Rideau Canal National Historic Site of Canada

The History of the Rideau Canal

CLOWES

Specifications of the Lockstation:

One lock with a lift of 9 feet, 6 inches.

The Construction of the Lockstation:

Clowes Lock Control Building Clowes Lock Control Building
©Parks Canada

Clowes Lockstation is located about 2 ½ miles downstream from Merrickville. It was named after James Clowes who was the first contractor for its construction. Clowes was also the owner of a nearby quarry which supplied stone for the construction of the locks, dams and weirs at Merrickville and Nicholsons, as well as at the Clowes Lockstation. Colonel By, less pleased with Clowes' work as a contractor than with his quarried stone, terminated his contract and replaced him with Alexander Hayes, who completed the work.

The Structures of the Lockstation:

Lockmaster's House: A one-storey defensible lockmaster's house was built in 1838. It was similar to others built along the canal except that it lacked loopholes for firing on attackers. The second storey was added during the 1880s.

Engineering Structures: Originally, the lockstation consisted of a single lock chamber and an arched overflow dam. The spring flood of 1828 caused substantial damage to the partially completed dam and a stone waste weir was installed to relieve pressure on the structure.

Back

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau

L'histoire du canal Rideau

CLOWES

Spécifications du poste d'éclusage :

Une écluse avec une élévation d'eau de 2,9 mètres (9 pieds 6 pouces).

La construction du poste d'éclusage

Bâtiment de commande de l'écluse de Clowes Bâtiment de commande de l'écluse de Clowes
©Parcs Canada

Le poste d'éclusage de Clowes est situé à 4,02 kimomètres (2 ½ milles) en aval de Merrickville. Il porte le nom de James Clowes, le premier entrepreneur à travailler à sa construction. Clowes était également le propriétaire d'une carrière à proximité qui fournissait de la pierre pour la construction des écluses, des barrages et des déversoirs à Merrickville et à Nicholsons, tout comme au poste d'éclusage de Clowes. Le colonel By, moins satisfait du travail de Clowes comme entrepreneur que de sa pierre taillée, mit fin à son contrat et le remplaça par Alexander Hayes, qui termina le travail.

Les structures du poste d'éclusage

Maison du maître éclusier : Une maison fortifiée à un étage fut construite en 1838 pour loger le maître éclusier. Elle était similaire à d'autres construites le long du canal, la seule différence étant qu'elle n'avait pas de meurtrières pour tirer sur les attaquants. Le deuxième étage fut ajouté au cours des années 1880.

Ouvrages du génie : À l'origine, le poste d'éclusage comprenait un seul sas d'écluse et un barrage-déversoir à voûte. La crue du printemps de 1828 causa de graves dommages au barrage partiellement complété, et on installa un déversoir en pierre pour réduire la pression sur la structure.

Précédent