Inverarden House National Historic Site of Canada

Natural Wonders & Cultural Treasures

History

The History of Inverarden House

John Macdonald of Garth
©Robert E. Gard / Alberta Folklore and Local History Collection / 96-93-529

Inverarden House was built in 1816 as a retirement home for John McDonald of Garth who had been a trading partner of the North West Company in Montreal. It was set in the midst of a 150 acre estate, parts of which were leased to tenants for farming. McDonald left the house in 1823 when he married his second wife and moved to a new house nearby. He sold
Inverarden to his daughter, Eliza, and her husband, John Duncan Campbell.

Inverarden was occupied by Eliza and John Campbell and their descendants for nearly 150 years. While parts of the property were sold off over the course of time, it was only in 1965 that the family sold the house to a chemical company that had purchased other property nearby. Chemcell Ltd. donated the house and 1ha. of land surrounding it, to Parks Canada in 1970.

The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada had designated Inveraden House as a national historic site in 1968 because it is a significant early example of Regency architecture and is associated with the settlement in Eastern Ontario of partners of the North West Company. When Parks Canada acquired the house in 1970, an extensive restoration project was carried out to take it back to its appearance in the 1820s. After the restoration, it served for many years as an historic house museum operated by the Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry Historical Society. As a result of the relocation of the museum in 2000, it is no longer open to the public.

The Architecture of Inverarden House

Inverarden House

Inverarden House
©Parks Canada / Steve Weir

According to the Historic Sites and Monuments Board: "This house, built in 1816, is a fine early example of Regency architecture and its interior is a pleasing expression of Georgian symmetry with excellent detailing. In a wooded setting and commanding an impressive view, this was a fitting house for a country squire."

Visually, Inverarden is a very pleasing house. A 1½ storey rubble stone structure, it is set high on its foundations, giving generous light to the servants' areas in the basement. The original rectangular building was flanked by one-storey wings in the early 1820s which give variety to the plain 1816 facade. The flatness of the stucco-covered wall surfaces is relieved by the large, multi-paned casement windows, by the doorway with sidelights and elliptical fan, and by the massive porch reached by a high flight of steps. Overall, the facade is symmetrical and this sense of symmetry is enhanced by the hip roof and by the placement of the four chimneys.

An important element of Regency architecture is the siting of a building within the landscape to create a Picturesque setting. Inverarden faces in a southerly direction to take advantage of the sunlight but also of the views of the St. Lawrence River. Although it was placed within a wooded area, it was built at the top of a natural rise in land from the river, and the driveway from the main road was placed so as to open the southern view from the house.

Over the years the occupants of Inverarden made changes to the house and modernised it. Fortunately the changes had little affect on the interior. Inverarden has a centre hall plan with an elegant staircase rising up to the upper half storey. The original house had one large room with a smaller room behind, on either side of the hall. The wings built in the early 1820s added two additional rooms to the main floor. The original fireplaces survive and some of the original woodwork, plaster work and hardware. The basement was the servants' area with bedrooms, a large kitchen and a larder. The original hearth and bake oven survive, along with a smoke cupboard for preserving meats. Throughout the whole house, there is ample evidence of the skill of the craftsmen who built it.

The North West Company and Eastern Ontario

David Thompson

David Thompson
©Ontario Heritage Foundation

Inverarden House is associated with the settlement in Eastern Ontario of partners of the North West Company, a fur trading venture that played avital role in the early history of the exploration of Canada. The company was formed in Montreal in the 1780s to bring an end to the fierce and violent competition among the fur traders of the city. It was a partnership of merchants and what were called "wintering partners", the men who travelled into the Canadian wilderness in search of furs. Among the wintering partners were men like Sir Alexander Mackenzie, famous for his voyages of discovery that took him to the Arctic Ocean and to the Pacific.

The fur trade was a source of wealth for partners of the North West Company. John McDonald of Garth sold his shares in the company for £10,000 before retiring to his new house near Cornwall in Eastern Ontario. Other North West Company partners who joined him in retiring to this area were John Macdonell, who settled on the Ottawa River, Hugh McGillis who bought a house in Williamstown, and the renownedexplorers, David Thompson (Williamstown) and Simon Fraser (Cornwall).

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Maison-Inverarden

Merveilles naturelles et trésors culturels

Histoire

L'histoire de la maison Inverarden

John Macdonald of Garth
©Robert E. Gard / Alberta Folklore and Local History Collection / 96-93-529

La maison Inverarden fut construite en 1816, lorsque John McDonald of Garth, un commerçant de fourrures partenaire dans la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest à Montréal, prit sa retraite. Elle était sise au milieu d'un domaine de 150 acres, dont certaines parties étaient affermées. McDonald quitta la maison en 1823, lorsqu'il épousa sa deuxième femme, et déménagea dans une nouvelle maison à proximité. Il vendit Inverarden à sa fille Eliza et à son mari, John Duncan Campbell.

