Bois Blanc Island Lighthouse National Historic Site of Canada

History

Bois Blanc Island Lighthouse © Parks Canada
Bois Blanc Island Lighthouse
© Parks Canada

The lighthouse on the southern end of Bois Blanc Island was constructed by the government of Upper Canada in 1836, just before the Rebellion crisis of 1837-1838. Located near the mouth of the Detroit River, it marked the main navigational channel and guided upbound traffic from Lake Erie to Amherstburg, Windsor and the upper lakes. Its lantern, situated 56 feet above the high water mark, was reported in 1872 as being visible for 18 miles in clear weather. It was apparently the third lighthouse erected to improve the safety of Lake Erie navigation, following an increase in shipping activity associated with the completion of the Welland Canal in 1829. The Bois Blanc Island lighthouse remained in service until the late 1950s, when it was rendered redundant by new navigational aids. It was transferred to Parks Canada in 1961.

The lighthouse is associated with the brief occupation of Bois Blanc Island by rebel forces during the Rebellion era. On January 8, 1838 a group of 60 Canadian "Patriots" and their American sympathizers on board the Schooner Anne landed on the island. They forced the evacuation of the small military guard and the lighthouse keeper and his family from the island. The next day the rebel's vessel ran aground near Amherstburg and they were all captured. The attack was one of several incursions by rebel forces along the Detroit frontier which prompted the bolstering of militia and regular forces at Fort Malden. In 1961 the lighthouse was designated a national historic site on the basis of being "a point of attack by American Patriots during the troubles of 1837-1838."

The lighthouse relates somewhat more broadly to the development of several communities along the Detroit River which grew as centres of commerce and trade during the 1830s. Amherstburg, with a population of several hundred residents, was no exception. The community had a strong orientation to water transportation in the 19th century. As a military post and a storage depot, and as a regional service centre for area farmers, it had numerous wharves and storage facilities that reflected the development of navigation along the Detroit River. The lighthouse also underscores the strategic geographical location of Amherstburg and the reason why this site was chosen by the British for construction of a military post. The navigation channel became very narrow at this point, compelling vessels to pass close by the shoreline of Amherstburg, along the ease side of Bois Blanc Island. The lighthouse guided vessels towards the channel and away from the dangerous shoals nearby.

The lighthouse is an early example of an imperial tower, a common lighthouse type in the 1830 to 1860 period. The imperial lights varied in height to upwards of 100 feet and were characterized by a tapered circular tower, consisting of a rubble-stone core finished or covered with rubble, hammer-dressed or rusticated stone. The Bois Blanc Island tower has a rubble-stone finish and measures 18 feet in diameter at the base and 40 feet in height. Its gracefully tapered sides are finished with a cornice of stepped corbelling and are punctuated by three windows. The lantern, originally lit by a catoptric burning apparatus, was upgraded several times over the decades until 1954, when it was destroyed by fire. It was replaced by a utilitarian steel frame structure, which was subsequently removed by Parks Canada in the 1970s. Originally, the entrance door was graced with a semi-circular fanlight. During the 1970s the door and fanlight were restored by Parks Canada, but were subsequently destroyed by vandals. As a result, the entrance was infilled with rubble stone masonry.

The use of limestone for the construction of the tower has helped ensure its survival and overall stability for over a century and a half. According to one source, the limestone was brought as ballast from Kingston. The designer of the lighthouse is not known. Plans and specifications were prepared for commissioners who were appointed by the Assembly of Upper Canada to oversee the project. The tower was built on contract by John Cook of Detroit. Although it cannot be confirmed, a local tradition asserts that the architect for the lighthouse was Andrew Kemp, attached to the Royal Engineers, Civil Branch at Amherstburg.

Adapted from the Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office: Building Report 91-181.

Partial List of Keepers
1836 - 1870 James Hackett
1870 - 1901 Andrew Hackett
1901 - 192? Charles Hackett

Commemorating Canada's History

Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-l'Île-Bois Blanc

Histoire

Phare-de-l'Île-Bois-Blanc © Parcs Canada
Phare-de-l'Île-Bois Blanc
© Parcs Canada

Le phare à l'extrémité sud de l'île Bois Blanc a été construit par le gouvernement du Haut-Canada en 1836, peu avant la crise provoquée par la Rébellion de 1837-1838. Situé près de l'embouchure de la rivière Détroit, il marquait le principal chenal de navigation et guidait le trafic amont du lac Érié vers Amherstburg, Windsor et les lacs supérieurs. En 1872, son feu, situé à 56 pieds au-dessus de la laisse des hautes eaux, était visible, dit-on, à 18 milles par temps clair. Apparemment, c'était le troisième phare érigé pour améliorer la sécurité de la navigation sur le lac Érié, après l'augmentation des activités de transport résultant de l'achèvement du canal Welland en 1829. Le phare de l'île Bois Blanc est resté en service jusqu'à la fin des années 1950, lorsqu'il a été rendu inutile par les nouvelles aides à la navigation. Il a été transféré à Parcs Canada en 1961.

