Fort George National Historic Site of Canada

The Onset of War - The 1812 Campaign.

Throughout 1811 political tension mounted in Washington. The maritime states complained of British abuses at sea. The British Royal Navy (dominant since the battle of Trafalgar) controlled maritime commerce and the British Parliament passed several acts to restrict American access to Europe (France particularly). England demanded that vessels passing through the English Channel had to carry exclusive documents if shipping to their ports, and the boarding and confiscation of vessels and impressment of sailors (whose nationality American/British was in question) were commonplace activities of the British Navy.

In the south-western states, politicians (Warhawks) were concerned with their ability to expand westward (because of conflicts with the Western Tribes on the frontiers of Ohio, Tennessee and Kentucky). For the Western Tribes, American expansion west meant the destruction of their lands and people. The ultimately successful American armies that had been sent into Indian Territory' in Ohio (1790's) had made that point clear. The Republican Warhawks' controlled by President Madison wanted to raise armies to assist in their expansion to the west either by direct attack or by eliminating British support for Natives and their alliances. The British support stemmed from the British desire to create a Native buffer state between the Americans and the settlers in Upper Canada. If successful, the Americans would have to contend with the Natives any time they wanted to attack the British and American expansion to the North would be difficult.

For the Americans, war with British North America was an issue of political opportunity and convenience. Napoleon's armies marched with confidence across the continent and it became clear that the British would have to seriously increase their efforts in Europe to prevent French dominance. The British even feared the possibility of a French invasion of the United Kingdom. The minor problems in North America would have to be put on the backburner.

Military and Naval Establishments on the Great Lakes
Military and Naval Establishments on the Great Lakes.
©Parks Canada / Gavin Watt

Defending Upper Canada The ½ million settlers who sparsely occupied Canada from the east coast to the western frontiers of the Great Lakes, heard the rumblings from the over 7 million residents to the south. Spread out, vulnerable throughout the transportation chain, hopelessly outnumbered (14-1) and without the hope of real aid from Britain, the defence of the Canadas seemed grim indeed. Sir George Prevost, Governor of the Canadas, realised that he had insufficient troops to protect them (5,600) and decided that Upper Canada was too vulnerable to attack with a long U.S. border and too disaffected (by Late Loyalists) to risk sending out large numbers of troops to defend it. His strategy was to ensure that strongholds like Quebec and Halifax (places that had been successfully defended before) did not fall into American hands and so he concentrated the British regiments that he had in these locations. The few he sent into Upper Canada (1,400) were to be a token defence that, if obviously outnumbered or at risk of capture, would retreat towards the safety of Lower Canada.

The British soldiers were spread along the Great Lakes system, protecting (for the most part) the places where the water narrowed, and countering the American positions to the south. The system of forts protected a waterway over 1500 kilometres long.

Map of Aboriginal Nations that fought in 1812
Aboriginal Nations which took part in the War of 1812.
©Parks Canada / Gavin Watt

Natives. Not surprisingly, the Natives who had settled around the Grand River were reluctant to join into another European style' conflict. Their support of the British during the American Revolution had cost them their lands in the Mohawk valley when the borders were redefined at the end of the war. Newly established in Canada, the Grand River Natives were worried that participation on the British side would give license to American invaders to destroy them and take their properties. This threat was very real and when Hull's Army invaded Amherstburg in 1812, he distributed proclamations threatening the execution of natives, militia and soldiers serving with natives, for the British cause. For the Western Tribes who were struggling for survival against an expanding American population, the American campaigns against the Western Tribes in the 1790's, had only elicited passive British support. The Western Tribes fought to keep possession of their lands before and during the War of 1812. Participation on either side of the 1812 conflict could be disastrous if they supported the losing cause. In a wise move most natives remained neutral until they determined the chances of success for both sides. Brock's decision to move quickly and decisively at the beginning of the conflict helped sway neutral Indians to the British cause and their participation at Mackinac, Detroit and Queenston Heights were key to those British victories.

