Laurier House National Historic Site of Canada

Natural Wonders & Cultural Treasures

The History of Laurier House
Laurier House. October, 1902.
William James Topley/Library and Archives Canada/PA-008979

The History of Laurier House

Laurier House is located in Sandy Hill, a fashionable residential area within easy commuting distance of Ottawa's commercial and political centre. In addition to Sir Wilfrid Laurier and Mackenzie King, a number of prominent political figures found Sandy Hill a desirable place to live. Learn more...

Sir Wilfrid Laurier
Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier, Prime Minister of Canada from 1896-1911.
William James Topley / Library and Archives Canada / C-001971

The Lauriers at Laurier House

Before the purchase of the fine Sandy Hill house that had belonged to John Leslie , the Lauriers, when they were in Ottawa for extended periods, had lived in a furnished apartment at the Russell House Hotel, one of the most fashionable in Ottawa. In 1897, they moved into their new home, described as being "handsomely decorated and furnished", altogether a residence suitable to Canada's prime minister. Learn more...

The Political Life of Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir Wilfrid Laurier served as a member of Parliament for over forty years. He was the leader of the Liberal party from 1887 to 1919, and prime minister of Canada from 1896 to 1911. His accomplishments were on such a scale that he is remembered today as one of Canada's greatest political leaders. Learn more...

William Lyon Mackenzie King
Portrait of the Rt. Hon. William L. Mackenzie King, Prime Minister of Canada from 1921 to 1926; from 1926 to 1930 and from 1935 to 1948.
Yousuf Karsh / Library and Archives Canada / C-027650

William Lyon Mackenzie King at Laurier House

Although Mackenzie King had frequently visited Laurier House, he was upset by its appearance when he became its new owner: "I confess it is a bare bleak place ... not at all to my liking in any particular [and] will require to be completely gone over. I have little or no sentiment about it." Learn more...

The Political Life of William Lyon Mackenzie King

Mackenzie King's political career is one of the most extraordinary in Canada's history. He had no charisma and never gained the affection of the Canadian public. Yet, he was Canada's longest serving prime minister. Learn more...
Zoé Laurier at Laurier House circa 1920
Zoé Laurier at Laurier House circa 1920
©National Archives of Canada /PA-211425

Related Documents

Lady Laurier's Will
The Will of William Lyon Mackenzie King
The Laurier House Act 1951
The Diary of William Lyon Mackenzie King

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Maison-Laurier

Merveilles naturelles et trésors culturels

L'histoire de la maison Laurier
Maison Laurier. Octobre 1902.
William James Topley/Bibliothèque et archives Canada/PA-008979

L'histoire de la Maison-Laurier

La Maison-Laurier se trouve dans le quartier de la Côte-de-Sable, un secteur résidentiel à la mode, à peu de distance du centre commercial et politique d'Ottawa. En plus de sir Wilfrid Laurier et de Mackenzie King, plusieurs personnalités politiques éminentes ont recherché ce quartier pour y vivre. Pour en savoir davantage...

Sir Wilfrid Laurier
Le très honorable sir Wilfrid Laurier, premier ministre du Canada de 1896 à 1911.
William James Topley / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / C-001971

Les Laurier à la maison Laurier

Avant l'achat de la belle maison de la Côte-de-Sable qui avait appartenu à John Leslie , les Laurier, lorsqu'ils séjournaient à Ottawa pour des périodes prolongées, s'étaient logés dans un appartement meublé à l'hôtel Russell House, l'un des hôtels les plus en vogue d'Ottawa. En 1897, ils ont occupé leur nouvelle maison, décrite comme « bellement décorée et meublée », et généralement une résidence convenant bien au premier ministre du Canada. Pour en savoir davantage...

La vie politique de sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir Wilfrid Laurier a été député au Parlement pendant plus de quarante ans. Il a été chef du Parti libéral de 1887 jusqu'en 1919, et premier ministre du Canada de 1896 à 1911. Ses réalisations ont été telles qu'il est considéré aujourd'hui comme l'un des plus grands chefs politiques du Canada. Pour en savoir davantage...

William Lyon Mackenzie King
Portrait du très honorable William L. Mackenzie King, premier ministre du Canada de 1921 à 1926; de 1926 à 1930 et de 1935 à 1948.
Yousuf Karsh / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / C-027650

La vie de William Lyon Mackenzie King à la maison Laurier

Mackenzie King avait souvent visité la maison Laurier, mais lorsqu'il en est devenu propriétaire, il s'est montré troublé par son apparence : « Je confesse que c'est un endroit nu et lugubre & pas du tout à mon goût dans aucun détail [et] devra être refait au complet. Je n'ai que très peu ou aucun sentiment à son égard. » Pour en savoir davantage...

La vie politique de William Lyon Mackenzie King

La carrière politique de Mackenzie King est l'une des plus extraordinaires dans l'histoire du Canada. Il n'avait pas de charisme, et il n'a jamais gagné l'affection du public canadien. Pourtant, il a été le premier ministre du Canada aux plus longs états de service. Pour en savoir davantage...

Zoé Laurier à la Maison-Laurier vers 1920 Zoé Laurier à la Maison-Laurier vers 1920
©Les Archives nationales du Canada /PA11425

Documents connexes

Le testament de lady Laurier
Le testament de
William Lyon Mackenzie King
La Loi sur la maison Laurier, 1951
Le journal de William Lyon Mackenzie King