Common menu bar links

Bellevue House National Historic Site of Canada

History

Sir John A. Macdonld: The Politician
Sir John A. Macdonld
© Library and Archives Canada / C-006513

Sir John A. Macdonald: The Politician

Available Information

Sir John A. Macdonald: The Man

Macdonald's Early Political Life

Confederation

Sir John A. Macdonald

Susan Agnes Bernard

Enlarging Canada's Boundaries

Red River Rebellion

British Columbia and the Railway

The Pacific Scandal of 1873

The National Policy

The Completion of the Railway

The North-West Rebellion

Macdonald's Last Years


Macdonald's Early Political Life

Hugh John Macdonald 1850-1929 circa 1866
Hugh John Macdonald 1850-1929 circa 1866
©Library and Archives Canada / C-020317

When Macdonald became a member in 1844, the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada was a chaotic mix of political groups. In Canada West, there were three identifiable groups: conservative members of the Family Compact, newer, moderate conservatives like Macdonald, and reformers. In Canada East, there were the radical Rouges and the conservative Bleus. No one of these political groups on its own had enough members to form a government. Sometimes the reformers of Canada West and Rouges formed a large enough coalition that they had a majority in the Assembly and became the government. Sometimes the conservatives and the Bleus along with some moderate reformers had enough members of the Assembly that they were able to form a government. Because these coalition governments rarely kept for long the support they needed to stay in office, elections were a frequent occurrence.

Macdonald's political star began to rise very early - in 1847 he was offered his first government post. Thereafter, whenever the coalition that he supported had a majority in the Assembly, Macdonald was selected to join the ministry (known today as the cabinet). A political friend at the time said of Macdonald: "He can get through more work in a given time than anybody I ever saw and do it well." But provincial politics were very unstable in these years and Macdonald was out of the government about as often as he was in it.

A melancholy personal life was the background to the years when Macdonald was making his name in provincial politics. Isabella gave birth to their second child, Hugh John, in 1850, but her illness was never cured and, after her death in 1857, Macdonald had no settled home life. Hugh was left in the care of his grandmother and Macdonald's two sisters, and Macdonald himself led a bachelor's existence in rented quarters while attending to government business.

Confederation

Macdonald became one of the leading politicians in the Province of Canada and his greatest challenge was Confederation. For years, people had talked about bringing the British colonies in North America together under one government. Macdonald had never been enthusiastic for the idea. He felt that the Province of Canada had a great future ahead of it without being tied to Nova Scotia or New Brunswick or Prince Edward Island. Reluctantly, he changed his mind in the early 1860s. There were many reasons but probably the chief one was that the Province of Canada was becoming more and more difficult to govern. Macdonald came to believe that it would be better in the long run to divide the Province into two, giving each part its own government and then for them to join with the other British colonies to form a new country with a federal government.

Convention at Charlottetown, P.E.I., of Delegates from the Legislatures of Canada, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island to take into consideration the Union of the British North American Colonies. (September 11, 1864)�D;�A;
Charlottetown Conference, Prince Edward Island, 1864
George P. Roberts / Library and Archives Canada / C-000733

In 1864, the Maritime Provinces decided to hold a meeting about forming a union between Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland. The Province of Canada sent delegates to this meeting in Charlottetown in September. Among them was Macdonald who was one of the principal speakers in favour of a federal union. The meeting was adjourned until October, when the delegates were to come together again at Quebec to continue to talk about joining together.In Quebec Macdonald defended the federal scheme with two strong arguments - the advantages that would result from the separate colonies coming together under a strong central government and the desirability of maintaining British institutions and the parliamentary system. It wasn't easy for Macdonald to sell his ideas to all of the delegates. But, due to his powers of persuasion and his ability to find a compromise, the delegates agreed on the terms of Confederation. Canada was born on 1 July, 1867.

Sir John A. Macdonald

Macdonald was knighted by Queen Victoria as a mark of appreciation for his role in bringing about Confederation. He became Canada's first prime minister and, between 1867 and his death in 1891, held that office for nineteen years. Macdonald played a major role in the birth of Canada and he devoted the remainder of his life to giving shape to the new country. His accomplishments as prime minister were summarised by another great politician, Sir Wilfrid Laurier, in these words: "As to his statesmanship, it is written in the history of Canada. It may be said without any exaggeration whatever, that the life of Sir John A. Macdonald ... is the history of Canada."

Susan Agnes Bernard

Susan Agnes Macdonald 1836-1920 circa 1881
Susan Agnes Macdonald 1836-1920 circa 1881
© Library and Archives Canada / PA-27050

Macdonald led a bachelor's life for ten years following the death of his wife Isabella but he eventually became acquainted with an attractive young woman, Susan Agnes, the sister of his secretary, Hewett Bernard. The details of their courtship are sketchy. It is said that he accidentally met her on a London street when he was attending a conference to work the details of Confederation, and a close attachment between them quickly developed. Whatever the case, they married in February of 1867 and Macdonald gained a wife who was truly a helpmate, an ever-present support during the rest of his political career.

As prime minister, Macdonald is commonly remembered for four main accomplishments: the enlargment of Canada's boundaries from sea to sea, the completion of the Canadian Pacific Railway; the defeat of the North-west Rebellion and the development of the National Policy.

Enlarging Canada's Boundaries

Canada prior to Confederation
Canada prior to Confederation
© Library and Archives Canada

The Latin motto on Canada's coat of arms reads, "A mari usque ad mare" - in English that means "from sea to sea". In 1867, Canada consisted of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Ontario and Quebec. All the rest of what is now called Canada was controlled by the Hudson's Bay Company or was part of the British colony of British Columbia. One of the first major accomplishments of Macdonald's government was to acquire from the Hudson's Bay Company what was called Rupert's Land - a huge territory north and west of Ontario and Quebec and east of British Columbia. That was in 1869. In 1871, the British colony of British Columbia was persuaded to join the Dominion of Canada. Within four years of Confederation, Canada extended from sea to sea.

Red River Rebellion

Even before the purchase of Rupert's Land was completed, the Dominion of Canada sent surveyors out to the only part of the territory that actually had a settled population: the Red River Settlement around present-day Winnipeg. To the inhabitants of the Settlement it seemed as though the Canadians had come, without consulting them, to take over what they considered to be their land. When the newly appointed Canadian lieutenant-governor arrived, they refused to allow him to enter the Settlement. They then took control of the Hudson's Bay Company trading fort, Fort Garry, and set up their own government with a man named Louis Riel at its head. This government sent delegates to Ottawa to negotiate the entrance of the region into Confederation.

Fort Garry
Fort Garry
Library and Archives Canada / C-002637

There was a happy outcome to what was called the Red River Rebellion when the Province Manitoba was created, giving the Red River settlers their own provincial government. But some violent acts had occurred during the rebellion. Some Canadians, particularly from Ontario, believed that Louis Riel should be punished. He fled to the United States where he remained in exile until 1885.

British Columbia and the Railway

Cartier
Cartier
© Library and Archives Canada

Macdonald put his good friend, Sir Georges-Etienne Cartier in charge of the negotiations with the government of the colony of British Columbia. British Columbia agreed to enter Confederation but on the condition that a railway running from Ontario to British Columbia would be started within two years and finished within ten years of when it was started. Cartier agreed and Macdonald accepted this condition. British Columbia joined Canada on July 20, 1871 which meant construction of the railway had to start in 1873 and be finished by 1881.

On the surface, the railway seems an extraordinary demand for British Columbia to have made. Everyone knew that it would be very expensive and very difficult to construct. Aswell, for most of its length, it would be passing through uninhabited or sparsely populated areas. Why did Macdonald agree? There were several reasons. Having bought Rupert's Land, which went as far as the Rockies, he wanted to make sure that Canada would have access to the Pacific Ocean. That meant bringing British Columbia into Confederation - and that meant the railway. But the other point was that Rupert's Land was empty. Macdonald's dream was that it would become populated and prosperous. That meant a railway.

The Pacific Scandal of 1873

The promise to British Columbia of a railway almost destroyed Macdonald's political career. Macdonald did not want the government to build the railway. He wanted a private company to do the job, with whatever support the government could provide. There were two companies who sought the charter to build the railway, that of a Montreal businessman named Hugh Allen, and that of a Toronto businessman David MacPherson. Because of the size of the project, Macdonald's cabinet tried to get the two groups to join together into one company. This idea might have succeeded except that Allen wanted the controlling interest in the company and he wanted to be president.

Whither Are We Drifting ?
"Whither we are driftng"
© McCord Museum / M994X.5.273.73

Just at this time a general election was taking place. Allen, thinking that it would ensure his getting the railway contract, poured money into Macdonald's campaign. He claimed later to have given the Conservative Party $350,000. Macdonald's party won this 1872 election. Allen's company was given the charter to build the railway. Everything seemed to be going well with the promised railway. But in 1873 the storm hit. Macdonald's Liberal opponents demanded that a parliamentary committee be struck to inquire into the circumstances surrounding the grant of the Canadian Pacific railway charter to Hugh Allen. This was the first step in what became a huge scandal, with Macdonald being accused of having promised Allen the charter if he would contribute money for the campaign. In the end, Macdonald was forced to resign and the Liberals came to power. He was out of office until 1878 when the election saw his party swept back into power. He was never again out of office until his death in 1891.

The National Policy

Conservative poster, 1891
Conservative poster, 1891
Library and Archives Canada, Acc. No. 1983-33-1115

The National Policy began as a proposal to protect Canadian manufacturers from cheaper foreign products. It was put forward by Macdonald and his party in the 1878 general election with the slogan "Canada for Canadians". The National Policy, as it was implemented in the budget of 1879, included much more than protection. The encouragement of immigration, the development of agriculture in the west, the growth of industry in the east, the improvement of railway and harbour facilities to promote the movement of goods and people across the country: these were other elements of Macdonald's grand vision.


The Completion of the Railway

After their return to power in 1878, the Conservatives were determined to find a solution to the problem of finishing the railway promised to British Columbia and vital to the settlement of the West. A series of difficult negotiations ended with an agreement with a group of businessmen to build the railway for a cash subsidy from the government of twenty-five million dollars and a grant of crown land of twenty-five million acres.

Aboard The Jamaica
"Aboard 'The Jamaica'"
© Library and Archives Canada

The building of the railway was almost constantly in crisis during the years from 1880 and 1885. All through this time there were problems with money. The railway ate money, both in its construction and in the fact that the officers felt compelled to pay dividends to shareholders. Interestingly, the problems seemed to be entirely money, the engineering side of the building of the railway, under the direction of William Van Horne, seems to have gone remarkably smoothly. The end of 1885 saw the completion of the railway and, in 1886, Macdonald took a train ride across the country. It is an interesting fact that, until the completion of the railway, it was easier for someone like Macdonald to go to Europe than to British Columbia. When he took his train trip in 1886, it was the first time that Macdonald had ever been west of Ontario, even though he was the prime minister of Canada.

The North-West Rebellion

Louis Riel
Louis Riel
Notman Studio, Library and Archives Canada / C-002048

The National Policy, which included the building of the railway, was a good thing for the country. There was, however, a negative side to it that contributed to the North-west Rebellion. Rebellion had been brewing for some time before it finally broke out in 1885. The cause was similar to that of the Red River Rebellion fifteen years earlier, that is the property rights of the existing inhabitants of the area.

The North-west was the area that we now call Alberta and Saskatchewan, but the rebellion itself broke out in an area around Saskatoon, Battleford and Prince Albert in Saskatchewan. Louis Riel was called back to Canada by some of the inhabitants of the area to negotiate their grievances with the Dominion government. However a skirmish at Duck Lake led to troops being sent in, on the newly constructed railway and a final defeat for the rebellion at Batoche. Although he could have fled the country with others of Rebellion's leaders, Riel surrendered. That summer, he was tried in Regina, found guilty and sentenced to be hanged. The sentence was carried out on November 15, 1885.

Macdonald's Last Years

With the completion of the Canadian Pacific Railway in 1885, Macdonald had six more years as prime minister. They weren't boring years - he was still very busy caring out his responsibilities. But the great accomplishments had been achieved by then. He often thought of retiring but could never quite bring himself to do so. Nor did the Conservative Party want him to retire - he was their biggest asset as far as winning elections was concerned. The election of 1891 was Macdonald's last election. He was seventy-six years old and he led his party to yet another victory, campaigning hard for his vision of Canada's future. He won, but two months later suffered a stroke and died shortly after.