Black Soldiers on the Niagara frontier.
Before the outbreak of war, Richard Pierpoint, a Black veteran of Butler's Rangers suggested raising a corps of coloured men to protect the Niagara Frontier. The Black population was estimated (in the 1790's) at 500 in Upper Canada, with 300 living in the Niagara region. Although Pierpoint's request was denied, in August 1812, a Captain Robert Runchey ( a white Niagara tavern owner) was put in charge of a small corps of free coloured men raised for defence on the Niagara frontier. When the Coloured corps was raised, several black men shifted from the York Militia to join Runchey's corps. In all, the Corps totalled about 50 men, a substantial percentage of the free male black population. The corps garrisoned Fort George and saw constant service throughout the War of 1812, including participation at the battle of Queenston Heights.

Militia and Fencibles To increase the available manpower, Fencible regiments were raised and the militia was evaluated. Militia service was compulsory for men ages 16-60 but when called out, the militia were considered unreliable due to a lack of firearms, minimal training and dubious loyalty. The vocal Late Loyalist population made the American government believe that to take Canada would be a mere matter of marching. because the American Army would be so well received in Upper Canada. To minimize the risk of arming a disaffected populace the best and most loyal Upper Canadian militiamen were formed into smaller Flank Companies. (2,000 of a possible 11,000 militiamen) In addition to the militia, the British formed Fencible regiments. The Fencibles were colonials (Loyalists and settlers); armed, equipped and trained as regular British soldiers, they enlisted for 2 years and were not required to serve beyond the borders of the Canadas.

For the most part the militia swayed with the tides of war, losing enthusiasm when Hull crossed at Amherstburg and regaining it with Brock's victory at Detroit. The militia was poorly paid, housed, fed and equipped. Seasonal restrictions (most notably harvest time) saw the militia desert (returning home) in droves to avoid personal ruin. Their contributions, particularly at Detroit and Queenston Heights, led to a sense of pride in the Canadian militia and helped to build an emerging Canadian identity (The Canadian beaver symbol was used for the first time during the War of 1812) The sense of pride also led to greater surveillance of and discomfort for, the Late Loyalist population.

Niagara. The town of Niagara (Newark) had grown significantly from the small Loyalist settlement, to the provincial capital, to the legal and administrative hub of the Niagara Peninsula. The merchants in town prospered greatly from the presence of the British garrison and the local Indian Department. With the declaration of war in 1812, the amicable ties between the towns of Newark and Youngstown, and the garrisons at Fort George and Fort Niagara came to a halt.

In the Center Division Headquarters at Fort George, Brock, the civil and military administrator for the province disagreed with Prevost's defensive strategy for Upper Canada. Brock felt that passivity would be viewed as acceptance of the inevitability of American invasion and that the best hope of extinguishing the American war effort was to attack the western front immediately upon the declaration of war. Brock understood that while the Americans wanted to annex Upper Canada they didn't have the logistical, political or monetary support to effectively do so. Any chance to make this war less popular (through military defeat) or costly for the Americans, had to be taken to swing political pressure to stop the war. Brock desired quick and decisive action immediately following the declaration of war and his strategy proved very effective in 1812.

Fort George prepares for war. The Fort George complex needed to be changed to be serviceable for the war ahead. Plans were drafted up to reduce the Fort in size to create a stronger defensible works incorporating the north half of the Fort (or section closest to Fort Niagara). The rather temporary and makeshift nature of the original complex was ill suited to meet a crisis. As the 2 countries shared a lengthy border along the Niagara River, the forts at both ends of the river were critical to the flow of supplies and troops. Like the eastern end of the lake (at Kingston) American control in Niagara would prove fatal to the posts further inland (although the Americans realised this they chose to ignore the wisdom of this strategy as Kingston was a well defended port) .

The complex at Fort George was responsible for a vast area. From Two Mile Creek (2 miles beyond the mouth of the Niagara River) to Queenston Heights (11 km up river) was the military responsibility of Fort George. The Fort George area was manned by 200 regular soldiers and 300 militiamen and at Queenston 100 regulars and 200 militiamen served. A short distance beyond that, troops watched the Chippawa area (100 regulars and 200 militiamen) and another small contingent was stationed at Fort Erie (200 regulars and 200 militiamen). In all, roughly 600 regular soldiers and 900 militiamen protected the lengthy Niagara frontier.

Every available piece of artillery was dragged out and placed at strategic points along the river to support the main fortifications but there were very few cannons available. Troops patrolled the length of the river and dispatch riders and semaphore telegraphs passed communications throughout the line. A system of bonfires was established which were to be ignited to warn of invasion and call out the militia. Paralleling the British efforts, forts, batteries and soldiers lined the length of the American side as well. The enemy was dangerously close and an attack could come at any time.

