Common menu bar links

Bellevue House National Historic Site of Canada

Some of the personalities you might meet at Bellevue House National Historic Site

Sir John A. Macdonald: A Father of Confederation and Canada's First Prime Minister.

Helen Macdonald: Sir John A. Macdonald's mother.

Isabella Macdonald (née Clark): Sir John A. Macdonald's first wife, and Hugh John's mother.

Hugh John Macdonald: Sir John A. Macdonald's son, later Premier of Manitoba.

Susan Agnes Macdonald (née Bernard): Sir John A. Macdonald's second wife, and Margaret "Mary" Theodora's mother.

Margaret "Mary" Theodora Macdonald: Sir John A. Macdonald's daughter.

George Étienne Cartier: Canada East's most important Father of Confederation and Macdonald's most significant political ally in French Canada before and after the birth of the country.

Alexander Campbell: Macdonald's second law student, and later partner, as well as a solid ally right from the beginning of his political career. He was also a Father of Confederation.

Oliver Mowat: Macdonald's first law student but later a fierce political enemy whose fight for the independent rights of the provinces conflicted with Macdonald's drive for a strong central (federal) government.

George Brown: Another of Macdonald's political enemies, he swallowed his pride and helped form the Great Coalition whose goal it was to unite all the British colonies in North America as protection against the growing power of the United States.

Sir Hugh Allan: The Montreal business man to whom Macdonald first awarded the national railway contract. As a heavy contributor to Sir John A.'s conservative party, and with links to the United States, he landed Macdonald in serious political trouble.

Louis Riel: Riel and his Red River Métis kinsmen negotiated with Macdonald's government in 1869 for their lands to enter into the new Dominion of Canada as the province of Manitoba. Louis was executed a few years later for acts of treason in Saskatchewan's North West Rebellion.

Sir John Caldwell Abbott: Our first Canadian born Prime Minister (number three overall) and (reluctantly) successor to the post when Macdonald died in 1891 (he retired the next year).

Sir John Sparrow David Thompson: Sir John A. Macdonald's Minister of Justice at the time of Louis Riel's execution in 1885, he defended their government's position on this touchy issue.
He became Canada's fourth Prime Minister and died in office at the youthful age of fifty.

Sir Mackenzie Bowell: Bowell held important cabinet posts for Macdonald's government, including those of Minister of Customs and Minister of Trade and Commerce in the years of the National Policy. He took over as (fifth) Prime Minister of Canada in 1894 but was forced to resign only two years later.

Sir Charles Tupper: One of Macdonald's most important lieutenants, he also held important Cabinet posts in their government. He was Minister of Railways during the lasts years of the CPR's construction and had the shortest term in history as Canada's (sixth) Prime Minister (only 10 weeks!). A representative from Nova Scotia, he was the last survivor of the original Fathers of Confederation.

Thomas D'Arcy McGee: Agreeing with Macdonald on his plans for an expanding and more secure British North America, McGee was part of the Great Coalition for confederation, but was dropped as a member after he managed to offend many Irish voters. It is believed that his assassination was linked to public comments he made against the violent tactics his fellow Irishmen, the Fenians, were using to free their countrymen from British rule.

Donald Smith a.k.a. Baron/Lord Strathcona: He broke ties with Macdonald and voted against him at the time of the Pacific Scandal, but his financial backing and leadership drove the company that realized Macdonald's dream of a transcontinental railway.

William Van Horne: As General Manager of the CPR company, he supervised the last years of it's construction. His efforts to develop the CPR as a means of communications (express mail, telegraph) as well as of transportation, fit well with Sir John A.'s goal of expanding and developing Canada's West.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Villa-Bellevue

Quelques-unes des personnalités que vous pouvez rencontrer au lieu historique national de la Villa-Bellevue 

Sir John A. Macdonald : Un père de la Confédération, et le premier des premiers ministres du Canada.

Helen Macdonald : La mère de sir John A. Macdonald.

Isabella Macdonald (née Clark) : Première femme de sir John A. Macdonald, et mère de Hugh John.

Hugh John Macdonald : Fils de sir John A. Macdonald et plus tard premier ministre du Manitoba.

Susan Agnes Macdonald (née Bernard) : Deuxième femme de sir John A. Macdonald et mère de Margaret « Mary » Theodora.

