Bellevue House National Historic Site of Canada

History

A Visit to the Past

Bellevue House was built in the early 1840s for Charles Hales, a successful Kingston grocer. Asymmetrical in shape, with decorative balconies and a three-storey central tower, Bellevue contrasted with the traditional Georgian architecture of Kingston houses. Macdonald spoke of it as "the most fantastic concern imaginable." Other Kingstonians, inspired by Hales' occupation, nicknamed it "Tea Caddy Castle", "Molasses Hall", and "Pekoe Pagoda." Macdonald rented the house, motivated by the chronic ill-health of his wife, Isabella. He wrote of the "...complete quiet and seclusion of the house, which is completely surrounded by trees and has a fresh breeze ever blowing on it from Lake Ontario..." that, he hoped, would bring about an improvement in her condition. But their stay was brief. Isabella's health continued to be precarious. Macdonald himself was increasingly troubled by financial concerns. In September 1849, the couple moved again to smaller quarters in downtown Kingston.

Sir John A. Macdonald

Sir John A. Macdonld: The Man

When they married in 1843, Macdonald and Isabella shared their house with Macdonald's family. And that is where she returned in 1848. It was, however, located in downtown Kingston, not the best place for someone in Isabella's state of health. Macdonald decided to find somewhere else for Isabella to live, where it was quiet and away from the dirt and noise of downtown. The place he chose was Bellevue House. Learn more...

Sir John A. Macdonld: The Politician

When Macdonald became a member in 1844, the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada was a chaotic mix of political groups. In Canada West, there were three identifiable groups: conservative members of the Family Compact, newer, moderate conservatives like Macdonald, and reformers. In Canada East, there were the radical Rouges and the conservative Bleus. Learn more...

Bellevue House

Bellevue House's Architecture

Early in the 1840s, a prosperous merchant built Bellevue House on a nine acre lot in the Township of Kingston. The lot was located about one mile to the west of the town of Kingston in an area known as the "Western Liberties". This suburb was a desirable residential area: between 1830 and 1860 more than thirty large houses, or villas as they were called, each on an extensive plot of land, were constructed in the area. Learn more...

Gardens at Bellevue House

The extensive grounds at Bellevue House were an important consideration in John A. Macdonald's decision to rent this property. He wrote of the "...complete and quiet seclusion of the house, which is completely surrounded with trees and has a fresh breeze ever blowing on it from Lake Ontario..." The grounds of Bellevue House today are much as they were when the Macdonald's lived here almost 150 years ago. Learn more...

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Villa-Bellevue

Histoire

Une visite dans le passé

La villa Bellevue a été construite au début des années 1840 pour Charles Hales, prospère épicier de Kingston. De forme asymétrique, avec des balcons décoratifs et une tour centrale de trois étages, Bellevue contrastait avec l'architecture « georgienne », d'inspiration néo-classique, des maisons de Kingston. Macdonald en parlait comme de « l'endroit le plus fantastique qu'on puisse imaginer ». Les habitants de Kingston, inspirés par la profession de Hales, la surnommaient « Tea Caddy Castle », « Molasses Hall » et « Pekoe Pagoda ». Macdonald loua la maison à cause de l'état de santé chancelant de sa femme, Isabella. Il écrivit qu'il espérait que la grande quiétude et l'isolement de la maison, complètement entourée d'arbres et constamment rafraîchie par la brise soufflant du lac Ontario, amélioreraient l'état de santé de sa femme. Mais leur séjour fut bref. La santé d'Isabella demeurait précaire et Macdonald lui-même était de plus en plus inquiété par des difficultés financières. En septembre 1849, le couple déménagea à nouveau dans un logis plus modeste, au centre-ville de Kingston.

Sir John A. Macdonald

Sir John A. Macdonld: L'homme

Au moment de leur mariage, en 1843, Macdonald et Isabella habitent avec la famille de Macdonald dans leur maison de Kingston. C'est donc là qu'Isabella revient vivre en 1848. Cette maison est cependant située au centre-ville, ce qui n'est pas l'idéal pour quelqu'un dont la santé est si fragile. Macdonald décide donc de chercher pour sa femme une demeure tranquille, loin du bruit et de la saleté de la ville. Son choix se porte sur la villa Bellevue. Pour en savoir davantage...

Sir John A. Macdonld: Le politicien

Quand Macdonald devient membre de l'Assemblée législative de la province du Canada, en 1844, celle-ci est un véritable fouillis de groupes politiques. Au Canada-Ouest, on retrouve trois groupes identifiables : les conservateurs du Pacte des familles, de nouveaux conservateurs modérés, comme Macdonald, et des réformistes. Au Canada-Est, il y a les Rouges radicaux et les Bleus conservateurs. Pour en savoir davantage...

Bellevue House

L'architecture de la villa Bellevue

Au début des années 1840, un marchand prospère, fait construire la villa Bellevue sur un lot de neuf acres, dans le canton de Kingston. Ce lot est à environ un mille à l'ouest de la ville de Kingston, dans le secteur de « Western Liberties ». Cette banlieue est fort recherchée : entre 1830 et 1860, plus de trente grosses maisons ou villas, comme on les appelle alors, y sont érigées, chacune sur un vaste terrain. Pour en savoir davantage...

Les jardins de la villa Bellevue

La grande dimension des jardins de Bellevue a beaucoup pesé dans la décision de John A. Macdonald de louer cette propriété. Dans une lettre, il souligne "le silence complet et l'isolement de la maison, qui est entièrement entourée d'arbres et reçoit la brise fraîche du lac Ontario." Aujourd'hui, les jardins de la villa Bellevue sont très semblables à ce qu'ils étaient à l'époque des Macdonald, il y a près de 150 ans. Pour en savoir davantage...