Rideau Canal National Historic Site of Canada

Ottawa

Ottawa Locks Walking Tour

Illustrations by Dorothea Larsen

3 Canal Lane
Ottawa, Ontario

Map of Ottawa Lockstation
© Parks Canada

The Rideau Canal National Historic Site of Canada is part of a national system of parks and historic sites managed by Parks Canada. The canal is a chain of beautiful lakes, rivers and canal cuts joining Kingston, at the head of Lake Ontario, to Ottawa, Canada's capital city. It is one of the greatest engineering feats of the 19th century and incredibly, has enjoyed continuous operation in essentially the same manner since 1832.

The Rideau Canal was constructed between 1826 and 1832, under the supervision of Lieutenant Colonel John By of the Royal Engineers. The canal provided a secure, defensible supply route from Montreal to Kingston, an alternative to the St. Lawrence River in the uneasy years following the War of 1812.


Colonel By
Lieutenant Colonel John By
© Parks Canada

The canal has gone through three different eras in its history. The military period began with its construction but slowly declined over the next couple of decades. Never actually used for military purposes, it soon became a commercial waterway. Timber, potash, feldspar, mica, iron ore and phosphate were transported along the canal by steamer and barge, with destinations such as England, New Jersey and Montreal. In the 1850s, the advent of the railroads provided a quicker and more economical form of transportation, thus causing a declining use of the canal for a brief period. The 1880s heralded the recreational period, with numerous excursion steamers ferrying loads of travellers and sightseers along the length of the canal and into the lakes it traverses. Today, the canal continues to be an international recreational attraction, both by water and by land.

One of 24 lockstations, Ottawa Locks, with its flight of eight locks is more than just an item of passing historic interest. These locks represent an amazing engineering achievement in the middle of the Canadian wilderness of the early 19th century and became the focus around which the city of Ottawa grew. The locks connect the channel of the Rideau Canal in Ottawa to the Ottawa River, almost 80 ft. (24.4 m) below.

The Rideau River falls 30 ft. (9.1 m) in a set of twin falls, downstream of the locks, into the Ottawa River. The word rideau is French for curtain, the appearance of the falls to Samuel de Champlain, who travelled up the Ottawa River in 1613. Samuel Clowes, who surveyed the entire Rideau route in 1824, proposed to have the canal connect with the Ottawa a few hundred yards downstream of the Rideau Falls. However, in 1826, Colonel By and a young engineer, Lieutenant Henry Pooley, travelled west to Wright's Town at Chaudière Falls, and decided, after inspection, that this location would be best.

In 1827, John Pennefeather (Pennyfather according to Legget) was awarded the contract to do the excavation work for the locks. The masonry contract was awarded to Thomas McKay, a young Scottish immigrant to Canada, born in Perth in 1792. McKay had been a partner with John Redpath (of Redpath Sugar) on the building of the Lachine Canal in Montreal. McKay stayed on in the Bytown district. In 1838, McKay built a magnificent stone mansion for himself with his most skilled masons. Today it is known as Rideau Hall, the residence of Canada's Governor-General – yet another legacy to the Rideau Canal. Other names associated with the construction of the Ottawa Locks are: Walter Fenlon, Philemon Wright (the founder of Hull) and Colonel By's Chief Clerk of Works, John MacTaggart.

In September, 1831, the steamboat, Union, was the first vessel to pass through the Ottawa Locks. Even though the locks are in the middle of a major urban centre, they still maintain the tranquil beauty and charm that characterize a typical Rideau lockstation.

Site Attractions (see diagram)

Sappers Bridge
Sappers Bridge
© Parks Canada

1. Sappers Bridge (1827-1911): The very impressive Sappers Bridge, made entirely of stone, with a road width of 18 ft. (5.5 m) and a clearance of 28 ft. (6.4 m) over the canal, was built at the same time as the locks. It connected Upper and Lower Bytown and for the first half of the century it was the only bridge crossing the canal below Burritts Rapids. The bridge was taken down in 1912. A testimony to the quality of its construction was that initial attempts at blasting failed to damage the bridge and it had to be brought down by repeatedly dropping a large weight onto the bridgeworks.

2. Blacksmith Shop (1826-1872): Sometime between 1826, when McKay first started clearing the site, and 1829, when it first appears on a map, McKay built the stone "contractor's Smith Shop". Not being a military building, very little information on this structure has survived.

Lockmaster's Office
Lockmaster's Office
© Parks Canada

3. Lockmaster's Office: The stone building that stands at the head of the locks was built in 1884 for use as offices for the lockmaster and the toll collector.

Commissariat
Commissariat Building
© Parks Canada

4. Commissariat Building: The stone Commissariat Building was constructed in 1827 as a warehouse for military and canal supplies. The oldest stone building in the city, it houses the Bytown Museum of the Historical Society of Ottawa (see the interpretive panel located in front of the building).

