Fort George National Historic Site of Canada

41st Fife and Drum Corps.

DRUMMERS AT FORT GEORGE DURING THE WAR OF 1812

Fort George is a classic field fortification of the Napoleonic period. It was garrisoned and maintained as the headquarters of the Centre Division for Crown forces stationed in Upper Canada. Fort George was also the headquarters of the 41st Regiment of Foot at the beginning of the War of 1812.

The infantry battalion was the basic organizational unit of the British regiments that served in Upper Canada. Battalions were usually made up of around five hundred men. Regiments were also divided into ten companies. Each company had one hundred men (paper strength). There were four companies of the 41st Regiment at Fort George at the outbreak of hostilities in 1812. Not all of the drummers were at Fort George. Some followed their companies to remote locations. For example, Drummer William Molesworth was stationed at Fort Malden. Each company was assigned two drummers except for the Grenadier Company who had three. The Light Infantry Company drummers also carried bugles. The total strength of fifes and drums including the Drum Major stood at twenty-two in the regiment. The following is a list of the fifes and drums accounting for a full compliment taken from the Regimental Pay List for September 1811:

Fife & Drums of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment
Royal Newfoundland Regimental Music at Fort Niagara
© Parks Canada

Drum Major Thomas Cummins
John Belford
John Bishop
George Bromley
John Cooke
Simon Drewer
William Fox
Edward Gardiner
William Gilbert
John Goodwin
Richard Gregory
Thomas Hanson
Edward Harvey
Richard House
John Lennard
John McCarter
John McCoy
Angus McDonald
William Molesworth
Robert Nettles
John Ross
John Stevenson
John Thompson
William Watson

Considering the number of officers at Fort George, it's role as a headquarters and the precise nature of army regulations, it is fair to say that the quality of the signals and music was highly scrutinised. In the General Regulations and Orders for the Army from 1811 it states that the Music and the Drums should be frequently practised together, in order that when relieving each other in the Quick March, the time may not differ in the smallest degree, but the Cadence, according to Regulation, be uniformly and uninterruptedly preserved. Fifers and drummers were required to practice five hundred paces from camp for one hour a day. Playing or signalling at inappropriate times could result in punishment. Every detail was attended to right down to the body position while practicing. The following is an excerpt taken from The Art of Playing the Fife by Drum Major Samuel Potter of the Coldstream Guards circa 1815.

"Be careful in keeping the Fife parallel, and the Elbows nearly square: and not to rest the Arms against the sides, when practising from Books, or Papers. The bottom of which (if Convenient) should be put the height of the Boy from the Ground, so that he must hold his Head up to the Notes, which will be the means of opening his Chest and keeping him upright hereafter; which is an ornament to a Fifer. And not to be allowed to sit across a bench, or on the ground, with their Books before them as it prevents them from drawing their Breath freely, and makes them stoop, which being habitual when young makes them round Shoulder'd."

On October 28th, 1815 Colonel Sir E.K. Belson inspected the Regiment and he remarked,

"Unanimity is reported to prevail in the corps, and the officers, according to their station, afford the commanding officer the support he is entitled to require. The privates compose a clean and good body of men. The accoutrements (guns, packs, etc.) Are good in general; some have been received from the ordinance store in Quebec, are not regimental, and have a buckle instead of a plate. The drummers are perfect in their beats. There is no band."

There is some information about individual 41st drummers at Fort George. Jeremiah Elkes joined the 41st as a drummer on the 29th of August 1811 and was referred to as a labourer in enlistment papers. He was five feet eight inches with brown hair and hazel eyes with a fair complexion [these features were noted in case of desertion]. He was born in Edinburgh and joined the regiment at age thirteen. According to his discharge papers it appears he remained a drummer for ten years before entering the ranks as a private for his remaining twenty two years. He served in the East Indies, North America and the Burmese War. He was present at the taking of [Fort] Niagara, Fort Erie, Black Rock and Buffalo as well as Lundy's Lane. In his entire service he was only wounded twice during the Burmese campaign although he was worn out from length of service.' when discharged. While serving he was sentenced for repeated drunkenness' on the nineteenth of October 1821. During discharge proceedings the regimental board were of the opinion that his character is indifferent and that it appears that he had not learned to read or write.

The following is an account of William Molesworth, another drummer in the 41st researched by his fourth great-grandson Tod L. Molesworth. William Molesworth was born and baptised in Birmingham, England April 5, 1779. He was five foot and three inches with brown hair, grey eyes and a fair complexion. He was a nailor by trade maintaining the nails (teeth) on carding machines used for preparing wool or cotton for weaving. William's father died in 1784 when he was only five years old. He had two older sisters Sarah and Rebecca and a third sister who passed away in her first year.

He enlisted in the Perthshire Highland Fencibles raised in 1794 at the age of fourteen. He stayed with them until he ended up in Rathkeale, County Limerick, Ireland where he enlisted in the 41st Regiment of Foot on Christmas Day 1798. Six days later in January 1799 he was taken on strength into Captain Holt Mackenzie's Light Infantry company serving his regiment for the next 18 years and one hundred and forty five days. Another drummer was recruited that day named John Bishop. Like William he was from Birmingham England and served with William as the other light infantry drummer. He was killed at Fort Stephenson August 2, 1813.

William embarked for Quebec from Cork Ireland August 17 1799 on the Asia'. He and his shipmates nearly all died of sickness when a child with smallpox was smuggled on board. There were also bouts of typhoid fever, which accounted for almost two hundred deaths within the regiments first year in Canada. The regiment arrived in Quebec City October 20th 1799 and was posted at Montreal and Halifax. While in Halifax he was posted with Lieutenant William Evans in what appears to be a recruiting party.

Molesworth married Eleanor Fleury in Ireland or Canada. They had their first child while posted in Kingston in 1802. William remained until 1805 when he turned twenty-six years old. At age twenty-six he was posted at Fort Malden in Amherstburg with the Eighth Company from 1805 to 1809 and again from 1811 to 1813. During that period he had three more children. Sarah 1806, Emmanuel 1809 and Margaret 1811. He remained at Fort Malden until its capture in 1813.

William is mentioned in the local merchant Thomas Vercheres' memoirs of the action at Maguaga. He writes, On Tuesday evening, August 7th [1812], a vigorous alarm was sounded, the drummer who patrolled the streets beating the call to arms. I was at dinner with the gentlemen who were staying with me, and I hurried out to ask the drummer what he meant by his racket. His name was Molesworth, of the Forty-first Regiment. He replied that Major Muir was about to cross the river to Brownstown with several companies of soldiers and a large number of Indians to intercept the Americans coming from River Raisin to Detroit with provisions for their army.

William participated in the capture of Fort Detroit in 1812 and received prize money. He also participated in the Battle of the River Raisin 1813 and likely at the siege of Fort Stephenson and Fort Meigs. William was lucky enough not to participate in Battle of Lake Erie and with the collapse of the supply routes to western posts, he became joined the retreat up the Thames which culminated in the Battle of Moraviantown, or the Thames, where the famous Tecumseh was killed, and most of the 41st Regiment captured. Drummer Molesworth was able to escape and make his way to British forces at Burlington Heights.

The 41st merged with its 2nd Battalion when they arrived in Burlington. William was transferred to the 4th Company and remained with them for the duration of the war. In 1813 and 1814 he was at the battle of Fort Niagara, Black Rock, Lundy's Lane, Conjocta Creek and Battle of Fort Erie. At the end of the war he had to leave his family in Canada and was stationed in France and Belgium after the Battle of Waterloo. Posted in Paris, he was encamped at Bois-de-Boulogne and was inspected by the Duke of Wellington.

Molesworth left Paris with the 41st Regiment on November 2 1816 and the company moved its headquarters to Naas Ireland on May 13 1817. William was discharged on June 24, 1817 with his address listed as Canada'. In 1824 William received 100 acres in Drummond Township, Lanark County, Ontario for his service to the Crown. It is believed that William died c. 1844.

Back

Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-George

Le Corps de fifres et tambours du 41e régiment

LES TAMBOURS AU FORT GEORGE DURANT LA GUERRE DE 1812

Le fort George est une fortification de campagne classique de la période napoléonienne. À l'époque, on y trouve une garnison et l'endroit tient lieu de quartier général pour la Division du Centre des forces de la Couronne dans le Haut-Canada. Le fort George est également le quartier général du 41e Régiment de fantassins au début de la guerre de 1812.

Le bataillon d'infanterie est l'unité organisationnelle de base des régiments britanniques qui servent dans le Haut-Canada. Les bataillons sont généralement constitués d'environ cinq cents hommes. Les régiments comptent dix compagnies. Chaque compagnie est dotée d'un effectif de cent hommes (sur papier). Lorsque les hostilités éclatent en 1812, le 41e Régiment du fort George est formé de quatre compagnies. Les tambours ne sont pas tous au fort George. Certains d'entre eux suivent leurs compagnies dans des emplacements éloignés. Par exemple, le tambour William Molesworth est stationné au fort Malden. Deux tambours sont assignés à chaque compagnie, sauf la Compagnie des grenadiers qui en a trois. Les tambours de la Compagnie d'infanterie légère portent également des clairons. Le régiment a un effectif de vingt-deux fifres et tambours, y compris le tambour-major. Voici l'effectif complet des fifres et des tambours du régiment selon l'état de solde du régiment en septembre 1811 :