The Right Honourable Sir John Alexander Macdonald (Henri Sandham, 1889)
The Right Honourable Sir John Alexander Macdonald (Henri Sandham, 1889)
© House of Commons Collection, Ottawa

Sir John A. Macdonald: The Man

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Villa-Bellevue

Histoire

Sir John A. Macdonld: Le politicien
Sir John A. Macdonald
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / C-006513

Sir John A. Macdonald: Le politicien

Ressources disponibles

Sir John A. Macdonald : L'homme

Les débuts politiques de Macdonald

La Confédération

Sir John A. Macdonald

Susan Agnes Bernard

L'expansion du Canada

La rébellion de la rivière Rouge

La Colombie-Britannique et le chemin de fer

Le scandale du Pacifique de 1873

La Politique nationale

L'achèvement du chemin de fer

La rébellion du Nord-Ouest

Les dernières années de Macdonald

Les débuts politiques de Macdonald

Hugh John Macdonald, 1850-1929, vers 1866
Hugh John Macdonald, 1850-1929, vers 1866
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / C-020317

Quand Macdonald devient membre de l'Assemblée législative de la province du Canada, en 1844, celle-ci est un véritable fouillis de groupes politiques. Au Canada-Ouest, on retrouve trois groupes identifiables : les conservateurs du Pacte des familles, de nouveaux conservateurs modérés, comme Macdonald, et des réformistes. Au Canada-Est, il y a les Rouges radicaux et les Bleus conservateurs. À lui seul, aucun de ces groupes n'a assez de députés pour former un gouvernement. Parfois, les réformistes du Canada-Ouest et les Rouges forment une coalition qui leur permet d'obtenir la majorité à l'Assemblée et de former le gouvernement. Parfois, ce sont les conservateurs, les Bleus et quelques réformistes modérés qui s'associent. Comme ces gouvernements de coalition arrivent rarement à conserver bien longtemps le soutien dont ils ont besoin pour rester en place, on doit souvent organiser des élections.

L'étoile politique de Macdonald monte très rapidement - en 1847, on lui offre un premier poste gouvernemental. Par la suite, chaque fois que la coalition qu'il appuie obtient la majorité à l'Assemblée, Macdonald est choisi pour faire partie du Ministère (aujourd'hui, le Cabinet). Un allié politique de l'époque dit de Macdonald qu'il peut abattre plus de besogne que quiconque, et le faire bien. Mais la politique provinciale du temps est très instable et Macdonald est aussi souvent exclu du gouvernement qu'il en fait partie.

À l'époque où il fait sa marque en politique provinciale, Macdonald connaît des épreuves dans sa vie personnelle. Isabella donne naissance à un deuxième enfant, Hugh John, en 1850, mais elle ne se remet pas et après sa mort, en 1857, Macdonald n'a plus de vie familiale stable. Hugh est confié aux soins de sa grand-mère et de ses tantes, et Macdonald vit en célibataire dans un logement loué tout en vaquant aux affaires de l'État.


La Confédération

Devenu l'une des principales figures politiques de la province du Canada, Macdonald fait de la Confédération son cheval de bataille. Depuis des années, il est question de réunir toutes les colonies britanniques d'Amérique du Nord sous un gouvernement unique. Macdonald n'a jamais été très enthousiaste à cette idée. Il croit que la province du Canada a un bel avenir devant elle même si elle ne s'associe pas à la Nouvelle-Écosse, au Nouveau-Brunswick ou à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. C'est à contre-coeur qu'il change d'idée dans les années 1860. Plusieurs motifs expliquent ce revirement, dont le fait que la province du Canada est de plus en plus difficile à gouverner. Macdonald en vient à croire qu'il vaudrait mieux, à long terme, diviser la province en deux et donner à chacune des parties un gouvernement distinct, puis se joindre aux autres colonies britanniques pour former un nouveau pays doté d'un gouvernement fédéral.

