Common menu bar links

Bellevue House National Historic Site of Canada

Special Events 2015

January 7th - 11th, 10 am - 4 am

Celebrate Sir John A. Macdonald’s 200th Birthday!
Join us at Bellevue House National Historic Site as we celebrate the 200th birthday of Canada’s first Prime Minister!  
Free Admission.


Past events:

May 17th, 10 am - 5 pm

Opening Day
Open for the 2014 season; Thursday-Monday (May/June/Sept/Oct); 7 days July/Aug. Please allow one hour for your visit. Site Admission Fee.


June 1st - September 14th, Sundays 10:30 am to 11:30 am

Garden Club: Cultivating Experiences in our First Prime Minister's Garden.
Join Sir John A's exclusive garden club! Learn tips and tricks to grow organic vegetables, discuss weather, pests and other issues affecting the garden. The grounds boast an heirloom apple orchard, a kitchen garden with herbs and vegetables and a variety of trees and shrubs. Share past experiences and future thoughts on all things gardening. Attend one or all weeks which will take you from preparing the ground, to planting and harvesting. 

Finish off the weekly session with refreshments. Maximum of 15 people.
Program fee.


June 6th, 1 pm - 3 pm

Macdonald’s Death
Join the Kingston Historical Society, Bellevue House Staff, Fort Henry Guard and dignitaries from the City of Kingston at Cataraqui Cemetery National Historic Site to commemorate the death of Sir John A. Macdonald.


June 21st, 10 am - 5 pm

Doors Open Kingston
Free Admission.


July and August, 1:30 pm

Guided Tour - Weekends
Be escorted on a journey back in time with a maid who will share tales about the past at Bellevue House and its most famous residents. Explore the Visitor Centre, the historic house and grounds during an engaging 1½ hour tour with a guide in historic costume. Program Fee.


July 1st, 10 am - 4 pm

Canada Day
Step into history and celebrate 147 years of Canada this July 1st at the home of Canada’s First Prime Minister, Sir John A. Macdonald. The fun and games begin at 10am and continue until 4pm. Best of all, entry is free! Visitors are invited to get “hands on” by playing historic games, exploring their fashion styles by trying on period 1840’s clothing, or practicing their penmanship as they sign the Proclamation of Canada with ink and quill. For those looking for something a little more sedate, the beautiful ornamental garden offers a tranquil setting to sit back, enjoy the fresh air. Bring your lawn chair and stay the afternoon. Cake will be served at 2 pm while quantities last. Free Admission.


July 19th, 10 am - 5 pm

Parks Day
Celebrate Parks Canada with special heritage activities throughout the day. Admission Fee.


August 30th, 10 am - 5 pm

A Look at 1840s Medical Practices
On Saturday August 30, 2014, Bellevue House National Historic Site will host Dr. Greg Baran, who will share the history of 1800s medical and surgical procedures like trephining, bloodletting and amputation. A practising medical doctor and history enthusiast, Dr. Baran will present tools and practices used by doctors of the time. This day long event will shed some light on some of the personal tragedy that Macdonald and his family faced during his years at Bellevue House and during his time as Canada’s first Prime Minister.


September - Thanksgiving, 10 am - 5 pm Thursday - Monday

Fall Colours
Fall is much quieter at Bellevue House and it’s a good time to admire the fall garden harvest and the changing color of the leaves. Site Admission Fee.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Villa-Bellevue

Activités spéciales 2014


17 mai, 10 h - 17 h

Journée d'ouverture
Ouvert pour la saison 2014; du jeudi au lundi (mai/juin/sept./oct.); 7 jours en juillet/août. Veuillez prévoir une heure pour votre visite. Droits d’entrée.


Les dimanches, du 1er juin au 14 septembre, de 10 h 30 à 11 h 30

Club de jardinage : Cultiver des expériences dans le jardin de notre premier premier ministre.
Joignez-vous aux membres du club de jardinage exclusif de Sir John A.! Venez chercher des conseils et des astuces pour cultiver des légumes organiques et discuter des conditions météorologiques, des organismes nuisibles et autres enjeux ayant des incidences sur le jardin. Le terrain compte un verger patrimonial et un potager avec herbes et légumes, ainsi qu’une variété d'arbres et d'arbustes. Venez partager vos expériences antérieures et vos idées sur l’avenir pour tout ce qui touche le jardinage. Participez une seule semaine ou à toutes les semaines, ce qui vous mènera de la préparation du terrain, à la récolte, en passant par la plantation.

Des rafraîchissements seront servis à la fin de chaque séance hebdomadaire (maximum de 15 personnes).
Des frais d’inscription au programme s’appliquent.


6 juin, 13 h à 15 h

Mort de Macdonald
Joignez-vous à la Kingston Historical Society, au personnel de la Villa-Bellevue, à la garde du fort Henry et aux dignitaires de la ville de Kingston et rendez-vous au lieu historique national du Canada du Cimetière-Cataraqui pour commémorer la mort de Sir John A. Macdonald.


21 juin, 10 h - 17 h

Portes ouvertes Kingston
Entrée gratuite.


Juillet et août, 13 h 30

Visite guidée - Fins de semaine
Faites un voyage dans le temps en compagnie d'une femme de chambre qui vous racontera des histoires passionnantes sur la Maison Bellevue et sur ses résidents les plus célèbres. Cette visite guidée d’une heure trente animée par un guide en costume d'époque vous fera découvrir le centre d’accueil, le domaine et la maison historique.
Frais d'inscription au programme.


1er juillet, 10 h - 16 h

Jour de la fête du Canada
Plongez dans l'histoire et célébrez les 147 ans du Canada ce 1er juillet à la maison du tout premier premier ministre du Canada, Sir John A. Macdonald. Le plaisir et les jeux commencent à 10 h et se poursuivent jusqu'à 16 h. Mieux encore, l'entrée est gratuite! Les visiteurs sont invités à vivre des expériences authentiques : jouer des jeux historiques, explorer la mode vestimentaire de l'époque en enfilant des vêtements portés dans les années 1840, ou pratiquer leur calligraphie en signant la Proclamation du Canada à l’encre et à la plume. Ceux et celles qui préfèrent la quiétude pourront faire une pause au grand air dans le magnifique jardin ornemental. Apportez votre chaise de jardin et passez-y l'après-midi. Du gâteau sera servi à 14 h (tant qu'il y en aura!). Entrée gratuite.


19 juillet, 10 h - 17 h

Journée des parcs
Célébrer Parcs Canada en participant aux activités patrimoniales spéciales organisées tout au long de la journée. Droits d'entrée.


30 août, 10 h - 17 h

Les pratiques médicales des années 1840
Le samedi 30 août 2014, le lieu historique national de la Villa-Bellevue accueillera le Dr Greg Baran, qui vous fera découvrir l’histoire des interventions médicales et chirurgicales des années 1800, comme la trépanation, la saignée et l’amputation. Médecin pratiquant et passionné d’histoire, le Dr Baran parlera des outils et des pratiques auxquels les médecins avaient recours à cette époque. Cette activité, qui sera présentée toute la journée, fera mieux comprendre le drame personnel que Macdonald et sa famille ont vécu pendant les années où il a habité la villa Bellevue et pendant son mandat à titre de premier titulaire du poste de premier ministre du Canada.


Septembre à l'Action de grâces, 10 h - 17 h jeudi au lundi

Couleurs d'automne
La Maison Bellevue est un endroit plus tranquille à l'automne, moment parfait pour admirer les récoltes de l'automne et le changement de couleur des feuilles. Droits d'entrée.