Eliza et John Campbell et leurs descendants habitèrent à Inverarden pendant près de 150 ans. Au fil des années, quelques parcelles de la propriété furent vendues, mais ce ne fut qu'en 1965 que la famille vendit la maison à une compagnie chimique qui avait déjà acquis d'autres propriétés dans les alentours. La société Chemcell Ltd. fit don de la maison et de un hectare de terres environnantes à Parcs Canada en 1970.

La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a désigné la maison lieu historique national en 1968, parce qu'elle est un exemple remarquable de l'architecture de style Régence et qu'elle est associée à l'établissement dans l'Est de l'Ontario de partenaires de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest. Lorsque Parcs Canada acquit la maison en 1970, on réalisa un vaste projet de restauration afin de redonner à la maison son apparence des années 1820. Suite à cette restauration, la maison historique fut exploitée pendant de nombreuses années comme musée par la Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry Historical Society. Depuis le déménagement du musée en l'an 2000, la maison n'est plus ouverte au public.

L'architecture de la maison Inverarden

Maison Inverarden

Maison Inverarden
©Parcs Canada / Steve Weir

Selon l'avis de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, « Cette maison, construite en 1816, constitue un bel exemple de l'architecture de style Régence, et son intérieur est une expression agréable de symétrie georgienne à l'excellente finition. Dans un environnement boisé et avec une vue magnifique, c'était une maison tout à fait digne d'un gentilhomme de campagne. »

Inverarden est une maison d'apparence très agréable. Structure en moellons d'un étage et demi, elle est posée sur des fondations élevées, ce qui donne beaucoup de lumière dans les espaces réservés aux domestiques, au sous-sol. Le bâtiment rectangulaire d'origine fut flanqué d'ailes d'un étage au début des années 1820, donnant ainsi un peu de variété à la façade unie de 1816. Les surfaces des murs revêtus de stuc sont animées par les grandes fenêtres à battants aux nombreux carreaux, par la porte d'entrée avec fenêtres latérales et imposte en ellipse, et par le porche massif auquel on accède par une haute volée de marches. Dans l'ensemble, la façade est symétrique, et ce sentiment de symétrie est rehaussé par le toit en croupe et l'emplacement des quatre cheminées.

Un élément important de l'architecture de style Régence est la situation d'un bâtiment au cœur du paysage de façon à créer un environnement pittoresque. Inverarden est orientée vers le sud afin de tirer profit de la lumière du soleil, mais également des points de vue sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Bien que située dans une région boisée, la maison fut construite au sommet d'une élévation naturelle des terres face au fleuve, et l'allée qui y conduit à partir de la route principale fut placée de façon à dégager la vue vers le sud à partir de la maison.
Au fil des années, les occupants d'Inverarden apportèrent des changements à la maison et la modernisèrent. Ces changements ont heureusement eu peu d'effet sur l'intérieur. Inverarden possède un hall central avec un élégant escalier qui s'élève jusqu'au demi-étage supérieur. La maison originale comptait une grande pièce avec une pièce plus petite derrière, de chaque côté du hall. Les ailes construites au début des années 1820 ajoutèrent deux pièces additionnelles à l'étage principal. Les foyers d'origine sont toujours en place, ainsi qu'une partie des boiseries, des plâtres et des ferrures. Le sous-sol appartenait aux domestiques, et renfermait les chambres à coucher, une grande cuisine et un garde-manger. Le poêle et le fourneau d'origine sont toujours en place, ainsi qu'un fumoir pour la préservation des viandes. Dans toute la maison abondent les signes de l'habileté des artisans qui l'ont construite.

La Compagnie du Nord-Ouest et l'Est de l'Ontario

David Thompson
©Fondation du patrimoine ontarien

La maison Inverarden est associée à l'établissement dans l'Est de l'Ontario de partenaires de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, une entreprise de commerce des fourrures qui joua un rôle essentiel au cours des premières explorations du Canada. La compagnie fut formée à Montréal dans les années 1780 afin de mettre fin à la concurrence féroce et violente entre les commerçants de fourrure de la ville. Il s'agissait d'un partenariat de marchands et « d'hivernants », c'est-à-dire des hommes qui parcouraient les étendues sauvages du Canada à la recherche de fourrures. Parmi ces hivernants, se trouvaient des hommes comme sir Alexander Mackenzie, célèbre pour ses voyages de découverte qui l'amenèrent jusqu'à l'océan Arctique et au Pacifique.

Le commerce des fourrures était à l'origine de la fortune des partenaires de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest. John McDonald of Garth vendit ses parts dans la compagnie pour la somme de 10,000 £ avant de se retirer dans sa nouvelle maison près de Cornwall dans l'Est de l'Ontario. D'autres partenaires de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest qui prirent également leur retraite dans cette région furent John Macdonell, qui s'établit sur la rivière des Outaouais, Hugh McGillis, qui acheta une maison à Williamstown, et les explorateurs renommés David Thompson (Williamstown) et Simon Fraser (Cornwall).

Ce site à l'est de Cornwall, en Ontario, est un exemple exceptionnel de l'architecture domestique des cottages de style Régence du début du XIXe siècle au Canada. La maison Inverarden fut construite en 1816 à l'intention de John McDonald, un prospère commerçant de fourrures, lorsqu'il prit sa retraite de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest.