Common menu bar links

Natural Wonders & Cultural Treasures

Fort George

Fort George National Historic Site
© Parks Canada

To protect their interests in Upper Canada, the British set work immediately to construct a fort across the Niagara River. Control of the river supply route was essential to the survival of the forts west of the Niagara region. Learn more

Navy Hall

Navy Hall National Historic Site
© Parks Canada

In 1765, British naval craftsmen from Fort Niagara erected a barracks on the opposite side of the Niagara River. Over the years, several buildings, known collectively as Navy Hall, evolved into a key military supply facility for British forts on the upper Great Lakes. Learn more

Fort Mississauga

Fort Mississauga National Historic Site
© Parks Canada

Completed after the War of 1812, the fort and its central tower were located at a strategic position at the mouth of the Niagara River to protect the British/Canadian side of the Niagara frontier and to serve as a counterpoise to Fort Niagara. Learn more

Queenston Heights and Brocks Monument

Queenston Heights National Historic Site
© Parks Canada

Before dawn on October 13, 1812, a daring American army crossed the Niagara River to attack the British forces stationed at the village of Queenston. Learn more

Butlers Barracks

Butlers Barracks National Historic Site
© Parks Canada

Following the War of 1812, work began on a new range of barracks and storehouses on the south-western edge of the military lands, or Commons, out of reach of the American guns. By 1854, the site was known as Butler's Barracks, named in honour of John Butler and his Butler's Rangers. Learn more

Navy Island

Navy Island is on 128.2 hectares situated in the upper Niagara River and has a rich undisturbed deposit of prehistoric archaeological material. This is where the first British decked vessels to sail the upper Great Lakes were built. These vessels were essential to maintaining the supply lines westward during Pontiac's uprising (1763-64). It was briefly occupied in 1837 by Canadian rebels led by William Lyon Mackenzie, but they were forced to abandon it in January of 1838. Learn more

Merveilles naturelles et trésors culturels

Fort-George

Lieu historique national du Fort-George
© Parcs Canada

Pour protéger leurs intérêts dans le Haut-Canada, les Britanniques entreprennent la construction d'un fort sur l'autre rive de la Niagara, car le contrôle de cette voie d'approvisionnement maritime est essentiel pour la survie des forts à l'Ouest de la région de Niagara. Apprendre plus

Salle maritime

Salle maritime
© Parcs Canada

En 1765, des charpentiers de marine britanniques du fort Niagara construisirent une caserne sur la rive opposée de la rivière Niagara. Au cours des années, d'autres bâtiments furent ajoutés, que l'on appelle collectivement le salle maritime, devenu une installation d'approvisionnement militaire clé pour les forts britanniques dans la région supérieure des Grands Lacs. Apprendre plus

Fort-Mississauga

Lieu historique national du Fort-Mississauga
© Parcs Canada

Complétés après la guerre de 1812, le fort et sa tour centrale sont situés dans une position stratégique à l’embouchure de la rivière Niagara, de façon à protéger le côté canado-britannique de la frontière du Niagara et à faire contrepoids au fort Niagara. Apprendre plus

Tailles de Queenston et monument de Brocks

Lieu historique national des Hauteurs-de-Queenston
© Parcs Canada

Avant l'aube du 13 octobre 1812, une armée américaine audacieuse traversa la rivière Niagara pour attaquer les forces britanniques en poste au village de Queenston. Apprendre plus

Les casernes de Butler

Lieu historique national des Casernes-de-Butler
© Parcs Canada

Après la guerre de 1812, des travaux furent entrepris pour construire de nouvelles casernes et de nouveaux entrepôts du côté sud-ouest des terres militaires, ou des "Commons", qui seraient hors de portée des canons américains. En 1854, ce nouvel emplacement portait le nom de Casernes de Butler; il fut baptisé ainsi en l'honneur de John Butler et de ses troupes. Apprendre plus

L'Île Navy

L'île Navy occupe 128,2 hectares dans le cours supérieur de la rivière Niagara. On y retrouve des dépôts intacts de matériel archéologique préhistorique. C'est là que les premières embarcations pontées britanniques à naviguer dans la région supérieure des Grands Lacs ont été construites. Ces vaisseaux étaient indispensables pour maintenir les voies d'approvisionnement vers l'Ouest pendant la révolte de Pontiac (1763-1764). Des rebelles canadiens conduits par William Lyon Mackenzie l'ont occupée brièvement, mais ils furent forcés de l'abandonner en janvier 1838. Apprendre plus