Common menu bar links

Learning Experiences

Fort Malden National Historic Site
© Parks Canada

March Break at Fort Malden 2015

Date: Monday March 16th through Friday March 20th, 2015.

Hours: Daily from 9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Drop off no earlier than 9:20. Pick up no later than 4:15.

Fee: $24.50 per child each day.

Registration by Friday March 13th is required. Please bring a lunch for each day except Friday. Dress appropriately, as programmes are both indoors and outdoors.

A different workshop is offered each day:

Monday: A Day in the Life of a Soldier: Join the British Army for the day! Take the Queen’s Shilling and put on the redcoat of a British soldier, and then learn the military exercises of the British Army. Learning the fundamentals of marching, arms exercises, and platoon loading, you will be ready to defend Upper Canada from the Rebels. Also, cook a soldier’s snack in the cookhouse, and make your very own model soldier.

Tuesday: Playing Soldier: Each camper will learn to paint a model soldier as a souvenir of the Fort. In the afternoon, kids will learn about the Battle of Lake Erie by playing our unique Battle of Lake Erie Capture the Flag game. Finally, the campers will get to hear music from the Fort’s period musicians, and try out some old style instruments for themselves.

Wednesday: Scavenger Hunt: Fort Malden needs your help. Somebody has made off with our orders from General Brock. Help us find them and we will reward you. Follow clues laid around the Fort and be the first to find the secret orders that will help us stop the invading Americans!

Thursday: “Man the Guns” Prepare yourselves for battle, the Americans are about to attack. You will learn all about forts and cannons, how they built for defence. Learn how to load and fire the big cannons at Fort Malden. Kids will even build their own forts to take home. At the end of the programme, Fort Malden staff will fire one of the cannons.

Friday: Roast Beef of Ol’ England: Roll up your sleeves and spend the morning preparing a soldier’s stew, bread, and butter in the 1840s cookhouse just like the soldiers at Fort Malden. Eat the Beef Stew in the Soldier’s Barracks. After lunch, kids will play several nineteenth century games.

Register without delay! For more information and to register, please call 519-736-5416 or email Alexander.dale@pc.gc.ca

Bring History To Life

Education Programmes at Fort Malden (PDF, 2.8Mb)

Resources - Pre and Post Visit Materials

Activités éducatives

Lieu historique national du Fort-Malden
© Parcs Canada

La relâche de mars au fort Malden - 2015

Date : Du lundi 16 mars au vendredi 20 mars 2015.

Heures : Tous les jours de 9 h 30 à 16 h 00. Arrivée à 9 h 20. Départ à 16 h 15 au plus tard.

Droits d’entrée : 24,50 $ par enfant, par jour.

Il faut s’inscrire avant le vendredi 13 mars. Les enfants doivent apporter un lunch chaque jour de la semaine sauf le vendredi et porter des vêtements appropriés, car les activités ont lieu à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur.

Un atelier différent a lieu chaque jour

Lundi – Soldat d’un jour : Faites partie de l’armée britannique pendant toute une journée! Servez la reine vêtu de l’habit rouge des soldats anglais. Apprenez des exercices militaires et les notions fondamentales de la marche, du maniement des armes et de la formation de peloton; vous serez prêt à défendre le Haut Canada contre les rebelles. Vous pouvez aussi vous préparer un casse-croûte de soldat dans la cuisine du camp ou fabriquer votre propre soldat miniature.

Mardi – Jouer au soldat : Chaque campeur apprendra à peindre un soldat miniature en guise de souvenir du fort. Dans l’après-midi, les enfants se familiariseront avec la bataille du lac Érié en pratiquant notre version du jeu du drapeau. Enfin, les campeurs auront l’occasion d’entendre de la musique jouée par les musiciens d’époque du fort et de faire l’essai d’instruments anciens.

Mercredi – Chasse au trésor : Le fort Malden a besoin de votre aide. Quelqu’un s’est emparé des ordres secrets envoyés par le général Brock. Aidez-nous à les trouver, et vous recevrez une récompense. Suivez les indices laissés aux alentours du fort et soyez le premier à trouver les ordres qui nous permettront d’empêcher l’invasion américaine!

Jeudi – Manœuvre des canons : Préparez-vous à la bataille, les Américains sont sur le point d’attaquer. Vous saurez tout sur les forts et les canons, et comment les utiliser pour se défendre. Apprenez comment charger les gros canons du fort Malden et faire feu. Jouez à divers jeux avec lesquels s’amusaient les enfants en 1837-1838. À la fin du programme, le personnel du fort tirera un coup de canon.

Vendredi – Roast Beef anglais à l’ancienne : Relevez vos manches et passez l’avant-midi dans une cuisine des années 1840 à préparer le ragout, le pain et le beurre que mangeaient les soldats du fort Malden. Régalez vous de ce mijoté de bœuf dans la caserne des soldats. Ensuite, jouez à plusieurs jeux datant du XIXe siècle.

Inscrivez votre enfant sans tarder! Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements et l’inscription, veuillez appeler au 519-736-5416 ou envoyez un courriel à Alexander.dale@pc.gc.ca.

Les programmes éducatifs font revivre l'histoire!

Programmes éducatifs à Fort-Malden (PDF, 2.2Mb)

Ressources - Matériaux pré et poste visite