In October, in conjunction with the crossing at Queenston and the battle at Queenston Heights Forts George and Niagara exchanged artillery fire. Both the town and the garrison sustained serious damage from the exchange.

Fort George 1816
Fort George 1816.
©Public Archives of Canada / 1816
 
American spy map of Fort George
American spy map of Fort George.
©The National Archives, Washington D.C / Drawn in September or October of 1812

On the right, an American spy map circa 1812 (Titled Plan of the English Fort GEORGE) shows the interior layout of the Fort at its reduced size. To the left, to illustrate the division, detail of an 1816 map shows the outlines of the first Fort with the reduced complex at roughly the same size and orientation as the American version.

The Declaration of War

President Madison and the Warhawks were anxious for war while Britain was so obviously engaged with Napoleon. On June 1st President Madison presented a bill of reasons for officially declaring war on Britain. The bill cited 4 British maritime offences and British support of the hostile western tribes as the primary reasons for war, and was passed on June 18th, 1812. The war was not universally popular. Representing the 17 States, the House of Representatives voted (June 4, 1812) 79 - 49 in favour of the bill and the Senate voted (June 17, 1812) 19 -13 in favour of war. Within a week, news of the declaration of war had reached Quebec, Montreal, York and Newark.

The American attack was to focus in three areas: the Detroit area, the Niagara region, and Montreal. Command of the assault on Canada was given to Major General Henry Dearborn who set up headquarters at Albany, New York. Dearborn tried desperately to co-ordinate his 3 armies to attack simultaneously to overwhelm Upper Canada, but was politically thwarted (lack of state government support for troops) from achieving this goal. Co-ordination of the American militia and regular soldiers was almost impossible and Dearborn and his Brigadier Generals, Hull, Van Rensselaer and Smyth would all meet with individual defeat in the first year of the war.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-George

Le début de la guerre - La campagne de 1812

Au cours de l'année 1811, les tensions politiques s'accroissent à Washington. Les États maritimes se plaignent des abus britanniques en mer. La Marine royale britannique, qui jouit de la maîtrise des mers depuis la bataille de Trafalgar, contrôle le commerce maritime, et le Parlement britannique adopte plusieurs lois destinées à restreindre l'accès des Américains à l'Europe, et à la France en particulier. L'Angleterre exige que les navires qui passent par la Manche détiennent des documents d'exclusivité s'ils se dirigent vers leurs ports d'attache, et l'abordage et la confiscation des navires et le recrutement forcé des marins dont la nationalité américaine ou britannique n'est pas claire sont des activités courantes de la Marine britannique. Dans les États du Sud-Ouest, les politiciens (les faucons) s'inquiètent de leur capacité d'expansion vers l'ouest, (à cause des conflits avec les Tribus de l'Ouest sur les frontières de l'Ohio, du Tennessee et du Kentucky).

Pour les Tribus de l'Ouest, l'expansion vers l'ouest des Américains signifie la destruction de leurs terres et de leur peuple. Les armées américaines, ultimement victorieuses, qui avaient été envoyées dans le « Territoire indien » de l'Ohio (dans les années 1790) en avaient fait la démonstration. Les « faucons » républicains contrôlés par le président Madison veulent lever des armées pour aider l'expansion vers l'ouest, soit par des attaques directes, soit par l'élimination du soutien britannique aux Autochtones et de leurs alliances. Le soutien britannique vient du désir des Britanniques de créer un État-tampon autochtone entre les Américains et les colons du Haut-Canada. S'ils y réussissent, les Américains devront compter avec les Autochtones dès le moment où ils veulent attaquer les Britanniques, et l'expansion américaine vers le nord serait difficile.

Pour les Américains, la guerre avec l'Amérique du Nord britannique est une question d'opportunité politique et de commodité. Les armées de Napoléon marchent à travers le continent européen avec assurance, et il est devenu évident que les Britanniques auront à intensifier sérieusement leurs efforts en Europe pour empêcher la domination française. Les Britanniques craignent même la possibilité d'une invasion française du Royaume-Uni. Les problèmes mineurs en Amérique du Nord devront attendre.