Fifre et tambour le royal Terre-Neuve régiment
Royal Terre-Neuve régimentaire musique fort Niagara
© Parcs Canada

Tambour-major Thomas Cummins
John Belford
John Bishop
George Bromley
John Cooke
Simon Drewer
William Fox
Edward Gardiner
William Gilbert
John Goodwin
Richard Gregory
Thomas Hanson
Edward Harvey
Richard House
John Lennard
John McCarter
John McCoy
Angus McDonald
William Molesworth
Robert Nettles
John Ross
John Stevenson
John Thompson
William Watson

Compte tenu du nombre d'officiers que comptait le fort George, de son rôle de quartier général et de la nature particulière des règlements de l'armée, il n'est pas exagéré de dire que la qualité des signaux et de la musique a été examinée en détail. On mentionne ce qui suit dans les General Regulations and Orders for the Army (Ordres et règlements généraux de l'armée) de 1811: "la musique et les tambours devraient s'exercer souvent ensemble de sorte que, lorsqu'ils se relèvent au pas cadencé, la mesure soit en tout point semblable et que la cadence, conformément au règlement, reste uniforme et ne soit pas interrompue". Les fifres et les tambours doivent s'exercer durant une heure par jour en faisant cinq cents pas à l'extérieur du campement. S'ils jouent ou signalent à contretemps, ils s'exposent à être punis. Chaque détail est étudié, jusqu'à la position du corps pendant les pratiques. Voici un extrait de The Art of Playing the Fife qui a été écrit vers 1815 par le tambour-major Samuel Potter des Coldstream Guards .

"Tâchez de maintenir le fifre en position parallèle et les coudes presque à angle droit; ne ramenez pas les coudes près du corps quand vous vous servez de cahiers ou de feuilles de musique. La partie inférieure du cahier ou de la feuille devrait (si possible) se trouver à une distance du sol correspondant à la taille du musicien de sorte qu'il doive garder la tête à la hauteur des notes, ce qui l'oblige à bomber le torse et à se tenir droit, une position qui fait la réputation du fifre. On ne doit pas laisser les fifres s'asseoir sur un banc ou sur le sol avec leurs cahiers ouverts devant eux, car cette position les empêche de respirer librement. Ils ont ainsi le dos voûté, ce qui est souvent le propre des jeunes".

Le 28 octobre 1815, le colonel sir E.K. Belson remarque ce qui suit après avoir inspecté le régiment :

" L'unanimité semble prévaloir au sein du corps, et les officiers, selon leur position, apportent au commandant le soutien qu'il est en droit d'exiger. Les soldats forment un groupe d'hommes sains de corps et d'esprit. L'équipement (les fusils, les sacs, etc.) est généralement en bon état; certaines des pièces d'équipement proviennent du magasin militaire de Québec, ne sont pas régimentaires et ont une boucle plutôt qu'une plaque. Les tambours exécutent les batteries à la perfection. Il n'y a pas de fanfare".

On dispose de quelques renseignements au sujet de certains tambours du 41e Régiment de fantassins du fort George. Le 29 août 1811, Jeremiah Elkes s'enrôle dans le 41e à titre de tambour. Ses documents d'enrôlement indiquent qu'il est ouvrier. Il mesure cinq pieds huit pouces, il a les cheveux bruns, les yeux noisette et le teint clair (ces caractéristiques sont notées en cas de désertion). Il est né à Édimbourg et s'est engagé dans l'armée à l'âge de treize ans. Selon son certificat de libération, il aurait été tambour pendant dix ans, puis aurait servi comme soldat durant les vingt-deux années qui suivent. Il a servi aux Indes orientales, en Amérique du Nord et durant la guerre de Birmanie. Il a participé à la prise du [fort] Niagara, du fort Érié, de Black Rock, de Buffalo ainsi qu'à la bataille de Lundy's Lane. Au cours de sa carrière militaire, il n'a été blessé qu'à deux reprises, durant la campagne de Birmanie, même s'il était "usé par ses années de service" au moment de sa démobilisation. Pendant son service, il a été condamné pour "ivresse répétée", le 19 octobre 1821. Au moment des procédures de démobilisation, le conseil régimentaire juge "qu'il est indifférent" et qu'il ne semble pas avoir appris à lire ou à écrire.

Voici l'histoire de William Molesworth, un autre tambour du 41e , qui nous est rapportée grâce aux recherches effectuées par son quatrième arrière-petit-fils, Tod L. Molesworth. William Molesworth est né et a été baptisé le 5 avril 1779, à Birmingham, en Angleterre. Il mesure cinq pieds et trois pouces, a les cheveux bruns, les yeux gris et le teint pâle. Il exerçait le métier de "cloutier" et faisait l'entretien des clous (dents) sur les cardeuses utilisées pour préparer la laine et le coton pour le tissage. William n'était âgé que de cinq ans quand son père est mort en 1784. Il avait deux sœur aînées, Sarah et Rebecca, et une troisième sœur qui est morte avant l'âge d'un an.

