Fort George National Historic Site of Canada

The war of 1812

1813

Biographies

Captain Robert Heriot Barclay
Captain Robert H. Barcley
Capt. Barcley Commander of the British squadron on Lake Erie
© Toronto Reference Library / T - 15259

Captain Robert Heriot Barclay commanded British naval forces on Lake Erie at Amherstburg. Barclay had fought at Trafalgar under Vice Admiral Lord Sir Horatio Nelson against the combined French and Spanish forces October 21, 1805. He received his promotion to commander and was ordered to Kingston Upper Canada in March of 1813 and continued on to Amherstburg by April of the same year.

Barclay had minimal support of ships, sailors, shipwrights and manpower and was forced to prepare for war against a superior fleet under construction at Presque Isle. In order to keep up with Oliver Hazard Perry's ship building program, Barclay began the construction of the 'Detroit' and outfitted the 'Queen Charlotte' (vs Perry's 'Lawrence' and 'Niagara'). During the summer of 1813, Barclay attempted to force Perry into action but the American commander remained in the safety of Put-in-Bay until he was up to strength. Barclay cruised Lake Erie until he saw the approaching American fleet September 10, 1813.

Barclay's duties included the protection of the British Right Division as well as re-establishing supply routes via Long Point and he was forced into action against the American fleet. The Battle of Put-in-Bay ended with the defeat of Barclay which prompted the retreat of Proctor and the Right Division from Fort Malden up the Thames River. Barclay was badly wounded, captured and brought to Presque Isle and he was eventually parolled. He faced a court martial for losing his squadron on his return to England, but was exonerated. Nevertheless Barclay had difficulty re-entering as a commander in the Royal Navy after the end of European conflicts.

Captain Dominique Ducharme

Captain Dominique Ducharme was a member of The Indian department active in Lower Canada during the War of 1812. He led 300 Caughnawaga Indians to reinforce the militia at Lacolle who were then transfered to Upper Canada in 1813 and based at Burlington Heights along with other native warriors. At the Battle of Beaver Dams, Ducharme organized a party of warriors who effectively forced the American detachment to surrender. Later John Norton was to have remarked the Cognawaga Indians fought the battle, the Mohawks or Six Nations got the plunder, and FitzGibbon got the credit.

Lieutenant James FitzGibbon

Lieutenant James FitzGibbon of the 49th Regiment led the combined forces of British regulars and Indians who defeated Lieutenant Colonel Charles Boerstler of the 14th United States Infantry at Beaver Dams June 24th 1813. The Indians deceived the Americans as to the size of their force and attacked allowing Fitzgibbon an opportunity to convince the Americans to surrender to a much smaller British contingent. Fitzgibbon's detachment captured 462 American troops, two field pieces, two wagons and a stand of colours of the 14th United States Infantry. The Americans were forced back to Fort George where they remained until their withdrawal in December of 1813.

Brigadier General George McClure

U.S. commander Brigadier General George McClure took command of Fort George and the outlying region in late 1813. He was in command of U.S. militia forces and the Canadian Volunteers ordered to secure the Niagara region. He continued to attempt to recruit American militia to cross and assist in occupying Fort George. When he realized that his forces would have to withdraw back to Fort Niagara in December he took a liberal interpretation of orders from Secretary of War John Armstrong to permit Joseph Willcocks and the Canadian Volunteers to burn the town of Niagara on December 10th. McClure retreated to Buffalo only to watch the British capture Fort Niagara and threaten his position in Buffalo. Unable to raise an effective force, he withdrew and Buffalo and Black Rock fell to the British. McClure was relieved of duty by the Secretary of War who resented being blamed for the burning of Niagara.

Oliver Hazard Perry
Portrait image of Oliver Hazard Perry US Navy
Portrait image of Oliver Hazard Perry US Navy
© Lossing , Field-Book 1869

Oliver Hazard Perry arrived in Erie Pennsylvania in March of 1813 to set up his headquarters as Master Commandant. He engineered supply routes from Buffalo and Pittsburgh to prepare his fleet and led massive construction projects starting in April and May of 1813 to complete four gunboats and two brigs by the end of May 1813.

Perry also participated in the Battle of Fort George on May 27, 1813 directing fire from naval batteries and steering troops to shore. After defeating Barclay on Lake Erie September 10th 1813, Perry conferred with Brigadier General William Henry Harrison and landed his army to begin the invasion of the Right Division September 26, 1813 which remained in U.S. hands until the end of the war.


Laura Secord

Laura Secord, the wife of a Loyalist militiaman, overheard American officers talking about a plan to pursue the British to Burlington Heights after the capture of Fort George. She left her home in Queenston and slipped through the American picquet and walked to an Indian camp near Beaver Dams. The Indians confirmed her suspicions and was escorted to Lieutenant James Fitzgibbon. Combined with her information, Indians led a successful ambush against American forces near De Cou's Falls on June 24th 1813.

Back

Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-George

La Guerre de 1812

1813

Biographies

Capitaine Robert Heriot Barclay
Capitaine Robert H. Barcley
Capitaine Barcley commandant de l'escadron britannique sur le lac Erie
© Toronto Reference Library / T - 15259

Le capitaine Robert Heriot Barclay commande les forces navales britanniques sur le lac Érié à Amherstburg. Barclay a combattu à Trafalgar sous le vice-amiral Lord Viscount Horatio Nelson contre les forces combinées françaises et espagnoles, le 21 octobre 1805. Il reçoit sa promotion au grade de capitaine de frégate (commander) et est envoyé à Kingston, au Haut-Canada, en mars 1813.

