Common menu bar links

Rideau Canal National Historic Site of Canada

Hours of Operation
Boats at Davis Lockstation
© Parks Canada

2015 Hours of Operation

May 15 to June 18
Monday to Thursday
10:00am – 4:00pm
Friday to Sunday; and Victoria Day
9:00am – 7:00pm

June 19 to Sept 7
Monday to Thursday
9:00am – 6:00pm
Friday to Sunday; and Canada Day, August Civic Holiday and Labour Day
9:00am – 7:00pm

Sept 8 to Oct 12
Monday to Friday
10:00am – 4:00pm
Saturday - Sunday; and Thanksgiving
9:00am – 5:00pm

* Beveridges lockstation will also provide a full upon arrival service for the entire season and will operate under the same hours as the rest of the Rideau Canal.

NOTE: Lockstations are unstaffed after hours. Authorized visitors are asked to exercise caution. Unpermitted access to lockstations is prohibited between 10pm and 6am. For emergencies after hours, please call 911 for police, fire, ambulance. To report illegal harvesting of fish or wildlife, please call the Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry TIPS line at 1-877-TIPS-MNR (847-7667).

LAST LOCKAGE – IMPORTANT!

Follow these guidelines to maximize chances of being locked through at the end of the day:
  • At lockstations with one lock, boaters must arrive at the designated blue line 30 minutes before closing. At lockstations with more than one lock, 30 minutes per lock chamber is required. (i.e. three locks, arrive 90 minutes before closing).
  • At swing bridges, including Brass Point Bridge, boaters must arrive 20 minutes before closing.

Tips for a Successful Journey

  • New to Boating? Talk to our friendly lock staff for tips and information on locking through safely. Have fun!
  • Station opening and closing times, as well as first and last lockage, are not guaranteed and may be affected by water management duties, maintenance activities or other types of navigation interruptions.
  • Seasonal overnight mooring permits are also valid for use at Thousand Islands National Park, Georgian Bay Islands National Park and Fathom Five National Marine Conservation Area (boaters using a campsite must also pay a camping fee)

Maximum Overnight Mooring Period

  • 2 Nights - All lockstations
Note: Overnight Mooring passes include one free camp site.

Nautical Charts

Rideau Canal navigation charts 1512 (Ottawa-Smiths Falls) and 1513 (Smiths Falls to Kingston) are sold at several lockstations.

Pretoria and Hog’s Back bridges

Pretoria and Hog’s Back bridges will not operate Monday to Friday (except on statutory holidays) from 12:30 pm - 1:15 pm and 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm.

Abbott Street Swing Bridge (Smiths Falls Detached Lock)

At Smiths Falls Detached Lock, the bridge will operate upon arrival throughout the navigation season, except from June 23 to August 15, when the bridge will swing Monday to Friday at 9:30 am, 10:15 am, 11:00 am and 11:45 am. Bridge swings return to upon arrival at 1:00 pm.

Note: Boat wake, wash and excessive speeds are major concerns along the Rideau Canal. Please drive at a safe speed and keep boat wake and wash to a minimum, especially when approaching smaller vessels, canoes and kayaks.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau

Heures d'ouverture
Des bateaux au poste d'éclusage Davis
© Parcs Canada

Heures d'ouverture - 2015

Du 15 mai au 18 juin
Du lundi au jeudi
De 10 h à 16 h
Du vendredi au dimanche; fête de la Reine
De 9 h à 19 h

Du 19 juin au 7 septembre
Du lundi au jeudi
De 9 h à 18 h
Du vendredi au dimanche; fête du Canada, congé municipal du mois d’août et fête du Travail
De 9 h à 19 h

Du 8 septembre au 12 octobre
Du lundi au vendredi
De 10 h à 16 h
Samedi - dimanche; Action de grâces
De 9 h à 17 h

*Le poste d'éclusage Beveridges fournira également un service d'éclusage à l'arrivé pour la saison entière et sera ouvert les mêmes heures que le reste du canal Rideau.

NOTEZ : Les postes d'éclusage sont sans personnel après les heures d’ouverture. Les visiteurs autorisés sont priés de se servir des lieus avec prudence. L'accès non-autorisé aux postes d'éclusage est interdit entre 22 h et 6 h. En cas d'urgence après les heures d’ouverture, s'il vous plaît appelez le 911 pour la police, pompiers, ambulance. Pour signaler la récolte illégale de poissons ou de faune, s'il vous plaît communiquer avec le Ministère des richesses naturelles et des forêts au 1-877-TIPS-MNR (847-7667).

DERNIER ÉCLUSAGE - IMPORTANT!

Pour augmenter vos chances de pouvoir profiter du dernier éclusage de la journée, veuillez suivre les lignes directrices suivantes :
  • Aux postes d’éclusage ne comptant qu’un sas, toutes les embarcations doivent arriver dans la ligne bleue désignée 30 minutes avant la fermeture. Aux postes d’éclusage comptant plus d’un sas, prévoyez 30 minutes par sas (ex : s’il y a trois sas, arrivez 90 minutes avant la fermeture).
  • Aux ponts tournants, y compris le pont Brass Point, arrivez 20 minutes avant la fermeture.

Conseils pour un voyage réussi

  • Première visite? Parlez à notre personnel d'écluse pour des conseils et des informations qui vous aideront à écluser en toute sécurité. Amusez-vous!
  • Les heures d’ouverture des postes d’éclusage de même que l’horaire du premier et du dernier éclusage ne sont pas garantis et peuvent être modifiés à cause des tâches du personnel liées à la sécurité de la navigation.
  • Les permis d’amarrage de nuit pour la saison sont également valides aux parcs nationaux des Mille-Îles et des Îles-de-la-Baie-Georgienne, et au parc marin national Fathom Five (tout plaisancier occupant un emplacement de camping doit également obtenir un permis de camping).

Durée maximale de l’amarrage de nuit

  • 2 nuits - toutes les postes d’éclusesage
Note : Un permis d'amarrage de nuit comprend un site de camp gratuitement.

Cartes hydrographiques

Les cartes hydrographiques pour le canal Rideau, 1512 (Ottawa à Smiths Falls) et 1513 (Smiths Falls à Kingston) sont à vendre à plusieurs postes d'éclusage.".

Ponts de Pretoria et de Hog’s Back

Hormis les jours fériés, les ponts de Pretoria et de Hog’s Back ne fonctionnent pas du lundi au vendredi, de 12 h 30 à 13 h 15 et de 16 h à 17 h 30.

Pont tournant de la rue Abbott (écluse détachée de Smiths Falls)

Le pont de l’écluse détachée de Smiths Falls sera actionné sur demande pendant toute la saison de navigation, sauf du 23 juin au 15 août inclusivement. Durant cette période, le pont sera tourné du lundi au vendredi aux heures suivantes : 9 h 30, 10 h 15, 11 h et 11 h 45. Le pont sera actionné sur demande à partir de 13 h.

Note : Le sillage, le remous et conduite imprudente constituent des problèmes majeurs sur le canal Rideau. Veuillez conduire à une vitesse prudente et contrôler le sillage de manière à éviter de compromettre votre sécurité ainsi que celle des autres plaisanciers. Portez aussi une attention spéciale aux petites embarcations comme les canots et les kayaks.