Établissements miitaires et navals du réseau des Grand lacs.
Établissements miitaires et navals du réseau des Grand lacs.
©Parcs Canada / Gavin Watt

La défense du Haut-Canada. Le demi-million de colons éparpillés au Canada depuis la côte est jusqu'aux limites occidentales des Grands Lacs entendent les grondements de leurs voisins du Sud, qui sont plus de 7 millions. Très étendue, vulnérable tout au long des lignes de transport, en infériorité numérique totale (14 contre 1) et sans espoir d'une aide réelle de la Grande-Bretagne, la défense des Canadas apparaît en effet très sombre. Sir George Prevost, gouverneur des Canadas, réalise que ses troupes sont insuffisantes (5 600 hommes) pour les protéger, et il décide que le Haut-Canada est trop vulnérable devant une attaque à cause de sa très longue frontière avec les États-Unis, et trop traversé de mécontents (les loyalistes tardifs) pour qu'on risque d'y envoyer des troupes nombreuses pour le défendre. Sa stratégie est de s'assurer que des places fortes comme Québec et Halifax, des endroits qui avaient déjà été défendus avec succès, ne tomberont pas entre les mains américaines, et il concentre donc les régiments britanniques dont il dispose à ces endroits. Les soldats peu nombreux qu'il envoie au Haut-Canada (1 400 hommes) constituent une défense symbolique qui, face à des troupes supérieures en nombre ou en cas de risque de capture, feront retraite pour se mettre en sécurité au Bas-Canada.

Les soldats britanniques sont éparpillés dans le réseau des Grands Lacs, protégeant surtout les endroits où les eaux se rétrécissent, et faisant contrepartie aux positions américaines au sud. Le système de forts protège une voie d'eau de plus de 1 500 kilomètres.

Carte des nations indigènes en Amérique du Nord 1812
Nations indigènes qui ont participé à la guerre de 1812.
©Parcs Canada / Gavin Watt

Les Autochtones
Assez naturellement, les Autochtones qui se sont établis dans la région de la rivière Grand ne sont pas très disposés à participer à un autre conflit « de style européen ». L'appui qu'ils ont donné aux Britanniques au cours de la Révolution américaine leur a coûté leurs terres dans la vallée de la Mohawk lorsque les frontières ont été rectifiées à la fin de cette guerre. Nouvellement établis au Canada, les Autochtones de la rivière Grand s'inquiètent que s'ils se rangent aux côtés des Britanniques, cela servira de prétexte aux envahisseurs américains de les détruire et de leur enlever leurs propriétés. Cette menace est très réelle, et lorsque l'armée de Hull envahit Amherstburg en 1812, celui-ci diffuse des proclamations menaçant d'exécution les Autochtones, les miliciens et les soldats accompagnés d'Autochtones et soutenant la cause britannique. Dans le cas des Tribus de l'Ouest qui se battaient pour leur survie face à une population américaine en expansion, les campagnes des Américains menées contre les Tribus de l'Ouest dans les années 1790 n'avaient suscité qu'un soutien britannique passif. Les Tribus de l'Ouest combattent pour demeurer en possession de leurs terres avant et pendant la guerre de 1812. (Voir la carte dans la section Loyalistes, « Frontières américaines et britanniques avant la guerre de 1812 ») La participation au conflit de 1812 d'un côté ou de l'autre pourrait se révéler désastreuse si la cause appuyée devait se révéler perdante. Prudemment, la plupart des Autochtones demeurent neutres jusqu'à ce qu'ils puissent déterminer les chances de réussite des deux belligérants. La décision de Brock d'agir rapidement et de façon décisive dès le début du conflit aide à entraîner les Indiens neutres du côté britannique, et leur participation aux batailles de Mackinac, de Détroit et des Hauteurs de Queenston est ce qui permet aux Britanniques de remporter ces victoires.

Les soldats noirs sur la frontière du Niagara
Avant que la guerre n'éclate, Richard Pierpoint, un vétéran noir des Rangers de Butler, suggère de lever un corps d'hommes de couleur pour protéger la frontière du Niagara. Dans les années 1790, on estime la population noire à 500 habitants au Haut-Canada, dont 300 vivant dans la région du Niagara. La demande de Pierpoint est refusée, mais au mois d'août 1812, un certain capitaine Robert Runchey (un tavernier blanc du Niagara) est chargé d'une petite unité d'hommes de couleur libres pour la défense de la frontière du Niagara. À la levée de cette unité de couleur, plusieurs Noirs passent de la milice de York à l'unité de Runchey. En tout, celle-ci comptait environ 50 hommes, un pourcentage substantiel des hommes libres de la population noire. L'unité se met en garnison au fort George et sert de façon continue pendant toute la guerre de 1812, et participe notamment à la bataille des Hauteurs de Queenston.