Il continue jusqu'à Amherstburg en avril de la même année. Barclay dispose de ressources minimales en bateaux, marins, charpentiers de marine et main-d'oeuvre, et doit se préparer à la guerre contre une flotte supérieure en construction à Presque Isle. Pour tenir tête au programme de construction d'Oliver Hazard Perry, Barclay commence la construction du "Détroit" et il arme le "Queen Charlotte" (contre le" Lawrence" et le "Niagara"de Perry). Au cours de l'été de 1813, Barclay tente de forcer Perry à l'action, mais le commandant américain reste en sécurité à Put-in-Bay en attendant de compléter ses forces. Barclay croise sur le lac Érié lorsqu'il voit la flotte américaine s'approcher le 10 septembre 1813.

Les tâches de Barclay comprennent la protection de la division de droite britannique ainsi que le rétablissement des lignes d'approvisionnement via Long Point, et il est forcé d'accepter le combat avec la flotte américaine. La bataille de Put-in-Bay se termine par la défaite de Barclay, provoquant la retraite de Proctor et de la division de droite à partir du fort Malden le long de la rivière Thames. Barclay est grièvement blessé, capturé et emmené à Presque Isle, et il est finalement libéré sur parole. À son retour en Angleterre, il doit passer en cour martiale pour avoir perdu son escadre, mais il est exonéré. Il a cependant de la difficulté à reprendre son grade de capitaine de frégate dans la Marine royale à la fin du conflit en Europe.

Capitaine Dominique Ducharme

Le capitaine Dominique Ducharme est un membre du Département indien, et il est actif au Bas-Canada au cours de la guerre de 1812. Il conduit 300 Indiens Caughnawagas pour renforcer les miliciens à Lacolle; ils sont ensuite transférés au Haut-Canada en 1813 et basés à Burlington Heights avec d'autres guerriers autochtones. À la bataille de Beaver Dams, Ducharme organise un groupe de guerriers qui force le détachement américain à se rendre. Plus tard, John Norton aurait remarqué : "les Indiens Cognawagas ont livré bataille, les Mohawks ou les Six Nations ont eu le butin, et FitzGibbon a obtenu le crédit".

Lieutenant James FitzGibbon

Le lieutenant James FitzGibbon du 49th Regiment commande les forces combinées de soldats réguliers britanniques et d'Autochtones qui battent le lieutenant-colonel Charles Boerstler du 14th United States Infantry à Beaver Dams le 24 juin 1813. Les Indiens trompent les Américains quant à leur nombre et les attaquent, donnant l'occasion à FitzGibbon de convaincre les Américains de se rendre à un détachement britannique de beaucoup inférieur en nombre. Le détachement de FitzGibbon capture 462 soldats américains, deux pièces de campagne, deux wagons et un ensemble de drapeaux du 14th United States Infantry. Les Américains sont forcés de reculer jusqu'au fort George, où ils restent jusqu'à leur retraite en décembre 1813.

Brigadier-général George McClure

Le brigadier-général américain George McClure prend le commandement du fort George et de la région environnante à la fin de l'année 1813. Il est à la tête des forces de milice américaines et des Canadian Volunteers qui ont reçu l'ordre de s'emparer de la région du Niagara. Il continue à s'efforcer de recruter des miliciens américains pour venir l'aider dans l'occupation du fort George. Quand il se rend compte que ses forces devront se retirer jusqu'au fort Niagara en décembre, il fait une interprétation très large des ordres qu'il a reçus du secrétaire à la Guerre John Armstrong, permettant à Joseph Willcocks et aux Canadian Volunteers d'incendier l'agglomération de Niagara le 10 décembre. McClure se retire à Buffalo, mais voit les Britanniques prendre le fort Niagara et menacer sa position à Buffalo. Incapable de lever une force efficace, il fait retraite, et Buffalo et Black Rock tombent aux mains des Britanniques. McClure est relevé de ses fonctions par le secrétaire de la Guerre à qui il déplaît d'être blâmé pour l'incendie de Niagara.

Oliver Hazard Perry
Image de portrait de marine de Perry USA de risque d'Oliver
Image de portrait de marine de Perry USA de risque d'Oliver
© Lossing , Field-Book 1869

Oliver Hazard Perry arrive à Erie, en Pennsylvanie, en mars 1813, il y établit son quartier général comme commandant en chef. Il établit des lignes d'approvisionnement à partir de Buffalo et de Pittsburgh pour préparer sa flotte et dirige de vastes projets de construction commençant en avril et mai de 1813 dans le but de compléter quatre canonnières et deux bricks pour la fin du mois de mai 1813. Il participe également à la bataille du fort George le 27 mai 1813 en dirigeant le feu des batteries navales et en amenant les troupes jusqu'à la rive. Après avoir défait Barclay sur le lac Érié le 10 septembre 1813, Perry consulte le brigadier-général William Henry Harrison et débarque l'armée de celui-ci afin de commencer l'invasion de la division de droite, le 26 septembre 1813. Cette division allait demeurer entre les mains des Américains jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.


Laura Secord

Laura Secord, épouse d'un milicien loyaliste, entend des officiers américains qui discutent d'un plan pour poursuivre les Britanniques jusqu'à Burlington Heights après la capture du fort George. Elle quitte sa maison à Queenston, se faufile à travers les sentinelles américaines et atteint un camp indien près de Beaver Dams. Les Indiens confirment ses soupçons et la conduisent au lieutenant James FitzGibbon. Grâce à ses renseignements, les Indiens organisent une embuscade réussie des forces américaines près de De Cou's Falls le 24 juin 1813.

Précédent