Rideau Canal National Historic Site of Canada

Walking Trails

Ottawa

Ottawa Locks, with its flight of eight locks is more than just an item of passing historic interest. These locks represent an amazing engineering achievement in the middle of the Canadian wilderness of the early 19th century and became the focus around which the city of Ottawa grew. The locks connect the channel of the Rideau Canal in Ottawa to the Ottawa River, almost 80 ft. (24.4 m) below. Learn more...

Burritts Rapids

The Tip to Tip Trail is an easy walk with a round trip length of four kilometres, taking about one hour to complete. Numbered trail markers along the path go with the following texts. They highlight features along the trail that were either influenced by or important in the construction of the Rideau Canal. Learn more...

Merrickville

In the history of the canal there have been three different eras. The military period began with canal construction that provided a secure defensible supply route from Montreal to Kingston, an alternative to the St. Lawrence River in the uneasy years following the War of 1812. The Merrickville blockhouse is the largest military fortification that was built on the canal. Learn more...

Jones Falls

Jones Falls was first called Long Falls and was later renamed for property and mill owner Charles Jones.The masonry contractor chosen for the difficult works at Jones Falls was a Scot named John Redpath, whose work on Montreal's Lachine Canal in 1821 had attracted Col. By's attention. Learn more...

Kingston Mills

Kingston Mills is a prime example of engineering mastery and military history. Each of the four limestone locks has a lift of 3.6 metres and they utilize all three manual methods of opening and closing the lock gates. The only other lockstation to exhibit the push bar, swing bar and endless chain mechanisms is Ottawa Locks. The cost of construction, 60,000 £, was only surpassed by Jones Falls and Ottawa lockstations. Learn more...

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau

Sentiers piétonniers

Ottawa

Le poste d’éclusage d’Ottawa, avec son échelle de huit écluses, présente un grand intérêt sur le plan historique. Ces écluses, construites au beau milieu des vastes étendues sauvages du Canada au début du XIXe siècle, représentent un véritable exploit technique et c’est autour d’elles que s’est construite la ville d’Ottawa. Elles relient le chenal du canal Rideau à Ottawa et la rivière des Outaouais, près de 24,2 mètres (80 pi) plus bas. Pour en savoir davantage...

Burritts Rapids

Le Sentier de l'Île fait une boucle, facile à parcourir, de quatre kilomètres (environ une heure et demie de marche). Les bornes numérotées qui le jalonnent renvoient aux explications ci-dessous.Celles-ci attirent votre attention sur des caractéristiques du paysage qui ont joué un rôle dans la construction du canal Rideau ou qui ont été modifiées par elle. Pour en savoir davantage...

Merrickville

Le canal connaît trois grandes périodes dans son histoire. La période militaire commence avec la construction du canal qui offre à l’époque une voie d’approvisionnement sûre et facile à défendre entre Montréal et Kingston. Le canal représente une solution de rechange au fleuve Saint-Laurent dans les années difficiles qui ont suivi la guerre de 1812. Le blockhaus de Merrickville est la plus importante fortification militaire construite sur le canal. Pour en savoir davantage...

Jones Falls

Jones Falls s'appelait autrefois Long Falls; par la suite, on lui donna le nom de Charles Jones qui possédait des biens fonciers et un moulin dans le secteur. L'entrepreneur en maçonnerie engagé pour les travaux herculéens de Jones Falls était John Redpath, un Écossais dont le travail pour le canal de Lachine à Montréal en 1821 avait retenu l'attention du colonel By. Pour en savoir davantage...

Kingston Mills

Kingston Mills est un bel exemple de chef d’oeuvre d’ingénierie et d’histoire militaire. Chacune des quatre écluses de calcaire a une élévation de 3,6 m et est manoeuvrée à la main au moyen de trois dispositifs différents d’ouverture et de fermeture. Le seul autre poste d’éclusage équipé de dispositifs à poutrelle forcée, à poutrelle pivotante courbe et à chaîne sans fin est celui d’Ottawa. Le coût de construction du poste d’éclusage de Kingston Mills (60 000 £) est le plus élevé après celui des postes d’éclusage de Jones Falls et d’Ottawa. Pour en savoir davantage...