Les miliciens et les territoriaux. Afin d'augmenter les effectifs disponibles, on lève des régiments de territoriaux et on évalue la milice. Le service dans la milice est obligatoire pour les hommes âgés de 16 à 60 ans, mais lorsqu'elle est mobilisée, la milice est considérée comme peu fiable à cause d'un manque d'armes à feu, d'une formation minimale et d'une loyauté douteuse. La population agitée des loyalistes tardifs fait croire au gouvernement américain que la prise du Canada n'est qu'une question « de se mettre en marche », parce que l'armée américaine serait si bien reçue au Haut-Canada. Afin de réduire le plus possible le risque d'armer une populace mécontente, les meilleurs miliciens et les plus loyaux du Haut-Canada sont formés en des « compagnies de flanc », qui regroupent 2 000 hommes sur une possibilité de 11 000 miliciens. En plus de la milice, les Britanniques lèvent des régiments de territoriaux. Les territoriaux sont des coloniaux (loyalistes et colons); armés, équipés et entraînés comme des soldats britanniques réguliers, ils s'enrôlent pour deux ans, mais ne sont pas appelés à servir hors des frontières des Canadas.

Pour la plupart, les miliciens sont influencés par les fortunes de la guerre, perdant leur enthousiasme lorsque Hull franchit la rivière à Amherstburg, et le regagnant avec la victoire de Brock à Détroit. La milice est mal payée, mal logée, mal nourrie et équipée. Les restrictions saisonnières, tout particulièrement le temps des moissons, voient les miliciens déserter en foule pour retourner chez eux afin d'éviter la ruine. Leurs contributions, particulièrement à Détroit et aux Hauteurs de Queenston, donnent à la milice canadienne un sentiment de fierté et aident à établir les premiers éléments d'une identité canadienne : le symbole du castor canadien, par exemple, est utilisé pour la première fois au cours de la guerre de 1812. Ce sentiment de fierté conduit également à une surveillance plus étroite et un inconfort accru de la population de loyalistes tardifs.

Niagara. La ville de Niagara (Newark) a grossi considérablement et s'est transformée d'un petit établissement loyaliste en capitale provinciale et en plaque tournante légale et administrative de la péninsule du Niagara. Les marchands de la ville profitent grandement de la présence de la garnison britannique et du département local des Affaires indiennes. Avec la déclaration de la guerre en 1812, les liens amicaux entre les villes de Newark et de Youngstown, et entre les garnisons du fort George et du fort Niagara prennent fin.

Au quartier général de la division du centre au fort George, Brock, l'administrateur civil et militaire de la province, n'est pas d'accord avec la stratégie défensive de Prevost pour le Haut-Canada. Brock considère que demeurer passif paraîtrait comme l'acceptation de l'inévitabilité de l'invasion américaine, et que le meilleur espoir d'étouffer l'effort de guerre américain est d'attaquer le front de l'ouest dès la déclaration de guerre. Brock comprend que même si les Américains désirent annexer le Haut-Canada, ils n'ont pas le soutien logistique, politique ou monétaire pour le faire avec efficacité. Toutes les occasions pour rendre cette guerre moins populaire (grâce à des défaites militaires) ou plus coûteuse pour les Américains doivent être saisies afin de faire porter les pressions politiques pour arrêter la guerre. Brock désire des actions rapides et décisives immédiatement après la déclaration de guerre, et sa stratégie se révèle très efficace en 1812.

Le fort George se prépare à la guerre. Le complexe du fort George doit être modifié pour être utile dans la guerre à venir. Des plans sont établis afin de réduire les dimensions du fort et de créer des ouvrages défensifs plus forts en développant la moitié nord du fort, c'est-à-dire la section la plus proche du fort Niagara. La nature plutôt temporaire et improvisée du complexe original ne convient pas pour faire face à une crise. Comme les deux pays partagent une longue frontière sur la rivière Niagara, les forts aux deux extrémités de la rivière sont essentiels pour l'acheminement des approvisionnements et des troupes. Comme à l'extrémité est du lac, à Kingston, le contrôle américain au Niagara s'avérerait fatal pour les postes plus loin à l'intérieur des terres (bien que les Américains se rendent bien compte de ceci, ils décident d'ignorer la sagesse de cette stratégie, car Kingston est un port bien défendu) .