Conférence à Charlottetown, Î.-P.É., de representatifs des corps législatives du Canada, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, et l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard pour considérer l'union des colonies brittaniques dans l'Amérique du nord. (le 11 septembre 1864)
Conférence de Charlottetown, Ile-du-Prince-Édouard, 1864
George P. Roberts / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / C-000733

En 1864, les provinces Maritimes décident d'organiser une rencontre pour discuter de l'union éventuelle de la Nouvelle-Écosse, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et de Terre-Neuve. La province du Canada envoie des délégués à cette rencontre qui se déroule à Charlottetown en septembre. Macdonald est au nombre de ces délégués et il est l'un des principaux partisans d'une union fédérale. La rencontre est ajournée jusqu'en octobre, quand les délégués se réunissent de nouveau à Québec pour discuter d'union.

À Québec, Macdonald emploie deux arguments solides pour défendre le projet fédéral : les avantages d'une union des colonies sous un gouvernement central fort et l'intérêt de maintenir les institutions et le système parlementaire britanniques. Macdonald a du mal à vendre ses idées aux autres délégués, mais son pouvoir de persuasion et son habileté à trouver des compromis les amènent à s'entendre sur les modalités de la Confédération. Le Canada naît le 1er juillet 1867.

Sir John A. Macdonald

En reconnaissance de sa contribution à l'avènement de la Confédération, Macdonald est anobli par la reine Victoria. Il est le premier à occuper le poste de premier ministre du Canada et, de 1867 à sa mort en 1891, il sera à ce poste dix-neuf ans. Ayant joué un rôle majeur dans la naissance du Canada, Macdonald consacre le reste de sa vie à façonner le nouveau pays. Un autre grand politicien, sir Wilfrid Laurier, résume ses réalisations comme premier ministre en ces termes : « Quant à sa vie d'homme d'état, elle est écrite dans l'histoire du Canada. On peut dire sans exagération que la vie de sir John A. Macdonald à partir du jour où il est entré au Parlement, est l'histoire du Canada. »

Susan Agnes Bernard

Susan Agnes Macdonald, 1836-1920, vers 1881
Susan Agnes Macdonald, 1836-1920, vers 1881
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / PA-27050

Pendant les dix années suivant la mort d'Isabella, Macdonald mène une vie de célibataire, puis il rencontre une belle jeune femme, Susan Agnes, qui est la soeur de son secrétaire, Hewett Bernard. On ne sait pas grand chose de leurs fréquentations. Ils se seraient rencontrés par hasard dans une rue de Londres alors que Macdonald participait à une conférence destinée à mettre au point les détails de la Confédération et ils se sont rapidement attachés l'un à l'autre. Quoi qu'il en soit, leur mariage a lieu en février 1867 et Macdonald peut désormais compter sur une femme capable de le seconder, qui l'épaulera tout le reste de sa carrière politique.

En tant que premier ministre, Macdonald a surtout laissé le souvenir de quatre grandes réalisations : l'expansion des limites du Canada d'un océan à l'autre, la construction du chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique, la défaite de la rébellion du Nord-Ouest et la mise au point de la Politique nationale.

L'expansion du Canada

Canada avant la Confédération Canada avant la Confédération
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Les armoiries du Canada portent la devise latine « A mari usque ad mare » (en français, « d'un océan à l'autre »). En 1867, le Canada se compose de la Nouvelle-Écosse, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l'Ontario et du Québec. Tout le reste du Canada actuel est sous le contrôle de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson ou fait partie de la colonie britannique de la Colombie-Britannique. Une des grandes réalisations du gouvernement de Macdonald consiste à acheter à la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson ce qui porte alors le nom de Terre de Rupert, un immense territoire situé au nord et à l'ouest de l'Ontario et du Québec et à l'est de la Colombie-Britannique. Ceci se passe en 1869. En 1871, la colonie britannique de la Colombie-Britannique est persuadée de se joindre au dominion du Canada. Moins de quatre ans après la Confédération, le Canada s'étend d'un océan à l'autre.

La rébellion de la rivière Rouge

Avant même de faire l'acquisition de la Terre de Rupert, le dominion du Canada envoie des arpenteurs dans la seule partie du territoire où vivent des colons : la rivière Rouge, près de l'actuelle ville de Winnipeg. Les habitants de l'établissement ont l'impression que les Canadiens viennent s'emparer des terres dont ils se considèrent les propriétaires sans les consulter. Quand le nouveau lieutenant-gouverneur mandaté par le gouvernement du Canada arrive sur place, ils lui interdisent l'accès à l'établissement. Ils s'emparent ensuite du poste de traite de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson, le fort Garry, et y installent leur propre gouvernement, dirigé par Louis Riel, qui envoie des délégués à Ottawa pour négocier l'entrée de la région dans la Confédération.