Royal Engineers Office
Royal Engineers Office (1827-1911)
© Parks Canada

5. Royal Engineers Office (1827-1911): Similar in design to the Commissariat Building, the Royal Engineers' Building on the east side of the lock was converted into a private residence in 1868. In 1901, the rail line from Ottawa to Hull by way of the Interprovincial Bridge was built with the railroad terrace actually going through a portion of this old building. Vibrations from passing trains caused extensive damage and in 1911-12 it was torn down. The foundations of this building can still be seen next to the locks.

Major's Hill Park
Major's Hill Park
© Parks Canada

6. Major's Hill Park: The year 1849 brought the loss, by fire, of an important landmark, Colonel By's stone house on Major's Hill Park. It was not rebuilt. The statue of Lieutenant Colonel John By stands tall at the top of the hill.

Château Laurier
The Chateau Laurier, built in 1910-11, sits on the former site of a defensible lockmaster's house.
© Parks Canada

7. Chateau Laurier: A defensible lockmaster's house was built about 1859 but it was torn down in 1876 when Major's Hill Park was created. The Chateau Laurier, built in 1910-11 by the Grand Trunk Railway, now sits on the former site of this house. The Chateau Laurier was designated as a national historic site in 1980.

Parliament Hill
Ottawa Lockstation & Parliament Hill
© Parks Canada

8. Parliament Hill: The care of soldiers' bodies had, of course, to be given attention from the start. One of the first buildings to be erected by Colonel By on Barracks Hill was a military hospital with 20 beds. Civilian patients were admitted to it whenever possible and civilian doctors were permitted to attend them. Hospitals have had an honoured role in the life of Ottawa ever since this early beginning. Bytown was officially renamed Ottawa in 1855 and was chosen as the site of Canada's Parliament. In 1859, the buildings on Barracks Hill (three stone barracks and a military hospital) were removed to make way for the construction of the new Parliament Buildings. Barracks Hill is now known as Parliament Hill. The Parliament Buildings were designated as a national historic site in 1976.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau

Ottawa

Visite à pied des Écluses d’Ottawa

Illustrations par Dorothea Larsen

3, ruelle Canal
Ottawa (Ontario)

Carte du poste d'éclusage d'Ottawa

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau fait partie d’un réseau national de parcs et lieux historiques que gère Parcs Canada. Le canal est constitué d’une série de lacs, de cours d’eau et de canaux qui relient Kingston, à la tête du lac Ontario, à Ottawa, la capitale du Canada. Il représente l’une des grandes réalisations techniques du XIXe siècle et, fait inouï, il est demeuré en exploitation à peu près de la même façon depuis 1832.

Construit entre 1826 et 1832 sous la supervision du lieutenant-colonel John By des Royal Engineers, le canal Rideau offrait une voie d’approvisionnement sûre et facile à défendre entre Montréal et Kingston, évitant d’avoir à emprunter le Saint-Laurent dans les années difficiles qui ont suivi la guerre de 1812.


Colonel By
Lieutenant-colonel John By
© Parcs Canada

Le canal a connu trois grandes périodes dans son histoire. La période militaire a débuté avec sa construction, mais n’a duré que quelques décennies. N’ayant jamais été utilisé à des fins militaires, le canal est vite devenu une voie navigable commerciale. Des vapeurs et des barges à destination de l’Angleterre, du New Jersey et de Montréal y transportaient bois, potasse, potasse, feldspath, mica, minerai de fer et phosphate. Dans les années 1850, l’avènement du chemin de fer, une forme de transport plus rapide et plus économique, entraîna un bref ralentissement des activités sur le canal. Les années 1880 marquèrent le début de la période récréative, qui vit de nombreux vapeurs d’excursion transporter voyageurs et touristes dans le canal et dans les lacs qu’il traverse. Le canal est encore aujourd’hui une attraction de calibre internationale, tant pour les visiteurs basés à terre que pour ceux qui viennent par bateau.

Le canal compte 24 postes d’éclusage. Celui d’Ottawa, avec son échelle de huit écluses, présente un grand intérêt sur le plan historique. Ces écluses, construites au beau milieu des vastes étendues sauvages du Canada au début du XIXe siècle, représentent un véritable exploit technique et c’est autour d’elles que s’est construite la ville d’Ottawa. Elles relient le chenal du canal Rideau à Ottawa et la rivière des Outaouais, près de 24,2 mètres (80 pi) plus bas.

À l’est des écluses, la rivière Rideau se jette dans la rivière des Outaouais en formant des chutes jumelles hautes de 9,1 mètres (30 pi). C’est en voyant ces chutes que Samuel de Champlain a eu l’idée de nommer la rivière « Rideau » lorsqu’il a remonté la rivière des Outaouais en 1613. Samuel Clowes, qui a arpenté tout le tracé du canal en 1824, voulait que le canal aboutisse dans la rivière des Outaouais à quelques centaines de verges en aval des chutes. Cependant, en 1826, le colonel By et un jeune ingénieur, le lieutenant Henry Pooley, se sont rendus vers l’ouest jusqu’à Wright’s Town, à la chute de la Chaudière, et ont décidé, après avoir inspecté les lieux, que l’endroit convenait mieux.