À l'âge de quatorze ans, William s'enrôle dans les Perthshire Highland Fencibles qui ont été mis sur pied en 1794. Il reste avec ce régiment jusqu'à ce qu'il se retrouve à Rathkeale, dans le comté de Limerick en Irlande, où il s'enrôle dans le 41e Régiment de fantassins le jour de Noël 1798. Six jours plus tard, en janvier 1799, il est porté à l'effectif de la compagnie d'infanterie légère du capitaine Holt Mackenzie et sert son régiment pendant les "dix-huit années et cent quarante cinq jours" qui suivent. Un autre tambour, John Bishop, est recruté le même jour. Comme William, il est originaire de Birmingham, en Angleterre. Il sert avec William à titre de tambour dans l'infanterie légère. Le 2 août 1813, il est tué au fort Stephenson.

Le 17 août 1799, William s'embarque à Cork, en Irlande, à destination de Québec à bord de l'"Asia". Il s'en est fallu de peu pour que William et ses camarades de bord ne soient emportés par la petite vérole après qu'un enfant malade eut été amené à bord clandestinement. La fièvre typhoïde fait également près de deux cents morts durant la première année que les régiments passent au Canada. Le 20 octobre 1799, le régiment arrive dans la ville de Québec et il est posté à Montréal ainsi qu'à Halifax. Pendant son séjour à Halifax, William est affecté avec le lieutenant William Evans à ce qui semble être un détachement de recrutement.

Molesworth épouse Eleanor Fleury en Irlande ou au Canada. En 1802, ils ont leur premier enfant pendant l'affectation de William à Kingston, où il restera jusqu'à ce qu'il atteigne l'âge de vingt-six ans, en 1805. Puis, William est affecté au fort Malden à Amherstburg avec la 8e Compagnie de 1805 à 1809, puis de nouveau de 1811 à 1813. Durant cette période, il a trois autres enfants : Sarah en 1806, Emmanuel en 1809 et Margaret en 1811. Il demeure au fort Malden jusqu'à la prise du fort en 1813.

Le marchand local, Thomas Vercheres, mentionne William dans ses mémoires de la bataille de Maguaga. Il écrit ce qui suit : "Mardi soir, le 7 août [1812], une forte alarme retentit, le tambour qui patrouillait les rues battant l'appel aux armes. J'étais en train de dîner avec les gentlemen qui habitaient avec moi. Je me précipitai à l'extérieur pour demander au tambour le sens de tout ce raffut. C'était Molesworth du 41e Régiment. Il répondit que le major Muir s'apprêtait à traverser la rivière en direction de Brownstown avec plusieurs compagnies de soldats et un grand nombre d'Indiens afin d'intercepter les Américains qui arrivaient de la rivière Raisin et se rendaient à Detroit pour apporter des provisions à leur armée".

William participe à la prise du fort Detroit en 1812 et reçoit une part de la prise. Il participe également à la bataille de la rivière Raisin en 1813 et probablement au siège du fort Stephenson et du fort Meigs. William a la chance de ne pas participer à la bataille du lac Érié et, comme les voies d'approvisionnement vers les postes de l'ouest sont coupées, il rallie les troupes qui battent en retraite le long de la Thames, retraite qui se termine par la bataille de Moraviantown, aussi appelée la bataille de la Thames, où le fameux chef indien Tecumseh est tué et la plupart des soldats du 41e Régiment sont capturés. Le tambour Molesworth réussit à s'enfuir et à rejoindre les forces britanniques à Burlington Heights.

Le 41e Régiment s'intègre à son 2e bataillon à son arrivée à Burlington. William est transféré à la 4e Compagnie, au sein de laquelle il passe le reste de la guerre. En 1813 et en 1814, il participe à la bataille du fort Niagara, de Black Rock , de Lundy's Lane, de Conjocta Creek et à la bataille du fort Érié. À la fin de la guerre, il doit laisser sa famille au Canada, car il est affecté en France et en Belgique après la bataille de Waterloo. À Paris, il campe au Bois-de-Boulogne où les troupes dont il fait partie sont inspectées par le duc de Wellington.

Le 2 novembre 1816, Molesworth quitte Paris avec le 41e Régiment, et le 13 mai 1817, la compagnie déménage son quartier général à Naas, en Irlande. Le 24 juin 1817, William est démobilisé; l'adresse figurant sur son document de démobilisation est le "Canada". En 1824, en remerciement de son service pour la Couronne, William reçoit une terre de 100 acres à Drummond Township, dans le comté de Lanark, en Ontario. William serait mort en 1844.

Précédente