Common menu bar links

Bethune Memorial House National Historic Site of Canada

What's New

 Dr. Bethune wearing his Royal Navy uniform in 1917
Dr. Bethune wearing his Royal Navy uniform in 1917.
Bethune served as a Lieutenant-Surgeon aboard H.M.S. Pegasus. During this time he survived the deadly Spanish Influenza. He was demobilized at the beginning of 1919.

© Parks Canada

Commemorating the 100th Anniversary of Norman Bethune enlisting in World War One

August 1 to August 31, 2014-100 Years a Hero, Norman Bethune’s Three Tours of Duty in the First World War.

August 4, 2014 marks the 100th anniversary of Canada joining World War I and the day that Dr. Norman Bethune volunteered for service. Bethune Memorial House will present an exhibit of Bethune’s involvement in the Great War throughout the month of August. Entry to the exhibit is included with regular admission fee.

Dr. Bethune is internationally renowned as a Canadian physician and social activist, especially for his front-line contributions in Spain and China in the 1930s. His first encounter with the battlefront, however, came during the First World War.

In 1914, his medical study at University of Toronto was interrupted by the outbreak of the Great War. Soon following the declaration of war, Bethune enlisted in the Canadian Army Medical Corps and served in the extremely dangerous role of stretcher bearer until wounded by shrapnel from an exploding shell at Ypres, in Belgium. He then returned to Canada to complete a medical degree. His experience in war, however, did not dissuade him from further military service. In 1917 he joined the Royal Navy and later became the first medical officer of the newly created Canadian Air Force.


Private Guided Tours of The Birthplace of a Hero!

Private Guided Tour
Private Guided Tour
© Parks Canada

Treat your group to a Private Guided Tour of Bethune Memorial! This 2 hour experience includes a personalized, fully guided tour, exclusive to just your group. With your own personal guide, you will explore the exhibits, statues and stories displayed in the newly constructed Visitor Centre; take part in a full tour of the 1890s historic house--birthplace of Dr. Bethune--with opportunities to handle some of the historic objects there; take photos together on the picturesque grounds; and view a ten minute biographical video on Bethune. Upon reservation, this entire program is available in English, French and Mandarin Chinese. Your tour starts off with a Chinese tea welcome, as you meet your guide and the story begins. Explore the roots of this Canadian Hero!

By reservation; program fee applies.

Contact the site for more information.


New Books

Phoenix: The Life of Norman Bethune Promotional Flyer for Phoenix by Rod Stewart and Sharon Stewart

Phoenix: The Life of Norman Bethune by Roderick Stewart and Sharon Stewart was recently finished after ten years of extensive research. In this book, the authors provided the intriguing details of Bethune’s career as a surgeon, his personal life, his passion and pioneering commitment to the improvement of medical care in Canada and around the world.

Norman Bethune by Adrienne Clarkson Norman Bethune by Adrienne Clarkson
© Parks Canada

A series of Extraordinary Canadians: Norman Bethune by Adrienne Clarkson

Canadian former governor general Adrienne Clarkson’s new book on Norman Bethune was recently published in spring 2009. She described this complicated man by showing how every stage of Bethune’s life prepared him for what followed.

The Politics of Passion: Norman Bethune's Writing and Art by Larry Hannant was published in 1998 and has just been published in French.

Please contact us regarding the purchase of these books directly from the site.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Maison- Commémorative- Bethune

Quoi de neuf

Le Dr Bethune, dans son uniforme de la Marine royale en 1917. Le Dr Bethune, dans son uniforme de la Marine royale en 1917.
Bethune a été lieutenant-chirurgien sur le MSM Pegasus. Au cours de cette période, il a survécu à une maladie mortelle, la grippe espagnole. Il a été démobilisé au début de 1919.

© Parcs Canada 

Célébration du 100e anniversaire de l'enrôlement de Norman Bethune pour participer à la Première Guerre mondiale

Du 1 au 31 août 2014, Un héros depuis 100 ans : les trois affectations de Norman Bethune pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.

