Common menu bar links

Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada

Visitor Information

Entry without charge to Nova Scotia's national historic sites and national parks for the Mi'kmaq of Nova Scotia

Mi'kmaq Entry Pass to Parks Canada (Nova Scotia) places
Vehicle identifier for Mi'kmaq visitors
© Parks Canada

Overview

The Mi'kmaq of Nova Scotia now have entry without charge to all national parks and national historic sites in Nova Scotia, thanks to an interim arrangement signed by Parks Canada and the Nova Scotia Assembly of Mi'kmaq Chiefs.

This arrangement is a positive step forward in the relationship between two close neighbours who share many common objectives in cultural and natural resource management. "It is very much a roadmap for sharing knowledge as we work together to reach our common goals," said Chip Bird, Field Unit Superintendent for Parks Canada, Cape Breton. "This arrangement will go a long way to help strengthen Parks Canada's relationship with the Mi'kmaq of Nova Scotia."

The entry without charge program is one outcome of the arrangement. "The Mi'kmaq have always had strong connections to the lands throughout Nova Scotia," said Chief Gerard Julian, Co-Chair of the Assembly. "Gaining free access to these parks and important lands is a significant step for our people and as we move forward in our government to government relationship."

Mi'kmaq may access this program by presenting their Indian Status Card at the local Band Office or at a Parks Canada Visitor Reception Centre to receive a vehicle identifier. This identifier is for display in the vehicle when visiting either national parks or national historic sites. At a national historic site, the Indian Status Card must be presented at the Visitor Reception Centre.

The identifier is available to 13 Mi'kmaq First Nations in Nova Scotia and their members, and other Mi'kmaq who are on the General Indian List of Nova Scotia. In addition to the entry without charge program, this arrangement will result in the establishment of advisory committees to plan and manage areas of common interest in these national treasures in Nova Scotia.

The arrangement was negotiated through the Made in Nova Scotia Process which brings together the Government of Canada, the Province of Nova Scotia and the Mi'kmaq of Nova Scotia.

Parks Canada manages a network of 43 national parks, 167 national historic sites, and four national marine conservation areas, while setting the stage and inviting Canadians and people from around the world to engage in personal moments of inspiring discovery at Canada's treasured natural and historic places.

Kwilmu'kw Maw-klusuaqn Negotiation Office (KMKNO) works on behalf of the Assembly of Nova Scotia Mi'kmaq Chiefs in the negotiations and consultations between the Mi'kmaq of Nova Scotia, the Province and Canada. KMKNO was developed by the Mi'kmaq for the Mi'kmaq.

For more information on KMKNO visit www.mikmaqrights.com.


Questions and Answers

The National Parks Interim Arrangement is an agreement between Parks Canada and the Assembly of Nova Scotia Mi'kmaq Chiefs. This agreement was developed through the "Made in Nova Scotia Process" between Canada, Nova Scotia and the Mi'kmaq of Nova Scotia.

  1. Where is the vehicle identifier used?
    The vehicle identifier allows entry without charge into national parks and national historic sites. It covers the vehicle, driver and up to six other people in the vehicle. It tells Parks Canada staff that the vehicle is permitted to be in the park. Your vehicle may be ticketed or towed if Parks Canada cannot clearly see the vehicle identifier.

  2. Where can I use the vehicle identifier?
    You can use the vehicle identifier to enter without charge at all national parks and national historic sites in Nova Scotia.

  3. How would I use the vehicle identifier at a national historic site?
    You can enter a national historic site without charge by showing your Indian Status Card at the entrance to the site.

  4. What does the vehicle identifier allow me to do?
    The vehicle identifier allows you to enter all national parks and national historic sites in Nova Scotia without charge. You can also use trails and services that are normally provided without charge in national parks/national historic sites in Nova Scotia. You still must get fishing and camping permits and pay camping fees.

  5. What happens if I lose my vehicle identifier?
    Your band office has a record of the vehicle identifiers they have issued. You can get a new vehicle identifier from your band office once Kwilmu'kw Maw-klusuaqn Negotiation Office (KMK) has verified your information.

  6. Do the vehicle identifiers expire?
    Yes. The expiration date is indicated on the vehicle identifier.

  7. Can I sell the vehicle identifier or give it to another person?
    No. It is null and void if sold or given to someone else.

  8. Where can I find more information?
    You can get more information about Parks Canada programs by visiting www.pc.gc.ca and about Kwilmu'kw Maw-klusuaqn Negotiation Office, the Mi'kmaq Rights Initiative, by visiting www.mikmaqrights.com.

  9. Who does the National Parks Interim Arrangement apply to?
    The Interim Arrangement applies to the Mi'kmaq of Nova Scotia as represented by the Assembly of Nova Scotia Mi'kmaq Chiefs.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg

Quoi de neuf

Signature d'un arrangement entre les Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse et Parcs Canada concernant l'accès à trois lieux de Parcs Canada en Nouvelle-Écosse

Idenfiticateur de véhicule pour visiteurs Mi'kmaq
Identificateur de véhicule pour visiteurs Mi'kmaq
© Parcs Canada

Aperçue

Les Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse peuvent maintenant entrer gratuitement au parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik, au parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton et au lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg, grâce à un arrangement provisoire signé récemment par Parcs Canada et l'Assemblée des chefs Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Cet arrangement est un grand pas en avant dans l'évolution des relations entre deux proches voisins qui ont de nombreux objectifs communs en matière de gestion des ressources culturelles et naturelles. « C'est une véritable feuille de route pour le partage des connaissances, dans notre collaboration pour atteindre nos buts communs » a déclaré Chip Bird, directeur de l'unité de gestion du Cap-Breton de Parcs Canada. Et de poursuivre : « Cet arrangement jouera un rôle important dans le renforcement des relations entre Parcs Canada et les Mi’kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse. »

