Fort Malden National Historic Site of Canada

History

The Fort's Origins

Fort Amherstburg, circa 1804 Fort Amherstburg, circa 1804
© Parks Canada
Fort Malden National Historic Site preserves the remnants of the second British fort built in Amherstburg, Ontario. The first, Fort Amherstburg, was established here, near the mouth of the Detroit River in 1796. It was a centre of British operations during the War of 1812 and was destroyed by the British when they were forced to retreat in September 1813. Today, there are no visible remains of that earlier fortification.

The current dimensions of the fort can be attributed to the American army, which occupied the ruins of Fort Amherstburg from October 1813 until July 1815. The Americans began rebuilding the fort almost immediately, but their efforts were hampered by severe shortages of labour and supplies.

When the British re-occupied the site in the summer of 1815, they inherited a smaller, semi-completed earthen fortification that contained a few roughly built structures.

The Fort Rebuilt

The British were slow to rebuild the fort as post-war economies forced local commanders to carry out only essential repairs. At Fort Malden this policy meant no new construction until the early 1820s. The fort's Royal Engineer supervised construction of a brick barracks, cook house, guardhouse, artillery shed and several storage buildings. Despite these improvements, very little was done to upgrade the earthworks and the post remained a fort more in name than in actuality.

The reluctance to expend large amounts of money on Fort Malden was partly due to British uncertainty about the future of the site. Through the 1820s various designs were suggested to improve or replace Fort Malden, but with the lessening of tensions between the United States and Britain the fort was allowed to decay and the last British troops were withdrawn in 1836.

Fort Malden Revitalized

Fort Malden, circa 1840 Fort Malden, circa 1840
© Parks Canada

The Upper Canadian Rebellion of 1837-39 meant a renaissance for Fort Malden. Troops were rushed back to the fort to repel attacks by rebels and their American sympathizers. Between 1838-40 the fort was almost completely rebuilt. Two large barracks, holding 400 soldiers, were hastily erected as well as an officer's barracks, guardhouse, jail and numerous other buildings. The earthworks were repaired and armed with cannons.

Despite this revitalization, military authorities pondered the true strategic importance of the fort. The end of the rebellion and improved relations with the Americans meant less need for a large military presence in the Detroit River area. Plans for permanent improvements to the fort were shelved and the last regulars left Fort Malden in 1851.

After the regulars, Enrolled Pensioners (retired soldiers) were brought in to maintain the fort and farm the surrounding the military reserve. No significant construction was undertaken during this period (1851-58) except for the building of cottages to house the pensioners.

The Post-Military Period

Fort Malden National Historic Site, 1989 Fort Malden National Historic Site, 1989
© Parks Canada

It was not until the province of Canada West acquired the fort grounds, and opened a "lunatic" asylum in 1859, that new construction began. Existing structures were renovated to house the patients and staff. New facilities were added, including a two-storey brick laundry. With the closing of the asylum in 1870, the buildings and grounds were used as a lumber yard and planing mill. By the early years of the 20th century, the site had been subdivided and private residences were erected.

In 1921 the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada recognized Fort Malden as being of national historic significance. Through the efforts of local citizens, the federal government acquired land for a small park in 1937. Since that time the park has expanded to its current size, a landmark to those major events which helped to shape the Canadian nation.


This Week in History Archives

Shadrach Minkins

Commemorating Canada's History

Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Malden

Histoire

Les origines

Fort Amherstburg, v. 1804Fort Amherstburg, v. 1804
© Parcs Canada

Il faut préciser d'abord que le lieu historique national du Fort-Malden préserve les vestiges d'un second fort, construit sur les ruines d'un premier, le fort Amherstburg, lui-même érigé en 1796. L'armée britannique en avait fait le centre de ses opérations pour la frontière du Détroit pendant la guerre de 1812, mais dut l'incendier avant d'abandonner la région en septembre 1813.

C'est l'armée américaine, en occupant les lieux de septembre 1813 à juillet 1815, qui a donné au fort sa configuration actuelle. Elle entreprit la construction dès son arrivée, mais dut faire face à un manque chronique de main-d'oeuvre et de matériaux. Lorsque les Britanniques reprirent possession des lieux au cours de l'été 1815, ils y trouvèrent un rempart en terre plus petit, à demi achevé, et qui entourait quelques bâtiments rudimentaires.


La reconstruction

Les Britanniques ont été lents à reconstruire le fort par souci d'économie. Les commandants locaux ne pouvaient effectuer que les travaux urgents. Au fort Malden, rien ne fut entrepris avant le début des années 1820. L'officier du génie militaire en poste au fort dirigea la construction d'une caserne en brique, une cuisine, un poste de garde, un hangar pour le matériel d'artillerie et plusieurs remises. En dépit de ces améliorations, on ne répara presque pas le rempart en terre et le poste n'avait vraiment d'un fort que le nom.

Les Britanniques hésitèrent à consacrer des sommes plus importantes au fort Malden en raison de l'incertitude de son avenir. Au cours des années 1820, ils dressèrent des plans divers pour améliorer ou remplacer les ouvrages existants, mais n'en réalisèrent aucun. Par suite de la détente des relations entre Américains et Britanniques, le fort fut abandonné en 1836.

Malden reprend vie

Fort Malden, v. 1840 Fort Malden, v. 1840
© Parcs Canada

C'est la rébellion de 1837-1839 dans le Haut-Canada qui déclencha une relance des activités au fort Malden. Des troupes britanniques furent expédiées d'urgence pour repousser les attaques des insurgés et de leurs partisans américains. De 1838 à 1840, le fort fut presque complètement rebâti. On érigea à la hâte deux grandes casernes pour 400 hommes, de même qu'une caserne pour les officiers, un nouveau poste de garde, une prison et de nombreux bâtiments auxiliaires. Le rempart fut réparé et armé de pièces d'artillerie.

En dépit de cette relance, la plupart des travaux effectués à Malden n'étaient que des expédients, car les autorités militaires continuaient de s'interroger sur l'avenir des lieux. La fin de la rébellion et l'amélioration des rapports avec les États-Unis réduisirent la pertinence d'une forte présence militaire dans la région. Tous les projets d'améliorations permanentes du fort furent abandonnés et les derniers soldats britanniques quittèrent le poste en 1851.

Des pensionnés de l'armée ont alors été chargés d'entretenir le fort et d'exploiter les terres de la réserve militaire qui l'entoure. Aucune construction d'envergure ne fut entreprise pendant la période 1851-1858, si ce n'est celle de cottages pour loger les colons militaires.

Période ultérieure

Lieu historique national du Fort-Malden, 1989 Lieu historique national du
Fort-Malden, 1989

© Parcs Canada

En 1859, la province du Canada-Ouest (l'Ontario) acquit le fort et y ouvrit un asile d'aliénés. On rénova les bâtiments existants destinés aux patients et au personnel. De nouveaux bâtiments furent ajoutés, dont une buanderie de deux étages en briques. Après la fermeture de l'asile en 1870, le terrain et les bâtiments du fort servirent de cour à bois et d'usine de rabotage. Au début du XXe siècle, on commença à lotir la réserve militaire pour construire des maisons particulières.

En 1921, la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada établit que le fort Malden avait une importance historique nationale. Grâce à l'aide de quelques citoyens, le gouvernement fédéral acquit des terrains afin d'établir un petit parc en 1937. Celui-ci s'est agrandi et permet aujourd'hui de rappeler certains des événements qui ont marqué la formation du Canada.


Archives de Cette semaine en histoire

Shadrach Minkins

Commémorez l'histoire du Canada