Common menu bar links

Fort George National Historic Site of Canada

The war of 1812

1815 - The War Ends

Upper Canada Defended.

Despite the battles to the south on the Mississippi, the war ended before hostilities began in the Canadas in 1815. For the Upper Canadian settlers, the raids of 1814 had caused extensive damage to mills, homes and supplies and as a result, rebuilding began in earnest. The services of the militia were no longer needed and most regiments disbanded, but the story of their contribution to the war effort grew. So did the stories of heroism of people like Laura Secord, Isaac Brock, Charles de Salaberry and James Fitzgibbon. Much of the disloyal population returned to the United States and the British army gave plots of land to British soldiers who wished to remain, partly as a reward and partly to increase British loyalty amongst the population of Upper Canada. Although the captured land in south western Upper Canada was returned, the vulnerability along the borders was keenly felt and armed military patrols kept watch across the Canadian/American borders well into the 20th century. On the whole the border remained peaceful except for American incursions during the Rebellion of 1837 and the Fenian Raids. The War of 1812 might be considered a war of Canadian independence from the United States as their attempt to annex Canada failed and the growing tide of American settlement and republican sentiment in Canada, was curbed. If there had been no War of 1812, it is very possible that British North America would have been overwhelmed by American settlement.

The militia raised in 1812 were a first step towards Canadian military control of her own destiny, but it would be many years before the last British soldier left Canada. The alliances formed by the British Government and the civilian population during the War of 1812 carried over to create favourable government contracts and positions for those who had proven themselves loyal to the Crown during the conflict. The British dependence on these loyal subjects helped create a privileged elite (The Family Compact) and rebellion would break out 22 years later. In all, it took over a century for Canada to create a political and national identity separate from Britain.

Natives

The Western Tribes (who had abandoned the British cause after the defeat at the Thames River and the death of Tecumseh - Moraviantown in 1813) returned to their territories, but the cohesion they once enjoyed with Tecumseh and his brother the Prophet (Tenskwatawa) all but disappeared. They negotiated strongly to maintain land, but the tide of settlement into Ohio, Indiana and Illinois pushed the remainder either to the west or the north. The Western Tribes' support of the British in the War of 1812 destroyed American sympathy for them and their situation was worsened by the end of the war, despite promises in the Treaty of Ghent (article 9) that said that both nations would cease hostilities against the Indian Nations'.

The Grand River settlement and surrounding Iroquois Nations suffered tremendous losses during the War of 1812. Attempts were made by the British Government to repay the debt for Native services during the war and tonnes of goods, food and clothing were delivered by the British government to relieve the crisis caused by the war. Lack of money often caused Natives to sell land to settlers to generate cash. By the 1820's pressure had grown to assimilate the small native establishments into the regular population. By the 1830's the Indian Department ceased to be a military organisation and became a civilian one controlled by the British government.

Black soldiers in Niagara.

After the war the provincial Corps of Artificers was disbanded (1815) although black soldiers would be used extensively in the 1837 Rebellion crisis and during the construction of the Welland Canal. Most soldiers returned to settlement and continued their lived largely unchanged. (See biography of Richard Pierpoint.) Article X in the ratification of the Treaty of Ghent supports the abolition of slavery in both the U.S. and the British Empire, but it would not be until 1834 that Slavery would be totally abolished in the British Empire. From that point on the movement of Blacks into Canada from the United States significantly increased, peaking during the 1850's and 60's.

Niagara and Fort George

Fort George Circa 1819
Fort George Circa 1819
© Public Archives of Canada

Rebuilding became a priority after the war when it became clear that the British would return Fort Niagara to the Americans. A garrison was maintained at Fort George while the building of Fort Mississauga continued. Fort Mississauga would not be finished before the Rebellion Crisis of 1837. Barracks, stables and storehouses were constructed at Butler's Barracks, a facility established on the military lands west of Fort George, out of easy range of American artillery. Fort George was in a state of disrepair. During the American occupation and subsequent British garrison the buildings had been built too quickly and of poor materials. By 1820 the fort was abandoned, being unfit for continued service. Nonetheless , the garrison at Niagara kept a watchful eye on the American side of the border until after the American Civil War.

Forts of the Niagara Region 1815

Forts in the Niagara Region
Forts in the Niagara Region
© Parks Canada / Gavin Watt

Back

Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-George

La Guerre de 1812

1815 - La fin de la guerre

Le Haut-Canada sauvegardé.

Les hostilités se terminent dans les Canadas en 1815, même si des batailles se déroulent encore dans le sud, sur le Mississippi. Les colons du Haut-Canada ont subi des dommages étendus au cours des raids de 1814, et ils se mettent sérieusement à la reconstruction des moulins, des maisons et des autres installations. Les services des miliciens ne sont plus requis et la plupart des régiments sont dissous, mais les récits de leur contribution à l'effort de guerre se multiplient. C'est également le cas des récits d'actes d'héroïsme de gens comme Laura Secord, Isaac Brock, Charles de Salaberry et James Fitzgibbon. Une bonne part de la population déloyale retourne aux États-Unis; quant à l'armée britannique, elle donne des parcelles de terres aux soldats britanniques qui veulent s'établir, en partie comme récompense et en partie pour assurer la loyauté à l'égard des Britanniques au sein de la population du Haut-Canada. Les terres capturées dans le sud-ouest du Haut-Canada sont restituées, mais la vulnérabilité des frontières est ressentie avec acuité, et des patrouilles militaires armées continueront de surveiller la frontière canado-américaine jusqu'en plein XXe siècle. Dans l'ensemble, la frontière demeure pacifique, à l'exception des incursions américaines au cours de la Rébellion de 1837 et des raids des Fenians. La guerre de 1812 pourrait être considérée comme une guerre d'indépendance canadienne par rapport aux États-Unis, au cours de laquelle la tentative de ceux-ci d'annexer le Canada échoue et l'extension de la colonisation américaine et du sentiment républicain au Canada est freinée. S'il n'y avait pas eu de guerre de 1812, il est tout à fait possible que l'Amérique du Nord britannique aurait été écrasée par les colons américains.

La milice levée en 1812 constitue la première étape du contrôle militaire du Canada sur sa propre destinée, mais de nombreuses années allaient encore s'écouler avant que le dernier soldat britannique ne quitte le Canada. Les alliances formées par le gouvernement britannique et la population civile au cours de la guerre de 1812 se sont répercutées dans des contrats gouvernementaux favorables et des postes pour ceux qui s'étaient montrés fidèles à la Couronne au cours du conflit. La confiance manifestée par les Britanniques à ces loyaux sujets contribue à créer une élite privilégiée (le Family Compact), contre qui la Rébellion allait éclater 22 ans plus tard. Il a fallu plus d'un siècle en tout pour que le Canada se crée une identité politique et nationale distincte de celle de la Grande-Bretagne.

Autochtones.

Les Tribus de l'Ouest (qui ont abandonné la cause britannique après la défaite sur la rivière Thames et la mort de Tecumseh à Moraviantown en 1813) retournent dans leurs territoires, mais la cohésion qu'ils ont connue avec Tecumseh et son frère le Prophète (Tenskwatawa) a quasi disparu. Ils négocient fermement pour conserver des terres, mais la vague de colons en Ohio, Indiana et Illinois pousse ceux qui restent vers l'ouest ou vers le nord. L'appui que les Tribus de l'Ouest ont donné aux Britanniques au cours de la guerre de 1812 a détruit la sympathie des Américains à leur égard, et leur situation empire encore à la fin de la guerre malgré des dispositions dans le Traité de Gand (article 9) qui prévoient que les deux nations cesseront les hostilités contre les "Nations indiennes".

L'établissement de la rivière Grand et les nations des Iroquois environnantes ont subi de lourdes pertes au cours de la guerre de 1812. Le gouvernement britannique fait des efforts pour payer ses dettes à l'égard des services rendus par les Autochtones pendant la guerre, et il livre des tonnes de biens, de nourriture et de vêtements pour les secourir dans la crise causée par la guerre. Le manque d'argent pousse souvent les Autochtones à vendre des terres aux colons pour obtenir de l'argent liquide. Dans les années 1820, les pressions pour intégrer les petits établissements autochtones à la population régulière s'accroissent. Dans les années 1830, le Département indien cesse d'être une organisation militaire et se transforme en un organisme civil contrôlé par le gouvernement britannique.

Soldats noirs au Niagara.

Après la guerre, le Corps of Artificers provincial est dissous (1815), mais il sera largement fait appel aux soldats noirs lors de la crise provoquée par la Rébellion de 1837, et pendant la construction du canal Welland. La plupart des soldats retournent dans leurs foyers et poursuivent leur vie sans grand changement. (Voir la biographie de Richard Pierpoint.) L'article X du Traité de Gand appuie l'abolition de l'esclavage tant aux États-Unis que dans l'Empire britannique, mais il faudra attendre jusqu'en 1834 avant que l'esclavage soit totalement aboli dans l'Empire britannique. C'est à partir de cette date que le mouvement des Noirs des États-Unis vers le Canada augmente de façon importante, atteignant des sommets au cours des années 1850 et 1860.

Niagara et le fort George

Le fort George vers 1819
Le fort George vers 1819
© Public Archives of Canada

La reconstruction du fort devient une priorité après la guerre, lorsqu'il devient évident que les Britanniques devront restituer le fort Niagara aux Américains. Une garnison est maintenue au fort George pendant que la construction du fort Mississauga se poursuit. Celui-ci n'est pas encore fini lorsque survient la crise de la Rébellion de 1837. Des casernes, des écuries et des entrepôts sont construits aux casernes de Butler, une installation qui se dresse sur des terres militaires à l'ouest du fort George, hors de la portée de l'artillerie américaine. Le fort George est en mauvais état. Pendant l'occupation américaine, puis britannique, les bâtiments ont été dressés trop rapidement et de mauvais matériaux ont été employés. Dès 1820, le fort est abandonné, en trop mauvais état pour qu'on le maintienne en service. Néanmoins, la garnison à Niagara garde un Sil attentif sur le côté américain de la frontière jusqu'après la Guerre civile américaine.

Forts dans la région de Niagara

Forts dans la région de Niagara
Forts dans la région de Niagara
© Parcs Canada / Gavin Watt

Précédent