Le programme d'entrée gratuite découle de l'arrangement. « Les Mi'kmaq ont toujours eu des liens très forts avec les terres, partout en Nouvelle-Écosse » a précisé le chef Gerard Julian, coprésident de l'Assemblée. Et d'ajouter : « L'obtention de l'accès gratuit à ces parcs et à ces terres importantes est une étape cruciale pour notre peuple et pour l'évolution des relations entre nos instances dirigeantes. »

Les Mi'kmaq peuvent participer à ce programme en présentant leur carte de statut d'Indien au bureau de leur conseil de bande pour obtenir une carte d'accès de véhicule. Cette carte doit être placée bien à la vue dans le véhicule lorsqu'il se trouve dans l'un des trois lieux auxquels elle donne accès. Au lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg, les détenteurs doivent présenter leur carte de statut d'Indien au centre d'accueil pour pouvoir entrer gratuitement.

La carte d'accès de véhicule est offerte à 13 Premières Nations mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse et à leurs membres, ainsi qu'aux autres Mi'kmaq qui sont inscrits sur la liste générale des Indiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Outre l'entrée gratuite aux parcs et lieux visés, l'arrangement entre les Mi'kmaq et Parcs Canada débouchera sur la création de comités consultatifs pour la planification et la gestion de domaines d'intérêt commun dans ces trois trésors nationaux situés en Nouvelle-Écosse.

L'arrangement a été négocié dans le cadre du Processus néo écossais, auquel ont pris part le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse et les Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

L'Agence Parcs Canada gère un réseau de 43 parcs nationaux, 167 lieux historiques nationaux et quatre aires marines nationales de conservation. Elle met ces trésors naturels et ces lieux historiques du Canada à la disposition de la population canadienne et des visiteurs du monde entier, qu'elle invite à venir y vivre des moments de découverte exaltants.

Le bureau de négociation Kwilmu'kw Maw-klusuaqn (KMK) travaille au nom de l'Assemblée des chefs mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse aux négociations et aux consultations entre les Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse, la province et le Canada. KMK a été mis sur pied par les Mi'kmaq, pour les Mi'kmaq.

Pour en savoir davantage sur le bureau de négociation KMK, consulter le site www.mikmaqrights.com [anglais seulement].


Questions et réponses

L’arrangement provisoire sur les parcs nationaux est une entente conclue entre Parcs Canada et l'Assemblée des chefs Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Cette entente a été élaborée dans le cadre du Processus néo-écossais, entre le Canada, la Nouvelle-Écosse et les Mi'kmaq de la province.

  1. À quoi sert la carte d'accès de véhicule?
    La carte d'accès de véhicule permet d'entrer gratuitement au parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik et au parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton. Elle est valable pour le véhicule et son conducteur, et jusqu'à six passagers. Elle indique au personnel de Parcs Canada que le véhicule est autorisé dans le parc. Votre véhicule pourrait faire l'objet d'un procès verbal si les employés de Parcs Canada ne peuvent pas voir clairement la carte d'accès.

  2. Où puis-je utiliser la carte d'accès de véhicule?
    Vous pouvez utiliser la carte d'accès de véhicule pour entrer gratuitement au parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik, au parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton et au lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg.

  3. Comment puis-je utiliser la carte d'accès de véhicule à la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg?
    Vous pouvez entrer gratuitement à la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg en montrant votre carte de statut à l’entrée du lieu.

  4. Quels droits me donne la carte d'accès de véhicule?
    La carte d'accès de véhicule vous donne le droit d'entrer gratuitement aux trois parcs et lieux visés. Vous pouvez également utiliser les sentiers et les services gratuits associés à l'entrée au parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik, au parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton et au lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg. Vous devez toutefois vous procurer des permis de pêche et de camping et régler les droits de camping.

  5. Que se passe-t-il si je perds ma carte d'accès de véhicule?
    Le bureau de votre conseil de bande tient un registre des cartes d'accès de véhicule qu'il a délivrées. Vous pouvez obtenir une nouvelle carte auprès du bureau de votre conseil de bande une fois que le bureau de négociation de la Kwilmu'kw Maw-klusuaqn (KMK) a vérifié les renseignements vous concernant.

  6. La carte d'accès de véhicule expire-t-elle?
    Votre carte d'accès de véhicule est valable cinq ans.

  7. Puis-je vendre ou donner ma carte d’accès de véhicule?
    Non. Vous ne pouvez pas vendre votre carte d'accès de véhicule, ni laisser quiconque l'utiliser.

  8. Où puis-je trouver des renseignements complémentaires?
    Vous trouverez des renseignements complémentaires sur les programmes de Parcs Canada en consultant le site www.pc.gc.ca et de l'information sur le bureau de négociation de la Kwilmu'kw Maw-klusuaqn ou Mi'kmaq Rights Initiative (initiative sur les droits des Mi'kmaq), sur le site Web www.mikmaqrights.com (en anglais seulement).

  9. Quelles sont les personnes concernées par l’arrangement provisoire sur les parcs nationaux?
    L'arrangement provisoire concerne les Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse qui sont représentés par l'Assemblée des chefs Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse.