Common menu bar links

Rideau Canal National Historic Site of Canada

The History of the Rideau Canal

MERRICKVILLE

Specifications of the Lockstation:

Three locks with a total lift of 25 feet.

Merrickville Locks Merrickville Locks
©Parks Canada / Steve Weir / Rideau Canal

Merrickville lockstation is located within one of the oldest settlements along the Rideau corridor. William Merrick founded the village of Merrickville in 1794. Attracted to the site by waterpower, he constructed a dam across the river and then built grist, saw and carding mills. It was not long before a community sprang up around the milling activity. In 1821, Merrick built a stone house overlooking his mills.

When the canal construction crews arrived in 1827, the village of Merrick's Mills, as it was then known, was a thriving little community of about 300. Unlike most of the pre-canal sites, Merrick's Mills was not destroyed by canal construction. After the canal was completed, the excess water once again turned the wheels of the mills and the improved transportation system caused a surge in commercial activity in the village. By 1851, Merrick's Mills was an impressive industrial centre.

Merrick's Mills continued to thrive into the mid-1860s. The end of the community's industrial growth is closely related to the decline of the commercial phase of the canal. The rise of the nearby town of Smiths Falls as a major railway hub displaced Merrick's Mills as an industrial leader in the region. Despite the decline, some industry continued in the community. In 1915 a power company was formed at Merrickville to provide electricity for the mills and a foundry, and the woolen mill continued to function until 1954.

Engineering Structures

Three locks, two basins and an artificial channel were constructed "in the dry" at Merrickville. The locks are located at the lower end of the 1100-yard artificial channel.

The present-day dam was built in 1914-15 in front of Merrick's mill dam, replacing a timber dam that once stood upstream. The dam, with the addition of bridges, formed the roadway crossing the canal.

Today, three bridges make up the crossing at Merrickville:

1) a fixed concrete and steel bridge over the waste weir (constructed prior to 1957)
2) a fixed plate girder bridge over the "Snye" (erected in 1924)
3) a plate girder swing bridge over the upper lock (built in 1933, electrified in1955).

The Blockhouse

The Merrickville Blockhouse, the first and largest of four blockhouses constructed on the Rideau Canal, stands as a reminder of the canal's original purpose in providing a secure military supply route for Upper Canada. In the event of war, the blockhouse would serve as a mustering point for local militia -- it could accommodate a garrison of 50 men -- and as a supply depot for provisions, ammunition and arms. At Merrickville, the "wilderness buffer" that surrounded most lockstations had been breached by road improvements between the village and the St. Lawrence River, leaving it vulnerable to American attack. The blockhouse saw military occupation in the period following the Upper Canada Rebellion of 1837 and again during the Oregon Crisis of 1846 (resulting from a border dispute with the United States). However, the main occupants of the blockhouse were the station's lockmaster and his family. The upper storey of the blockhouse served as the lockmaster's living quarters until the late 19th century. Today the blockhouse is a museum operated by the Merrickville and District Historical Society.

Back

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau

L'histoire du canal Rideau

Merrickville

Trois écluses, avec une élévation d'eau totale de 7,62 mètres (25 pieds).

Écluses de Merrickville Écluses de Merrickville
©Parcs Canada / Steve Weir / Canal-Rideau

Le poste d'éclusage de Merrickville se trouve dans l'un des plus vieux villages dans le corridor Rideau. William Merrick fonda ce village en 1794. Attiré sur les lieux par l'énergie hydraulique, il construisit un barrage sur la rivière, puis mit en place des moulins à grain, à bois et à cardage. En peu de temps, une communauté se développa autour des activités industrielles. En 1821, Merrick construisit une maison en pierre surplombant ses moulins.

À l'arrivée des équipes de construction du canal en 1827, le village de Merrick's Mills, nom que l'endroit portait à l'époque, était une petite communauté florissante d'environ 300 habitants. À la différence de la plupart des établissements d'avant la construction du canal, Merrick's Mills ne fut pas détruit par les travaux. À l'achèvement du canal, le surplus d'eau servit à nouveau à faire tourner les roues des moulins, alors que le système de transport amélioré amena une poussée d'activités commerciales dans le village. En 1851, Merrick's Mills était un centre industriel important.

Merrick's Mills continua à prospérer jusqu'au milieu des années 1860. La fin de la croissance industrielle de la communauté est étroitement liée au déclin de la phase commerciale du canal. Le développement du village proche de Smiths Falls comme nœud ferroviaire important priva Merrick's Mills de son rôle de chef de file industriel de la région. Malgré le déclin, certaines industries se maintinrent dans la communauté. En 1915, une société d'énergie fut formée à Merrickville afin de fournir de l'électricité aux moulins et à une fonderie tandis que le moulin à cardage continua à fonctionner jusqu'en 1954.

Ouvrages du génie

On construisit trois écluses, deux bassins et un chenal artificiel « à sec » à Merrickville. Les écluses se trouvent à l'extrémité aval du chenal artificiel de 1,005,84 mètres (1 100 verges).

Le barrage que l'on voit aujourd'hui fut construit en 1914-1915, devant le barrage de moulin de Merrick, en remplacement d'un barrage en bois qui se dressait autrefois en amont. Avec l'addition de ponts, le barrage soutint la chaussée qui traversait le canal.

Aujourd'hui, trois ponts permettent la traversée à Merrickville :

1) un pont fixe en béton et en acier qui enjambe le déversoir (construit avant 1957);
2) un pont fixe à poutres à âme pleine sur le « faux chenal » (bâti en 1924);
3) un pont tournant à poutres à âme pleine enjambant l'écluse supérieure (construit en 1933, électrifié en 1955).

Le blockhaus

Le blockhaus de Merrickville, le premier et le plus grand des quatre blockhaus construits sur le canal Rideau, rappelle la raison d'être originale du canal, qui était d'assurer une route d'approvisionnement militaire sûre pour le Haut-Canada. En cas de guerre, le blockhaus devait servir de point de rassemblement pour la milice locale, pouvant loger une garnison de 50 hommes, et de magasin pour les provisions, les munitions et les armes. À Merrickville, la zone tampon de nature sauvage qui entourait la plupart des postes d'éclusage avait été mise en brèche par les améliorations routières entre le village et le fleuve Saint-Laurent, laissant ainsi l'endroit vulnérable à des attaques par les Américains. Le blockhaus fut occupé par des militaires au cours de la période suivant la Rébellion du Haut-Canada en 1837, et à nouveau lors de la crise de l'Orégon en 1846 (le résultat d'une dispute frontalière avec les États-Unis). Les principaux occupants du blockhaus furent cependant le maître éclusier du poste et sa famille. L'étage supérieur du blockhaus servit de logement aux maîtres éclusiers jusqu'à la fin du XIXe siècle. Aujourd'hui, le blockhaus est un musée exploité par la Merrickville and District Historical Society.

Précédent