Le phare est associé à la brève occupation de l'île Bois Blanc par les forces rebelles à l'époque de la Rébellion. Le 8 janvier 1838, un groupe de 60 « patriotes » canadiens et de leurs sympathisants américains à bord de la goélette Anne a débarqué sur l'île. Ce groupe a obligé la garde militaire réduite ainsi que le gardien de phare et sa famille à évacuer l'île. Le jour suivant, le bateau des rebelles s'est échoué près d'Amherstburg, et tous les membres du groupe ont été capturés. Cette attaque était l'une des incursions des forces rebelles le long de la frontière de Détroit qui occasionnèrent le renforcement des forces régulières et de la milice au fort Malden. En 1961, le phare a été désigné comme lieu historique national parce qu'il était « un point d'attaque par les patriotes américains au cours des troubles de 1837-1838 ».

Le phare est associé de façon plus large au développement de plusieurs communautés le long de la rivière Détroit comme centres de commerce et d'échange au cours des années 1830. Amherstburg, qui comptait alors une population de quelques centaines de résidents, ne faisait pas exception. La communauté était fortement axée sur les transports par voie d'eau au cours du XIXe siècle. Poste militaire et entrepôt, et centre de services régionaux pour les fermiers des environs, l'agglomération comptait de nombreux quais et installations d'entreposage témoignant du développement de la navigation sur la rivière Détroit. Le phare souligne également l'emplacement géographique stratégique d'Amherstburg, et la raison du choix de ce site par les Britanniques pour y construire un poste militaire. Le chenal de navigation se rétrécissait beaucoup à cet endroit, obligeant les bateaux à passer près de la rive d'Amherstburg, sur le côté est de l'île Bois Blanc. Le phare guidait les bateaux vers le chenal et les écartait des écueils dangereux à proximité.

Ce phare est un exemple précoce d'une tour « impériale », un type de phare courant dans la période s'étendant de 1830 à 1860. Les phares « impériaux » variaient en hauteur et pouvaient atteindre plus de 100 pieds; ils se caractérisaient par une tour tronconique, consistant en un noyau de moellons bruts revêtu ou recouvert de pierre, taillée au marteau ou rustiquée. Le phare de l'île Bois Blanc présente un revêtement de moellons, mesure 18 pieds de diamètre à la base, et s'élève à une hauteur de 40 pieds. Ses flancs tronconiques se dressent élégamment jusqu'à une corniche en encorbellement et sont percés de trois fenêtres. Le feu lui-même, à l'origine un appareil à feu catoptrique, a été modernisé plusieurs fois au cours des décennies jusqu'en 1954, alors qu'il a brûlé. Il a été remplacé par une structure à cadre d'acier utilitaire, qui a été enlevée plus tard par Parcs Canada au cours des années 1970. À l'origine, la porte d'entrée était embellie par une fenêtre en imposte semi-circulaire. Au cours des années 1970, la porte et la fenêtre ont été restaurées par Parcs Canada, mais ont été détruites ensuite par des vandales. En conséquence, l'entrée a été comblée par une maçonnerie de moellons.

L'utilisation de calcaire pour la construction du phare a contribué à sa survie et à sa stabilité d'ensemble pendant plus d'un siècle et demi. Selon une source, ce calcaire a été apporté comme lest de Kingston. On ne sait pas qui a conçu et dessiné ce phare. Les plans et devis ont été préparés pour les commissaires nommés par l'Assemblée du Haut-Canada pour surveiller le projet. Le phare a été construit à contrat par John Cook, de Détroit. Bien qu'on ne puisse la confirmer, une tradition locale veut que l'architecte du phare était Andrew Kemp, rattaché au corps auxiliaire des Royal Engineers à Amherstburg.

Adapté du Rapport de recherche 91-181 du Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine.

Liste partielle des gardiens du phare de l'Île Bois Blanc
1836 - 1870 James Hackett
1870 - 1901 Andrew Hackett
1901 - 192? Charles Hackett

Commémorez l'histoire du Canada