Common menu bar links

Bellevue House National Historic Site of Canada

Gardens at Bellevue House
Picking beans in the garden.
© Parks Canada

A Guide to the Gardens

A Restored Landscape

Introducing visitors to the garden
Introducing visitors to the garden
© Parks Canada / Brian Morin

The extensive grounds at Bellevue House were an important consideration in John A. Macdonald's decision to rent this property. He wrote of the "...complete and quiet seclusion of the house, which is completely surrounded with trees and has a fresh breeze ever blowing on it from Lake Ontario..." The grounds of Bellevue House today are much as they were when the Macdonald's lived here almost 150 years ago. In keeping with the theories of landscaping popular in the mid-ninteenth century, the grounds were intended to beautify the property and harmonize with the style of the house.

Gardeners scythe the lawn
Gardeners scythe the lawn
© Parks Canada / Brian Morin

While some of the characteristics that distinguish the historic gardens from a modern setting are obvious, others are more subtle. You'll notice, for instance, that the grass looks long and slightly ragged - it is scythed by hand and not trimmed with a mower. There is very little vegetation planted around the foundation of the house, since this was not popular in the 1840's. Other differences can be seen in the vegetable garden, where crops such as radishes and turnips are planted in blocks rather than lines, a practice common in earlier times.

To ensure that the gardening practices are appropriate to the period, the gardeners at Bellevue House follow the instructions in such books as Johnson's Kitchen Garden (London, 1843) and J.J. Thomas' Fruit Culturist (New York, 1847).

The Vegetable Garden
The Vegetable Garden
© Parks Canada / Brian Morin

Layout of the Gardens

Historic Varieties

Garden Tools and Techniques

Gardeners' Clothes

Bellevue Gardens at Work

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Villa-Bellevue

Les jardins de la villa Bellevue
La récolte d'haricots dans le jardin.
© Parcs Canada

Guide des jardins

Un paysage reconstitué

Accueil des visiteurs au jardin.
Accueil des visiteurs au jardin.
© Parcs Canada / Brian Morin

La grande dimension des jardins de Bellevue a beaucoup pesé dans la décision de John A. Macdonald de louer cette propriété. Dans une lettre, il souligne "le silence complet et l'isolement de la maison, qui est entièrement entourée d'arbres et reçoit la brise fraîche du lac Ontario." Aujourd'hui, les jardins de la villa Bellevue sont très semblables à ce qu'ils étaient à l'époque des Macdonald, il y a près de 150 ans. D'après les théories paysagères du milieu du dix-neuvième siècle, les jardins devaient enjoliver une propriété et d'harmoniser au style de la maison.


Des jardiniers fauchent l'herbe
Des jardiniers fauchent l'herbe
©Parcs Canada / Brian Morin
Certains des traits qui distinguent ces jardins historiques d'un jardin moderne sont manifestes, mais d'autres sont plus subtils. Vous constaterez par exemple que le gazon paraît long et inégal : c'est qu'il est fauché à la main et non tondu à la machine. Il y a très peu de végétation autour des fondations de la maison car, dans les années 1840, telle était la coutume. On constate d'autres différences dans le potager, où certains légumes, comme les radis et les navets, sont plantés en carrés plutôt qu'en lignes droites, à la mode de jadis.

Pour s'assurer de respecter les pratiques d'horticulture de l'époque, les jardiniers de Bellevue suivent les instructions contenues dans certains livres comme le Kitchen Garden de Johnson (Londres, 1843) et le Fruit Culturist de J.J Thomas (New York, 1847).

Le jardin potager
Le jardin potager
© Parcs Canada / Brian Morin

La disposition des jardins

Des variétés historiques

Les outils et les techniques de jardinage

Les vêtements des jardiniers

Les jardins de Bellevue en exploitation