Rideau Canal National Historic Site of Canada

Planners Technical Advisory Group - Terms of Reference

Background

In September 2009, a Governance Model for the Rideau Corridor Landscape Strategy (the Strategy) was developed by Rideau Corridor municipal staff and elected officials, the Algonquins of Ontario, Parks Canada, the National Capital Commission, the Rideau Valley Conservation Authority and the Cataraqui Region Conservation Authority. A Planners Technical Advisory Group was identified as part of the Governance Model and in June 2010, this group was formed and endorsed by the Strategy Steering Committee.

Mission Statement for the Planners Group

To provide the Steering Committee with the technical advice required to assist with the achievement of Strategy Goals and Anticipated Outcomes of the Steering Committee (outlined in the Steering Committee Terms of Reference).

Composition and Membership

Membership for the Planners Group is representative of each Municipality and County along the Rideau Corridor and other parties with an influence on planning and development along the Corridor. Most members play a planning role in their respective organizations which enabled a simple method for selecting the appropriate players for the Planners Group. A full list of represented organizations is included below.

  • Tay Valley Township
  • Municipality of North Grenville
  • Town of Smiths Falls
  • Township of Rideau Lakes
  • Township of Montague
  • Lanark County
  • Town of Perth
  • United Counties of Leeds and Grenville
  • City of Ottawa
  • City of Kingston
  • Township of Drummond North Elmsley
  • Township of South Frontenac
  • Village of Merrickville-Wolford
  • Cataraqui Region Conservation Authority
  • Village of Westport
  • Parks Canada
  • Rideau Valley Conservation Authority
  • Province of Ontario: Municipal Affairs and Housing
  • Frontenac County

A chair and alternate chair shall be selected from within the members of the Planners Technical Advisory Group. The term shall be determined by the Group. The chair and/or alternate chair shall report to the Steering Committee as required.

Roles of the Planners Group

The Planners Group will:

  • Provide technical advice to the Steering Committee as required.
  • Ensure timely communications with the Steering Committee regarding progress, opportunities or issues with their RCLS work. The Chair will act as the communications link between the Planners Group and the Steering Committee.
  • Make decisions on recommendations to the Steering Committee through simple voting.
  • Ensure their respective organizations are kept informed about Strategy progress.
  • Act as ambassadors to the Strategy by communicating goals/objective/progress on the Strategy.
  • Provide the necessary administration for the group to function effectively: convene meetings when appropriate, organize meeting venues, set agendas, keep meeting records.

Responsibilities of the Steering Committee

The Steering Committee will:

  • Guide the progress of the Planners Group by giving clear and concise direction on what work or information is required.
  • Provide adequate and timely feedback on any work produced or questions raised by the Planners Group.

Meetings

Meetings will be held as determined by the Chair or the group. Meeting locations will be decided on a case by case basis and any associated costs will be shared by organizations represented in the Planners Group.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau

Groupe consultatif technique des planificateurs - Cadre de référence

Contexte

En septembre 2009, le personnel et les élus des administrations des municipalités du corridor, les Algonquins de l’Ontario, Parcs Canada, la Commission de la capitale nationale, l’Office de protection de la nature de la vallée Rideau et l’Office de protection de la nature de la région de Cataraqui ont collaboré à l’élaboration d’un modèle de gouvernance pour la Stratégie d’aménagement du corridor Rideau (ci-après appelée « la Stratégie »). Dans ce modèle de gouvernance, il était question de la création d’un groupe consultatif technique des planificateurs; en juin 2010, le comité directeur de la Stratégie a constitué et approuvé ce groupe.

Énoncé de mission du groupe des planificateurs

Fournir au comité directeur les conseils techniques dont il a besoin pour obtenir les résultats attendus et pour que les objectifs de la stratégie soient atteints (les résultats et les objectifs sont décrits dans le cadre de référence du comité directeur).

Composition du comité

Le groupe des planificateurs compte des représentants de toutes les municipalités et de tous les comtés du corridor Rideau, ainsi que des représentants des autres parties qui ont un rôle à jouer dans la planification et le développement le long de ce corridor. La plupart des membres sont responsables de la planification au sein de leurs organismes respectifs, ce qui a simplifié le choix des membres du groupe des planificateurs. Voici la liste complète des organismes représentés.

  • Canton de Tay Valley
  • Municipalité de North Grenville
  • Ville de Smiths Falls
  • Canton de Rideau Lakes
  • Canton de Montague
  • Canton de Lanark
  • Ville de Perth
  • Comtés unis de Leeds et Grenville
  • Ville d’Ottawa
  • Ville de Kingston
  • Canton de Drummond-North Elmsley
  • Canton de South Frontenac
  • Village de Merrickville-Wolford
  • Office de protection de la nature de la région de Cataraqui
  • Village de Westport
  • Parcs Canada
  • Office de protection de la nature de la vallée Rideau
  • Province de l’Ontario : Ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement
  • Comté de Frontenac

Un président et un président suppléant seront choisis parmi les membres du groupe des planificateurs. Il reviendra au groupe de déterminer la durée de leur mandat. Le président et le président suppléant feront rapport au comité directeur sur demande.

Rôles du groupe des planificateurs

Le groupe des planificateurs sera chargé des tâches suivantes :

  • Fournir des conseils techniques au comité directeur sur demande.
  • Veiller à informer le comité directeur en temps opportun de l’état d’avancement des travaux, des occasions ou des problèmes liés à la SACR. Le président servira de point de contact entre le groupe des planificateurs et le comité directeur.
  • Prendre des décisions, au moyen d’un vote simple, quant aux recommandations destinées au comité directeur.
  • Veiller à ce que les organisations représentées soient tenues au courant de l’avancement des travaux relatifs à la Stratégie.
  • Jouer le rôle d’ambassadeur de la Stratégie en faisant connaître les buts, les objectifs et les travaux qui s’y rapportent.
  • Veiller à l’administration du Groupe pour garantir son bon fonctionnement : organiser des réunions lorsqu’il le faut, prendre les dispositions nécessaires quant au lieu des réunions, établir l’ordre du jour, conserver des résumés des réunions.

Responsabilités du comité directeur

Le comité directeur sera chargé des tâches suivantes :

  • Guider les travaux du groupe des planificateurs en donnant des directives claires et concises sur les tâches ou les informations nécessaires.
  • Offrir de la rétroaction appropriée, en temps opportun, à l’égard de tous les travaux effectués par le groupe des planificateurs et de toutes les questions soulevées par ce dernier.

Réunions

Le président ou le Groupe décideront de la fréquence des réunions. Le lieu des rencontres sera choisi au cas par cas; les organismes représentés au sein du groupe des planificateurs se partageront tous les coûts associés à la tenue de ces réunions.