En 1827, John Pennefeather (ou Pennyfather, selon Legget) obtint le contrat d’excavation des écluses. Le contrat de maçonnerie fut accordé à Thomas McKay, un jeune immigrant écossais né à Perth, en 1792. McKay avait été le partenaire de John Redpath (du sucre Redpath) lors de la construction du canal de Lachine à Montréal. McKay s’établit dans le district de Bytown où il demanda à ses meilleurs ouvriers de lui construire une majestueuse demeure en pierre en 1838. Cette maison, Rideau Hall, est de nos jours la résidence du gouverneur général du Canada - un autre héritage du canal Rideau. Parmi les autres personnes associées à la construction des écluses d’Ottawa, mentionnons Walter Fenlon, Philemon Wright (le fondateur de Hull) et le commis de chantier principal du colonel By, John MacTaggart.

En septembre 1831, le vapeur Union fut le premier navire à franchir les écluses d’Ottawa. Bien que les écluses soient situées en plein coeur d’un grand centre urbain, elles conservent la beauté et le charme tranquilles qui caractérisent un poste d’éclusage typique du canal Rideau.

Attractions du lieu (voir le diagramme)

Pont des Sapeurs
Pont des Sapeurs
© Parcs Canada

1. Pont des Sapeurs (1827-1911): Construit en même temps que le canal, ce pont impressionnant, fait entièrement de pierre, offre une voie de 5,5 mètres de largeur (19 pi) et un dégagement de 6,4 mètres (28 pi) au-dessus du canal. Il relie Upper et Lower Bytown et, pendant la première moitié du siècle, il est demeuré le seul pont permettant de franchir le canal en aval des rapides Burritts. Le pont des Sapeurs a été démoli en 1912. Il était si bien construit que les premières charges de dynamite utilisées n’ont rien donné et qu’on a dû lâcher un poids lourd à plusieurs reprises sur sa structure pour l’abattre.

2. Forge (1826-1872): McKay construisit cette « forge d’entrepreneur » en pierre entre 1826, après qu’il eut commencé à dégager les lieux, et 1829, date à laquelle elle figure pour la première fois sur une carte. Comme il ne s’agissait pas d’un bâtiment militaire, on possède très peu d’information sur cette structure.

Bureau du maître-éclusier
Bureau du maître-éclusier
© Parcs Canada

3. Bureau du maître-éclusier: Ce bâtiment en pierre situé à la tête des écluses a été construit en 1884 pour servir de bureau au maître-éclusier et au péager.

Intendance
Intendance
© Parcs Canada

4. Intendance: Le bâtiment de l’intendance a été construit en 1827 pour entreposer du matériel militaire et du matériel associé au canal. Le plus vieux bâtiment en pierre de la ville, il abrite le musée Bytown de la Société historique d’Ottawa. Voir le panneau d’interprétation situé devant le bâtiment.

Bureau des Royal Engineers (1827-1911)
Bureau des Royal Engineers
© Parcs Canada

5. Bureau des Royal Engineers (1827-1911): D’une conception similaire à celle du bâtiment de l’intendance, le bâtiment des Royal Engineers, sur la rive est des écluses, a été converti en résidence privée en 1868. Une partie de la terrasse du chemin de fer construit en 1901 pour relier Ottawa et Hull via le pont Interprovincial traversait le vieux bâtiment. Ayant subi d’importants dommages à cause des vibrations produites par les trains, il dut être démoli en 1911-1912. Ses fondations sont encore visibles près des écluses.

Parc Major’s Hill
Parc Major’s Hill
© Parcs Canada

6. Parc Major’s Hill: En 1849, le feu a fait disparaître un bâtiment important, la maison en pierre du colonel By dans le parc Major’s Hill. Elle n’a jamais été reconstruite. La statue du lieutenant-colonel John By domine toujours la colline.

Château Laurier
Le Château Laurier, érigé en 1910-1911, s’élève aujourd’hui à l’emplacement d'une ancienne résidence fortifiée de maître-éclusier.
© Parcs Canada

7. Château Laurier: Une résidence fortifiée de maître-éclusier a été construite en 1859, puis démolie en 1876, lors de la création du parc Major’s Hill. Le Château Laurier, érigé en 1910-1911 par la Grand Trunk Railway, s’élève aujourd’hui à l’emplacement de l’ancienne résidence. Le Château Laurier a été désigné lieu historique national en 1980.

Colline du Parlement
Le poste d'éclusage d'Ottawa et la colline du Parlement
© Parcs Canada

8. Colline du Parlement: Il a évidemment toujours fallu veiller au bien-être physique des soldats. Un des premiers bâtiments érigés par le colonel By sur la colline des Casernes fut un hôpital militaire de vingt lits. Les civils y étaient admis quand c’était possible et des médecins civils étaient autorisés à les traiter. Les hôpitaux ont joué un rôle majeur dans la vie d’Ottawa. Bytown a été rebaptisée Ottawa en 1855 et choisie comme site du Parlement du Canada. En 1859, les bâtiments de la colline des Casernes (trois casernes en pierre et un hôpital militaire) ont été démolis pour permettre la construction des nouveaux édifices du Parlement. La colline des Casernes s’appelle maintenant la colline du Parlement. Les édifices du Parlement ont été désignés lieu historique national en 1976.