Margaret « Mary » Theodora Macdonald : Fille de sir John A. Macdonald.

George-Étienne Cartier : Le plus important père de la Confédération du Canada-Est, et l'allié politique le plus important de Macdonald au Canada français avant et après la naissance du pays.

Alexander Campbell : Le deuxième étudiant en droit dans le cabinet d'avocats de Macdonald, et plus tard son associé, ainsi qu'un allié fidèle des débuts de sa carrière politique. Lui aussi l'un des pères de la Confédération.

Oliver Mowat : Le premier étudiant en droit dans le cabinet d'avocats de Macdonald, mais plus tard, un féroce ennemi politique dont la lutte pour les droits indépendants des provinces s'opposait à la vision de Macdonald d'un gouvernement central (fédéral) fort.

George Brown : Un autre des ennemis politiques de Macdonald, il a pilé sur son orgueil et a aidé à former la Grande coalition dont le but était d'unir toutes les colonies britanniques en Amérique du Nord afin de faire face à la puissance grandissante des États-Unis.

Sir Hugh Allan : L'homme d'affaires de Montréal à qui Macdonald a attribué d'abord le contrat du chemin de fer national. Comme donateur généreux au Parti conservateur de sir John A. et avec des liens avec les États-Unis, il a causé des problèmes politiques sérieux à Macdonald.

Louis Riel : Riel et ses parents métis de la rivière Rouge ont négocié avec le gouvernement Macdonald en 1869 afin de faire entrer leurs terres dans le nouveau Dominion du Canada en tant que province du Manitoba. Louis a été exécuté quelques années plus tard pour des actes de trahison commis au cours de la Rébellion du Nord-Ouest en Saskatchewan.

Sir John Caldwell Abbott : Le premier des premiers ministres à être né au Canada (le troisième sur la liste) et successeur (à contrecSur) au poste lorsque Macdonald est mort en 1891 (il s'est retiré l'année suivante).

Sir John Sparrow David Thompson : Ministre de la Justice de sir John A. Macdonald lors de l'exécution de Louis Riel en 1885, il a défendu la position du gouvernement dans cette situation délicate.
Il est devenu le quatrième premier ministre du Canada, et il est mort en fonctions prématurément, à peine âgé de 50 ans.

Sir Mackenzie Bowell : Bowell a occupé des postes importants dans le Cabinet de Macdonald, notamment ceux de ministre des Douanes et de ministre du Commerce pendant les années de la Politique nationale. Il est devenu le cinquième premier ministre du Canada en 1894, mais a dû démissionner à peine deux ans plus tard.

Sir Charles Tupper : L'un des lieutenants les plus importants de Macdonald, il a également occupé des postes importants dans le Cabinet de son gouvernement. Il a été ministre des Chemins de fer au cours des dernières années de la construction du Canadien Pacifique, et il détient le record de la plus courte durée des fonctions en tant que premier ministre du Canada (le sixième) : dix semaines seulement! Représentant de la Nouvelle-Écosse, il était le dernier survivant de l'équipe originale des pères de la Confédération.

Thomas D'Arcy McGee : D'accord avec Macdonald en ce qui concerne ses plans pour une Amérique du Nord britannique plus étendue et plus sûre, McGee a fait partie de la Grande coalition en faveur de la Confédération, mais a dû se retirer après avoir réussi à insulter un bon nombre d'électeurs irlandais. On pense que son assassinat est lié à des commentaires publics qu'il a faits contre les tactiques violentes que ses congénères irlandais, les Fenians, utilisaient pour essayer de libérer leurs compatriotes de la domination britannique.

Donald Smith, connu aussi comme Baron/Lord Strathcona : Il a rompu ses liens avec Macdonald et a voté contre lui à l'époque du Scandale du Pacifique, mais son appui financier et son leadership ont animé la compagnie qui a réalisé le rêve de Macdonald d'un chemin de fer transcontinental.

William Van Horne : En tant que directeur général de la compagnie du Canadien Pacifique, il a supervisé les dernières années de la construction du chemin de fer transcontinental. Ses efforts pour développer le Canadien Pacifique comme un moyen de communication (courrier express, télégraphe) ainsi que de transport correspondaient bien au but de sir John A. de coloniser et de développer l'Ouest du Canada.