Rideau Canal National Historic Site of Canada

First Public Workshops Announced for the Rideau Corridor Landscape Character Assessment

Three sessions for stakeholder input offered

As part of its commitment to the Rideau Corridor Landscape Strategy, Parks Canada is facilitating a Landscape Character Assessment to identify key features and values of the Rideau Corridor in order to support more effective planning and management of the Rideau Corridor's landscape into the future.

An interactive public engagement and consultation process is an important component of the Landscape Character Assessment. All interested persons are invited to participate in the first round of public workshops. There will be a presentation explaining the study and an opportunity for participants to ask questions and share their thoughts on the corridor's landscape character areas.

Registration begins at 6:30 p.m. All workshops will be held from 7:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.

Workshop dates and locations are:

North
Tuesday, March 6, 2012
Rideau Valley Conservation Authority
3889 Rideau Valley Drive, Manotick

Central
Wednesday, March 7, 2012
Merrickville Community Centre
106 Read Street, Merrickville

South
Thursday, March 8, 2012
Cataraqui Region Conservation Authority – Outdoor Centre
1641 Perth Road, Kingston

Anyone interested in providing input is also encouraged to contribute to the online photographic library of the Rideau Corridor's landscapes. A second round of workshops will be held later in 2012 to gauge participant's preference for landscape types and characteristics. Information about participating in these opportunities and about the project itself can be found on the web site www.rcls-sacr.ca.

Follow us on Twitter @RideauCLS.

The Rideau Canal is a National Historic Site, Canadian Heritage River, and a UNESCO World Heritage Site. As part of the 2007 World Heritage Site designation, the World Heritage Committee recommended that the Rideau Canal's visual protection be strengthened outside of the established buffer zone to ensure the visual values of the setting are protected alongside environmental values.

For further information on the Landscape Character Assessment project, please contact:
Rideau Canal, Parks Canada
rideaucanal-info@pc.gc.ca
613-283-5170

For further information on the Rideau Corridor Landscape Strategy, please contact:
Doug Struthers
Chair, Rideau Corridor Landscape Strategy
mayor@merrickville-wolford.ca
613-269-4791

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau

Premières consultations publiques pour l'évaluation de caractérisation du paysage du corridor Rideau

Trois séances de participation des intervenants offertes

Dans le cadre de son engagement à la stratégie d'aménagement du corridor Rideau, Parcs Canada encadre une évaluation de caractérisation du paysage pour identifier les principales caractéristiques et les éléments de valeur du corridor Rideau, cela dans le but de soutenir une gestion et une planification plus efficace du paysage du corridor Rideau dans le futur.

La participation interactive du public et le processus de consultation sont des éléments primordiaux de l'évaluation de caractérisation du paysage. Les personnes intéressées sont invitées à participer à la première ronde de consultations publiques. Une présentation expliquant l'étude aura lieu, durant laquelle les participants auront l'occasion de poser leurs questions et de partager leurs idées sur les aires de caractérisation du paysage du corridor.

Les inscriptions débuteront à 18:30. Les consultations se tiendront de 19:00 à 20:30.

Les dates et endroits des consultations publiques sont:

Nord
Mardi, 6 mars
Office de protection de la nature de la vallée Rideau
3889 promenade Rideau Valley, Manotick

Centre
Mercredi, 7 mars
Centre communautaire de Merrickville
106 rue Read, Merrickville

Sud
Jeudi, 8 mars
Office de protection de la région de Cataraqui – Centre de plein air
1641 route Perth, Kingston

Les personnes intéressées à participer sont aussi invitées à contribuer à une librairie en ligne de photographies des paysages du corridor Rideau. Une deuxième ronde de consultations aura lieu plus tard en 2012 pour évaluer la préférence des participants sur les types et les caractéristiques des paysages du corridor. L'information sur les divers moyens de s'impliquer et sur le projet lui-même peut être trouvée sur le site web www.rcls-sacr.ca.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @SACRideau

Le canal Rideau est un site historique national, une rivière à caractère patrimonial unique et un site du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO. Dans le cadre de la désignation en 2007 de site du patrimoine mondial, le comité du patrimoine mondial recommande que la protection visuelle du canal Rideau soit renforcée au-delà de la zone tampon établie afin d'assurer la protection des éléments visuels tout en y préservant l'environnement.

Pour de plus amples informations sur le projet de caractérisation du paysage, veuillez contacter:
Canal-Rideau, Parcs Canada
canalrideau-info@pc.gc.ca
613-283-5170

Pour de plus amples informations sur la stratégie d'aménagement du corridor Rideau, veuillez contacter:
Doug Struthers
Président, stratégie d'aménagement du corridor Rideau
mayor@merrickville-wolford.ca
613-269-4791