Le 4 août 2014 marque le 100e anniversaire du début de la participation du Canada à la Première Guerre mondiale et la date à laquelle le Dr Norman Bethune s’enrôla dans l’armée. La maison commémorative Bethune présentera une exposition sur l’engagement du Dr Bethune pendant la Grande Guerre tout au long du mois d’août. L’admission à l’exposition est comprise dans les droits d’entrée.

Le Dr. Bethune est reconnu mondialement en tant que médecin et activiste social, et plus particulièrement pour ce qu’il a fait sur le front, en Espagne et en Chine, dans les années 1930. Toutefois, c’est lors de la Première Guerre mondiale qu’il fit sa première expérience du champ de bataille.

En 1914, ses études en médecine à l’Université de Toronto furent interrompues par le déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale. Peu après la déclaration de guerre, Norman Bethune s’enrôla dans le Corps de santé de l’Armée canadienne. Il a été brancardier – un travail particulièrement dangereux – jusqu’à ce qu’il soit blessé par un éclat d’obus à Ypres, en Belgique. Il est ensuite revenu au Canada pour terminer ses études en médecine. Son expérience de la guerre ne l’a cependant pas dissuadé de reprendre le service militaire. En 1917, il a joint Marine royale avant de devenir le premier médecin militaire de la nouvelle Aviation canadienne.  


Visites guidées privées du lieu de naissance d'un héros

groupe une visite guidée privée
Visite guidée privée
© Parcs Canada

Offrez à votre groupe une visite guidée privée de la Maison Commémorative Bethune. Cette expérience de 2 heures comprend une visite guidée personnalisée réservée exclusivement à votre groupe. En compagnie de votre guide personnel, vous découvrirez les expositions, les statues et les histoires qui se trouvent au tout nouveau centre d'accueil. Vous aurez aussi droit à une visite complète de la maison historique des années 1890, où est né le Dr Bethune; vous aurez même le droit de manipuler certains des objets qui y sont exposés. Vous pourrez aussi prendre des photos sur les terrains pittoresques du lieu et visionner une vidéo biographique sur le Dr Bethune. Sur réservation seulement, ce programme complet est offert en anglais, en français et en mandarin. Vous aurez droit à un thé chinois de bienvenue lorsque vous ferez connaissance avec votre guide et que l'histoire commencera à se dérouler. Venez découvrir les racines de ce héros canadien!

Sur réservation seulement; des droits supplémentaires sont exigés.

Communiquez avec nous pour en savoir davantage.


Nouveaux livres

Phoenix: The Life of Norman Bethune
Le livre Phoenix: The Life of Norman Bethune, écrit par Roderick Stewart et Sharon Stewart

Le livre Phoenix: The Life of Norman Bethune, écrit par Roderick Stewart et Sharon Stewart, vient tout juste d’être achevé, après dix ans de recherches poussées. Dans ce livre, les auteurs partagent les détails intrigants de la carrière controversée de Bethune comme chirurgien, sa vie personnelle mouvementée, sa passion ainsi que son engagement en tant que précurseur d’un système de soins de santé au Canada et dans le monde.


Norman Bethune par Adrienne Clarkson
Norman Bethune par Adrienne Clarkson
© Parks Canada

La série de Canadiens extraordinaires : Norman Bethune, par Adrienne Clarkson

Un nouveau livre sur la vie du docteur Bethune écrit par l'ancienne gouverneure générale du Canada, Adrienne Clarkson, a été récemment publié au printemps 2009. Mme Clarkson décrit cet homme compliqué en démontrant tous les stages de la vie de Bethune qui l'ont préparé pour ce qui a suivi..

The Politics of Passion: Norman Bethune's Writing and Art, de Larry Hannant, a été publié en 1998 et en français tout récemment.

Pour achetez un de ces livres, veuillez communiquer avec nous en ligne directement.