Fort Garry
Fort Garry
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / C-002637

Ce qu'on appellera la rébellion de la rivière Rouge aura un dénouement heureux, en ce sens qu'elle aboutira à la création de la province du Manitoba, qui donnera aux colons de la rivière Rouge un gouvernement provincial distinct. Mais des actes de violence ont lieu pendant la rébellion. Certains Canadiens, particulièrement en Ontario, exigent le châtiment de Louis Riel qui s'exile aux États-Unis jusqu'en 1885.

La Colombie-Britannique et le chemin de fer

Cartier Cartier
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Macdonald confie à son grand ami, sir Georges-Étienne Cartier, le soin de négocier avec le gouvernement de la colonie de la Colombie-Britannique. Cette province accepte d'entrer dans la Confédération, mais à la condition que la construction d'un chemin de fer la reliant à l'Ontario débute dans les deux années qui suivent et soit terminée moins de dix ans plus tard. Cartier accède à cette demande et Macdonald donne son approbation. La Colombie-Britannique se joint au Canada le 20 juillet 1871; la construction du chemin de fer doit donc débuter en 1873 et être terminée avant 1881.

Au départ, la requête de la Colombie-Britannique semble plutôt extravagante. Chacun sait que le projet sera onéreux et difficile à réaliser. Sur la plus grande partie de son parcours, le chemin de fer devra traverser des régions inhabitées ou très peu peuplées. Pourquoi Macdonald accepte-t-il? Pour plusieurs raisons. Ayant fait l'acquisition de la Terre de Rupert - qui s'étend jusqu'aux Rocheuses - il veut que le Canada ait accès à l'océan Pacifique. Pour ce faire, il doit persuader les habitants de la Colombie-Britannique de se joindre à la Confédération - et donc, construire un chemin de fer. Par ailleurs, la Terre de Rupert est un désert dont Macdonald rêve de faire une région habitée et prospère, ce qui implique un chemin de fer.

Le scandale du Pacifique de 1873

« Où allons-nous ainsi à la dérive? »
Le scandale du Pacifique
© Musée McCord / M994X.5.273.73

La promesse faite à la Colombie-Britannique vient près de détruire la carrière politique de Macdonald. Celui-ci ne veut pas que le gouvernement construise lui-même le chemin de fer et préfère confier le travail à une entreprise privée, bénéficiant éventuellement de l'aide du gouvernement. Deux compagnies sollicitent la charte du chemin de fer : celle de l'homme d'affaires montréalais Hugh Allen, et celle de l'homme d'affaires torontois David MacPherson. Étant donné l'importance du projet, le cabinet de Macdonald souhaite une fusion des deux compagnies. L'idée aurait peut-être abouti si Allen n'avait pas exigé une participation majoritaire dans la compagnie et sa présidence.

Au même moment, une élection générale a lieu. Croyant ainsi s'assurer le contrat du chemin de fer, Allen finance la campagne de Macdonald. Il affirmera plus tard avoir versé 350 000 $ au parti conservateur, qui remporte l'élection de 1872. La compagnie d'Allen obtient la charte du chemin de fer. Tout semble marcher sur des roulettes, mais en 1873, la tempête éclate. Les adversaires libéraux de Macdonald réclament la mise sur pied d'une commission parlementaire chargée d'enquêter sur les circonstances entourant l'octroi de la charte du Canadien Pacifique à Hugh Allen. C'est le premier épisode d'un énorme scandale dans lequel Macdonald sera accusé d'avoir promis la charte à Allen à la condition que celui-ci finance sa campagne. Au bout du compte, il devra démissionner et les libéraux prendront le pouvoir. Macdonald reste absent du gouvernement jusqu'en 1878, date à laquelle son parti revient au pouvoir. Il demeure ensuite en poste jusqu'à sa mort, en 1891.

