Common menu bar links

Rideau Canal National Historic Site of Canada

Visitor Experience Opportunities Report for the Rideau Corridor Released

Tourism vision for Rideau represents a coordinated approach for future economic sustainability

Smiths Falls, Ontario, January 31, 2014 - On Friday January 31, 2014, at the Rideau Canal Headquarters in Smiths Falls, Ontario, Parks Canada hosted community leaders and Rideau Canal stakeholders at the unveiling of the Rideau Canal Visitor Experience Opportunities Concept (VEOC).

The Rideau Canal VEOC represents a consolidation of potential tourism experience opportunities and innovations for the Rideau Corridor collected through discussions sessions held with Rideau Canal stakeholders throughout the fall of 2013. This collaborative initiative aims to inspire movement towards an improved model for revenue generation and economic sustainability in the Rideau Corridor.

The VEOC brings to light the many untapped resources for economic development within the Rideau Corridor, and underlines the importance of shared responsibility and cooperation to maximize the potential of the Rideau Canal and its adjacent communities as a world-class, relevant, and vibrant sustainable tourism destination.

The unveiling of the Rideau Canal VEOC is only the beginning of what promises to be an exciting period of renaissance for the region. Next steps will be identifying relevant and achievable initiatives for the short, mid and long term, and together facilitating the natural networking of interested parties to start making things happen.

Quick Facts

  • This initiative has been made possible through the support of local Member of Parliament for Leeds-Grenville, Gord Brown, and by a dedicated partner group represented by the Rideau Roundtable, Parks Canada, Valley Heartland Community Futures Development Corporation (CFDC) (representing support from Grenville CDFC, Frontenac CFDC and 1000 Islands CDC), the Rideau Heritage Route Tourism Association, United Counties of Leeds and Grenville, Lanark County, Town of Smiths Falls and the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport.
  • Over 80 Rideau Canal and Corridor stakeholders and interested parties have directly contributed to the VEOC Sessions. Additionally, 88 people were active in making personal recommendations through an on-line survey about tourism for the region. Finally, over 100 people attended a public meeting hosted by MP Gord Brown in December 2013 to engage his constituents in a dialogue about their thoughts on the Rideau Canal and VEOC.
  • The next public opportunity for interested parties to discuss the VEOC reports concepts and its practical applications will be hosted by Valley Heartland CFDC and the Rideau Heritage Route Tourism Association, in Smiths Falls, on Friday February 28 at Beyond the City Lights Rural Tourism Conference, where there will be information on tourism industry trends, marketing tips, ideas for collaboration, networking, customer service, and how to tap into available resources.

Quotes

“The Rideau Canal is not just waterway; it is the lifeblood of the region. The Government of Canada is proud to be working with Rideau Canal stakeholders on this collaborative initiative to improve upon and create visitor experience opportunities that will achieve a stronger, better future for our families, our businesses and in turn make the Rideau Corridor a more viable and sustainable tourism region.”

Gord Brown, Member of Parliament for Leeds-Grenville

“We have a real opportunity here to take the ideas that have been generated through this initiative and make some immediate changes to how we look at the Rideau Corridor in terms of tourism and economic development; with everyone working together toward a single vision – with businesses, stakeholders, non-governmental organizations and all levels of government alike, the Rideau Corridor has the potential to be signature Canadian heritage destination.”

Susan Fournier
Valley Heartland Community Futures Development Corporation

Related Products

Associated Links

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau

Publication du rapport sur le Concept pour identifier les occasions qui constituent l’expérience du visiteur pour le corridor Rideau

La vision touristique établie pour le corridor Rideau représente une approche coordonnée pour assurer sa viabilité financière dans l’avenir

Smiths Falls (Ontario) Le 31 janvier 2014 - Le vendredi 31 janvier 2014, au bureau administratif du Canal-Rideau à Smiths Falls, Ontario, Parcs Canada a invité les dirigeants communautaires et les intervenants du canal Rideau au dévoilement du Concept pour identifier les occasions qui constituent l’expérience du visiteur (COEV) pour le corridor Rideau.

