Rideau Canal National Historic Site of Canada

Site Usage

Rideau Canal Special Event Site Use

Operated by Parks Canada, the Rideau Canal is a National Historic Site, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, a Canadian Heritage River, and part of a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve. It is one of the Canada’s best known and treasured sites, and runs 202 km from Ottawa to Kingston, through beautiful rural and urban backdrops.

If you are planning a regatta or sporting event, or are looking for the perfect venue for a festival, concert or wedding, the Rideau Canal is a premier setting for your special event.

Use of the Rideau Canal and Parks Canada property (both on land, and in water) for public or private use, is subject to federal regulations and requires that all events on the Rideau Canal be permitted by Parks Canada.

To obtain a Site Use Permit from Parks Canada for your event, we ask you to first complete a detailed Site Use Application and submit it to Parks Canada for evaluation.  Every Site Use Application is carefully screened to determine site capacity, logistical needs, and the event’s overall fit with Parks Canada’s values.

Please allow 3 to 6 weeks for your application to be processed, and book well in advance to avoid activity overlap. 

Fees

Fees are charged at most national parks and national historic sites. These revenues are applied toward the support of visitor services and facilities, and represent an investment in the future of the Rideau Canal, a legacy for future generations.

For more information on booking a Special Event on the Rideau Canal National Historic Site please contact Annie Laurie, Partnering, Engagement and Communications Officer at annie.laurie@pc.gc.ca or call 613-283-7199 ext. 278.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau

Utilisation du site

Utilisation du canal Rideau pour la tenue d’activités spéciales

Administré par Parcs Canada, le canal Rideau est un lieu historique national, un site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO et une rivière du patrimoine canadien. Il fait également partie des réserves de biosphère de l’UNESCO. Il s’agit de l’un des sites les mieux connus et les plus prisés du Canada, qui s’étend sur 202 km d’Ottawa à Kingston sur une magnifique toile de fond rurale et urbaine.

Si vous prévoyez organiser une régate ou une activité sportive, ou encore si vous cherchez l’endroit parfait pour un festival, un concert ou un mariage, le canal Rideau est tout indiqué.

L’utilisation du canal Rideau et d’une propriété de Parcs Canada (que ce soit sur terre ou dans l’eau) à des fins publiques ou privées est assujettie à des règlements fédéraux et nécessite une autorisation de Parcs Canada.

Afin obtenir un permis d’utilisation de Parcs Canada pour votre activité, vous devez d’abord remplir une demande d’utilisation détaillée et la soumettre à Parcs Canada à des fins d’évaluation. Chaque demande d’utilisation de l’endroit est examinée soigneusement en fonction de la capacité du site, des besoins logistiques et de la correspondance de l’activité avec les valeurs de Parcs Canada.

Veuillez prévoir de trois à six semaines pour le traitement de votre demande et réserver tôt pour éviter le chevauchement des activités.

Droits

Des droits sont perçus dans la plupart des parcs nationaux et lieux historiques nationaux. Les revenus ainsi générés sont appliqués au soutien des services aux visiteurs et des installations, et ils représentent un investissement pour l’avenir du canal Rideau ainsi qu’un héritage pour les générations de demain.

Si vous désirez obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la réservation d’un emplacement au lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau pour la tenue d’une activité spéciale, communiquez avec Annie Laurie, agente, Partenariats, engagement et communications, par courriel à annie.laurie@pc.gc.ca ou par téléphone au 613-283-7199, poste 278.