Le complexe du fort George est responsable d'une vaste région. Depuis le ruisseau Two Mile (à deux milles au-delà de l'embouchure de la rivière Niagara) jusqu'aux Hauteurs de Queenston (à 11 km en amont de la rivière), la région est sous la responsabilité militaire du fort George. La zone est occupée par 200 soldats réguliers et 300 miliciens, et 100 réguliers et 200 miliciens servent à Queenston. Un peu plus loin, des troupes surveillent la zone de Chippawa (100 réguliers et 200 miliciens), et un autre petit contingent est en poste au fort Érié (200 réguliers et 200 miliciens). En tout, environ 600 soldats réguliers et 900 miliciens protègent la longue frontière du Niagara.

Toutes les pièces d'artillerie disponibles sont mises en place aux points stratégiques le long de la rivière afin d'appuyer les fortifications principales, mais on ne dispose que de très peu de canons. Des troupes patrouillent le long de la rivière, et des estafettes et un sémaphore acheminent les communications tout le long de la ligne. Un réseau de feux est mis en place, qu'on allumera pour donner l'alarme en cas d'invasion et pour rassembler la milice. Face aux efforts des Britanniques, les forts, les batteries et les soldats s'alignent également du côté américain. L'ennemi est dangereusement proche, et une attaque peut venir à n'importe quel moment.
En octobre, en même temps que se déroulent la traversée à Queenston et la bataille sur les hauteurs, les forts George et Niagara mènent un duel d'artillerie. La ville comme la garnison subissent des dommages sérieux à la suite de cet échange.

Le fort George 1816
Le fort George 1816.
©Public Archives of Canada / 1816
Carte américaine d'espion de fort George
Carte américaine d'espion de fort George.
©The National Archives, Washington D.C / Drawn in September or October of 1812

Une carte dressée par un espion américain vers 1812, et intitulée Plan du fort anglais GEORGE, montre la disposition intérieure du fort dans sa dimension réduite. À droite, afin d'illustrer la division, le détail d'une carte de 1816 montre le tracé du premier fort, et le complexe réduit dans environ les mêmes dimensions et orientations que la version américaine.

Carte no 3
Plan du fort anglais GEORGE
Légende
A. Blockhaus
E. Blockhaus
B. Poudrière
FF. Casernes
C. Quartiers des officiers
G. Fossé
D. Poste de garde
HH. Portes

La déclaration de la guerre.

Le président Madison et les faucons recherchent la guerre avec impatience pendant que la Grande-Bretagne est si manifestement aux prises avec Napoléon. Le 1er juin, le président Madison présente un résumé des raisons justifiant la déclaration officielle de la guerre à la Grande-Bretagne. Le résumé cite quatre violations maritimes britanniques et l'appui britannique aux tribus hostiles de l'Ouest comme les raisons principales de la guerre; cette déclaration est adoptée le 18 juin 1812. La guerre n'a pas que des partisans. Représentant les 17 États, la Chambre des représentants vote (le 4 juin 1812) à 79 contre 49 en faveur de la déclaration, et le Sénat vote (le 17 juin 1812) à 19 contre 13 en faveur de la guerre. En moins d'une semaine, la nouvelle de la déclaration de la guerre a atteint Québec, Montréal, York et Newark.

L'attaque américaine vise trois régions : la région de Détroit, la région du Niagara et Montréal. Le commandement de l'assaut sur le Canada est donné au major-général Henry Dearborn, qui installe son quartier général à Albany, dans l'État de New York. Dearborn essaie désespérément de coordonner ses trois armées afin de mener une attaque simultanée destinée à écraser le Haut-Canada, mais il est contrarié politiquement dans l'atteinte de ce but, à cause d'un manque de soutien du gouvernement de l'État en matière de troupes. La coordination de la milice américaine et des soldats réguliers est presque impossible, et Dearbon et ses brigadiers généraux, Hull, Van Rensselaer et Smyth, vont tous connaître des défaites individuelles dès la première année de la guerre.