Le COEV pour le canal Rideau regroupe les possibilités et les innovations en matière d’expériences touristiques pour le corridor Rideau, lesquelles ont été recueillies dans le cadre de séances de discussions tenues avec les intervenants du canal Rideau à l’automne 2013. Cette initiative de collaboration vise à donner l’impulsion et l’inspiration nécessaires pour améliorer le modèle de production de recettes et la viabilité financière du corridor Rideau.

Le COEV met en lumière de nombreuses ressources encore inexploitées pour le développement économique le long du corridor Rideau, et souligne l’importance de la coopération et du partage des responsabilités pour exploiter le plein potentiel du canal Rideau et des collectivités voisines pour en faire une destination touristique de renommée internationale dynamique, pertinente et durable.

Le dévoilement du COEV du canal Rideau marque la première étape d’un processus stimulant qui verra la région renaître. Les prochaines étapes consisteront à cerner les projets pertinents et les initiatives réalisables à court, moyen et long terme, et à œuvrer de concert pour encourager les parties intéressées à établir des liens entre elles afin que les projets se mettent en branle.

Les faits en bref 

  • Cette initiative a été rendue possible grâce à l’appui du député de Leeds-Grenville, Gord Brown, d’un groupe de partenaires dévoués composé de représentants du groupe Rideau Roundtable, de Parcs Canada, de la Société d'aide au développement des collectivités (SADC) de Valley Heartland (avec les SADC de Frontenac, de Grenville et des Mille-Îles), de l’Association du tourisme de la route patrimoniale de Rideau, des Comtés unis de Leeds et Grenville, du Comté de Lanark, de la Ville de Smiths Falls et du ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport de l’Ontario.
  • Plus de 80 intervenants du canal et du corridor Rideau et des parties intéressées ont contribué directement aux séances du COEV. De plus, 88 personnes ont présenté leurs recommandations à titre personnel dans le cadre d’un sondage en ligne qui portait sur le tourisme dans la région. Enfin, plus de 100 personnes ont assisté à une rencontre publique organisée par le député Gord Brown en décembre 2013 afin de permettre à ses électeurs de donner leur avis sur le canal Rideau et le COEV. 
  • Les parties intéressées auront l’occasion de discuter des notions présentées dans le rapport sur le COEV ainsi que de leur application concrète le vendredi 28 février, à Smiths Falls, dans le cadre de la conférence sur le tourisme rural Beyond the City Lights organisée par la SADC Valley Heartland et l’Association du tourisme de la route patrimoniale de Rideau. On y présentera des renseignements sur les tendances de l’industrie touristique, des conseils sur le marketing, des idées axées sur la collaboration, le réseautage et le service à la clientèle. Il sera aussi question de la façon d’exploiter les ressources disponibles.

Citations

« Le canal Rideau est bien plus qu’un simple voie navigable : il est au cœur même des activités de la région. Le gouvernement du Canada est fier de s’associer aux intervenants du canal Rideau dans le cadre de cette initiative qui permettra d’améliorer les occasions d’expérience du visiteur et d’en créer de nouvelles afin de bâtir un avenir meilleur et plus stable pour nos familles et nos commerces, et ainsi améliorer la viabilité et la durabilité du canal Rideau en tant que région touristique. »

Gord Brown, député de Leeds-Grenville

« Nous avons véritablement l’occasion de profiter des idées qui sont ressorties de cette initiative pour apporter des changements immédiats à notre vision du tourisme et du développement économique le long du corridor Rideau. Si les commerçants, les intervenants, les organisations non gouvernementales et tous les ordres de gouvernement travaillent ensemble à la réalisation d’une même vision, le corridor Rideau possède toutes les qualités requises pour devenir une destination patrimoniale canadienne prestigieuse. »

Susan Fournier
Société d'aide au développement des collectivités de Valley Heartland

Documents connexes

Liens connexes