La Politique nationale

Affiche des conservateurs, 1891
Affiche des conservateurs, 1891

© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, no d'acc 1983-33-1115

Au départ, la Politique nationale vise à protéger les fabricants canadiens contre les produits étrangers bon marché. Macdonald et son parti proposent cette politique à l'élection générale de 1878, avec le slogan : « Le Canada aux Canadiens ». Cependant, la Politique nationale inscrite dans le budget de 1879 n'est pas exclusivement protectionniste. Dans sa vision, Macdonald encourage aussi l'immigration, le développement de l'agriculture dans l'Ouest, la croissance de l'industrie dans l'Est ainsi que l'amélioration des installations ferroviaires et portuaires afin de favoriser le déplacement des biens et des personnes partout au pays.


L'achèvement du chemin de fer

« Le jamaica »
« Le Jamaica »
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

À leur retour au pouvoir, en 1878, les conservateurs sont déterminés à trouver une solution au problème du chemin de fer promis à la Colombie-Britannique, qui s'avère essentiel pour la colonisation de l'Ouest. Une série de négociations difficiles aboutissent à une entente avec un groupe d'hommes d'affaires qui s'engagent à finir la construction du chemin de fer si le gouvernement leur accorde une subvention de vingt-cinq millions de dollars et leur concède vingt-cinq millions d'acres de terres de la Couronne.

Entre 1880 et 1885, la construction du chemin de fer traverse plusieurs crises et se heurte constamment à des problèmes d'argent. Le chemin de fer est un véritable gouffre financier : sa construction coûte cher et ses responsables se sentent obligés de payer des dividendes aux actionnaires. Fait intéressant, les problèmes sont strictement d'ordre monétaire; du point de vue technique, la construction du chemin de fer, sous la direction de William Van Horne, ne semble pas poser de difficulté. À la fin de 1885, les travaux sont terminés et, en 1886, Macdonald traverse le pays en train. Jusque-là, il était plus facile pour quelqu'un comme Macdonald de se rendre en Europe qu'en Colombie-Britannique. Quand il fait ce voyage, c'est la première fois que Macdonald se rend à l'Ouest de l'Ontario, même s'il est premier ministre du Canada.

La rébellion du Nord-Ouest

Louis Riel Louis Riel
Studio Notman, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada /C-002048

La Politique nationale, dans laquelle s'inscrit la construction du chemin de fer, s'avère une bonne chose pour le pays. Cependant, elle alimente la rébellion du Nord-Ouest, qui éclate en 1885. En fait, la révolte gronde depuis quelque temps déjà et ses racines sont similaires à celles de la rébellion de la rivière Rouge, quinze ans plus tôt, soit les droits de propriété des habitants de la région.

Alors que le Nord-Ouest comprend les provinces actuelles de l'Alberta et de la Saskatchewan, la rébellion proprement dite éclate dans la région de Saskatoon, Battleford et Prince Albert en Saskatchewan. Des habitants de la région rappellent Louis Riel au Canada pour qu'il fasse valoir leur point de vue auprès du gouvernement du Dominion. Toutefois, après une escarmouche au lac aux Canards, des troupes sont expédiées sur place par chemin de fer et les rebelles sont ensuite défaits à Batoche. Au lieu de fuir le pays en compagnie d'autres chefs de la rébellion, Riel se rend aux autorités. À l'été, à l'issue d'un procès tenu à Regina, il est reconnu coupable et condamné à à la pendaison. La sentence est exécutée le 15 novembre 1885.

Les dernières années de Macdonald

Après la réalisation du chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique, en 1885, Macdonald est encore premier ministre pendant six ans. Ces années sont loin d'être ennuyeuses - ses nombreuses responsabilités le gardent occupé. Mais ses grandes réalisations sont derrière lui. Il pense souvent à prendre sa retraite, sans jamais s'y résoudre. Le parti conservateur ne veut pas non plus le voir partir : il est son principal atout aux élections. L'élection de 1891 sera la dernière pour Macdonald. À soixante-seize ans, il mène son parti à une autre victoire, faisant une dure campagne pour imposer sa vision de l'avenir du Canada. Il l'emporte, mais deux mois plus tard, il a un accident vasculaire cérébral et il s'éteint peu après.

Le très honorable sir John Alexander Macdonald (Henri Sandham, 1889)
Le très honorable sir John Alexander Macdonald (Henri Sandham, 1889)
© Collection de la Chambre des communes, Ottawa

Sir John A. Macdonald : L'homme