent seulement aux heures pendant lesquelles se déroule l’événement, et non pendant l’installation et la désinstallation. Vous devez obligatoirement prévoir du personnel de sécurité pour l’installation et la désinstallation le jour de votre événement, au coût de 30 $ l’heure. Vous pouvez également payer pour que le personnel de sécurité demeure sur place pendant la nuit si vous prévoyez laisser des objets qui seront ramassés le lendemain matin.

Répétitions

Vous pouvez louer le terrain pendant une heure afin d’y tenir une répétition, à condition qu’il ne soit pas déjà réservé. Si vous désirez avoir accès à la résidence du directeur pour utiliser les toilettes, vous devrez débourser des frais de sécurité d’au moins 60 $, auxquels s’ajoutent des frais de 30 $ pour chaque heure additionnelle.

Le paiement peut être fait en argent comptant, par carte de débit ou par carte de crédit (Visa, Mastercard ou American Express). Les chèques sont acceptés sur présentation d’une carte d’identité avec photo approuvée par le gouvernement. Les chèques doivent être faits à l’ordre du Receveur général du Canada.


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).